We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #7 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Reviewed this hotel on line before making our reservations. We were definitely not disappointed. The location was perfect. We were within walking distance of everything we had planned to see in Milan. The staff was very accommodating and assisted us in locating sites and restaurants. The hotel offered free Wifi and breakfast that included scrambled eggs and bacon. I will recommend this hotel to friends traveling to Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 938 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

The staff is outstanding -- friendly, helpful, and gracious. The room felt brand-new, so very clean, and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. There was enough hanging space although no drawers. The bathroom had an American-style shower with nice pressure and plenty of room. In-room wi-fi was free, which is something we look for. The breakfast was very good and there's a bar where you can get a drink in the evening. The location is terrific -- just steps to the Duomo and the Castello. We lived in Milan long ago and we go back frequently, and find the hotel scene generally pretty disappointing. The value here is among the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Hotel is next to pinoteca ambrosia, in financial area. Great common areas, room was nice with typical european shower (small) but had a ceiling shower spray. Free Wifi, OK breakfast included, easy to walk to metro, galleria, duomo and of course shopping. Staff helped arrange dinner reservations, would stay there again when in Milan

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjh135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in late May 2012, and paid about $226 per night including taxes, breakfast, and free wi-fi. I enjoyed the stay very much, and would strongly recommend it. The location, about 10 minutes' walk from the Duomo and close to metro stations Cordusio (with direct service to Cadorna, where the Malpensa Express arrives and departs) and Duomo (with direct service to the central train station), is unbeatable. The hotel is in an old palace on Via Moneta, so named because of a Bank of Italy branch (with heavily-guarded currency distribution facility) next door. It's a short street that may be hard to find on a map. The hotel has been nicely renovated, and my room was not large, but clean and modern with a small balcony leading to an atrium. Free wi-fi worked well and fast. The bed was comfortable and had high-quality linens and pillows. The breakfast had great pastries, fresh fruit, and coffee, but could be improved with eggs cooked to order (the only eggs available were the powdered scrambled kind). My only minor complaint about the room was that there was only one wastebasket, in the bathroom. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middle_East_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Quiet small hotel 3 minute walk to Duomo and shopping district. Friendly, limited staff. Private setting, calm atmosphere, no real amenities, and not much to do inside hotel. Basically it's a 3 star hotel that also gets 3 stars from me.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquacarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#3 of 431 in Milan
817 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#14 of 431 in Milan
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#8 of 431 in Milan
6,836 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 431 in Milan
1,532 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $246 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing