We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Believe all the excellent reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Believe all the excellent reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

As a former airhostess I spent many many nights in hotels, but the Berna hotel is something special. The rooms are comfortable. The staff helped us very quick and efficiently with a little discomfort (smell in the bathroom) and made it up with a lovely little surprise when we returned to our room (we won't tell...). The hotel is ideally situated nearby the central station when you arrive by train or airport shuttle (they stop next to the station). You can walk in a few minutes to the hotel. There are lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood and you can walk easily to many nice places in Milan or take the subway which is also a 2 minute walk. The service is awsome, the breakfast is too good to be true and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We were very happy to stay at the Berna Hotel and would recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old Berna, at the street side and no problem whatsoever with the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,914
    1,630
    273
    72
    37
See reviews for
1,005
2,558
634
751
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two nights at the Hotel Berna in January 2012. We found the hotel to be well located with just a short walk to a nearby metro station, giving easy access to all the sites of Milan.
This well-appointed hotel delivers to both tourists and business people, of whom we saw many at breakfast. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with good bathroom facilities. We had some difficulties with the television set, but these things happen in large hotels.
The breakfast was the best we had in on our Italian trip, featuring a full range from bacon and eggs right through to every healthy option you could think of.
Staff were welcoming, courteous and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Internet facilities, including computers in a room off the foyer, made our travel easier.
Juice, mineral water and coffee/tea was available in a very comfortable room off the foyer.
The parking attendants were very kind and efficient and had our car parked and retrieved right on time and quickly.
This is a very nice hotel, with touches of prestige in a nice neighbourhood in Milan.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The staff at this hotel was very helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable. Fast, efficient internet service. Great breakfast also.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was going to give Hotel Berna a very positive review, but then we had a credit card emergency and the help we received was so over and above what we expected that now I can't praise them highly enough. We discovered on the morning of our departure that we'd left our credit card at a restaurant the night before. We explained we had to use a different card and were planning to try to contact the restaurant ourselves with our limited Italian, but the very nice man at check out (so sorry I didn't note his name!) agreed to call for us--and did so as soon as the restaurant opened. I hope this isn't a concern for anyone else, but if you do have a problem, you'll be in good hands.

As for the hotel itself, we were so pleased with everything that my husband refused to believe we were paying as little as we did. He assumed we'd be charged extra for things like the reliable wifi and huge, delicious breakfast spread, but we weren't. (We were lucky to be there on Easter Sunday morning and see the special ceremony of the first child to arrive at breakfast getting to break open a huge chocolate egg.) We've stayed in enough European hotels to know to expect a compact-sized room and a shower my husband can barely fit under so these weren't problems. Everything was very pleasant, but the kindness of the staff tipped the scales over into a real treasure.

It's true the area near the Stazione Centrale isn't the loveliest neighborhood in Milan, but we weren't looking for lovely--we were looking to be able to roll our suitcases two blocks from the hotel to the station for an early morning train and that's exactly what we did. And the Milan Metro is close by and efficient so we were able to get to the lovely part quickly and easily.

A huge thank you to the kind man who helped us with our lost card! We highly recommend Hotel Berna and still can't believe how affordable it was.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batna
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Positive point: Location, services, staff, breakfast, room, french and english speaking, free mini-bar in the room, free coffee and water in the Lobby, free internet in the room and the lobby (11mbp!)

Improvement point: Vaccum cleaner very early in the morning, parking for big car, expensive parking (Milano...)

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the middle of the corridor, i mean avoid near lifts ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): $131 - $241
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing