We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“really nice place to stay at perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carrobbio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carrobbio
Ranked #232 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Espoo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“really nice place to stay at perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

a nice, comfortable hotel. No excess luxuries but all that you would want during a short stay. Room was well kept and service friendly. Perfect location next to historic center of Milan, 10 mins.walk to the Duomo and all the sights at walking distance. Cold buffet breakfast was ok, but is missing salty bits (only cheese, all the rest was of the sweet side).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    136
    93
    44
    29
See reviews for
23
110
33
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Carrobbio in MIlan in July 2010. The hotel is OK, but do not expect it to fulfil any four-star requirements ! The staff is friendly, except two of the guys in reception, who really have an attitude problem ! They are not directly rude, but let you know that nothing you ask for will ever be possible and that tourists are anyway ruining their day. The breakfast was not very varied, as the same bread and the same cakes were put on display each morning. As Italians are usually not having much of a breakfast, this is probably understandable. The hotel itself has both old rooms and at least one renovated room, which we luckily got after two nights, when the reception suddenly informed us that we are to change rooms. Some of the attitude may be explained by the fact that the staff do not speak English very well, but on the other hand, in other places we received very good service from people who spoke no English at all ! Cannot recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_LCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We found the Corrobbio hotel to be in a great location, easy walking distance to some fantastic sights. The hotel is comfortable and clean, but very worn. The lift was unreliable, airconditioning didn't work properly and our room was musty. It doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel which is what it is rated, although we havent stayed anywhere else in Milan to compare. Was an OK price for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Some would say location is everything - and Carrobbio has that. Located at the junction of three major tram lines, it's easy to get every in Milan - and quickly. The street it's on is one of the oldest in Milan, so just walking in the neighborhood north of the hotel brings you to incredible sights of Roman ruins, if you look closely, as well as some astonishing homes and courtyards. Just south of the hotel are more ancient Roman ruins,including an arch and the magnificent complex of San Lorenzo. The Duomo and La Scala are definitely within walking distance (10 minutes max, and I'm not quick). Some people say it's right on a major street, but actually it's tucked just a dozen yards or so onto a side street, which would make it hard to find if you were looking for a hotel on a main street. It's on de Medici.

There's a nice older gentleman who serves as bellhop/all round concierge and is ready to direct you about the hotel or give service at the bar, should you require. There's plenty to look at in the hotel, with a nice little garden and small bronzes and paintings about. There is a case with guide books for your perusal. There are several lobby seating areas, and the breakfast room is cozy and large enough not to feel crowded.

Some people have said the breakfast was only so-so, but Hotel Carrobbio must read TA, because we thought it was excellent. Now, I do have to say that we've only experienced four different European hotels, all in our budget range (around 100EU, one was higher) and only four breakfasts - this was the best. Unlimited espresso and not from a self-serve machine. At the regular buffet, the range of pastries was amazing, there was no way to sample them all while there. The fruit tarts were especially good. They also had a range of little sandwiches each day, and lots of good cheeses and both a fresh, soft Italian bread and a rustic whole grain bread to make your own sandwich. Of course there were croissants and chocolate croissants (and nutella and jam). The yogurt was of very good quality and the granola tasted like what I make at home - and there were other cereals too. That's what came with the room (for 100EU), you could, if you wished, also order omelettes, scrambled eggs and fried eggs for an extra charge. No other hotel had anything like this. Three kinds of juice, etc.

The lift worked well, our room was toward the street. We could have had a different room if we wished to wait to check in, but we had been in transit for 22 hours, so we opted for the street side room. I had read here that it was noisy. I'm a light sleeper - I find every room noisy, so I always sleep with earplugs. It's true you could hear the tram roll down the street nearby - but by midnight, the tram intervals were very infrequent and with the double-paned windows closed, we really couldn't hear it.

The room was exceptionally clean and liked the decor a lot. We had fully opening windows with a teensy balcony that at least allowed us to hang our heads out and watch passers by on the nearby shopping street. Carrobbio is located in the heart of Milanese shoe store district, and west of the hotel begins a more residential area with a long shopping street that is much less upscale than downtown, a good place for bargains, lots of locals shopping.

There's a grocery store half a block away, the room had a refrigerator. The flat screen TV was the best we've seen in a European hotel. The restaurant next door (Pane &Vita) turned out to be a lovely surprise and not very expensive.

We found ourselves walking to the Castello and other places, simply due to the charm of the neighborhood, a statue there, a roman ruin here, so much to see - and very close to Santa Maria delle Grazie by a simple walk (again, about 10 minutes and that was with taking lots of snapshots), as we were lucky enough to go to Il Cenacolo two times - once pretty early in the morning.

Some have said the hotel staff is unhelpful, or do not understand English, but we found our combination of tourist Italian and their English more than sufficient to get by. There is one guy who is, I guess, a bit "snooty," but we liked him and he was friendly to us after a day or so, he just has an interesting personality and wants command of his front desk staff, which is helpful in running a hotel. Everyone at the front desk remembered us, gave us our key instantly, and were very friendly.

The building itself is in fine shape, great carpets, trinkets and decor. They do allow pets, if that's an issue, and they have high speed internet, but it's not free. It's 10Eu extra, which made sense to me. There is no restaurant right in the hotel, but there is one practically adjacent, so I said "yes" to the restaurant box.

It's true that the air conditioning wasn't functioning (it was actually rather on the cool side when we were there, so perhaps they had turned it off). The in-room safe also did not function. The young bellhop sent to investigate discovered it was a dead battery, but no attempt was made to replace the battery. We used the hotel front desk safe, therefore (although we were teased about it a little).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeBiscuit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Firstly, I must say that the reveiwer of 18/05/2010 must have stayed at a different Carrobbio.

We stayed for four nights from the 3rd June and could not have picked a better hotel. We had a double room (on the fourth floor), with balcony overlooking via Medici. The room was not cramped at all, tastefuly decorated and well furnished. The balcony had a nice window box so that you couldn't see over the road (apartments anyway) and it was very peaceful and relaxing after a long day's sightseeing.

Bathroom was compact with shower, basin, wc, bidet and very efficient hair drier, exactly as we would have expected from any hotel. I don't know about others but we do not live in the bathroom when we are on holiday.

Breakfast was good with a plentiful supply of fruit, cereals, DIY toast, pastries and a few other bits. You can have a cooked breakfast if you want, there is a price list in your room. You won't go hungry.

As regards the cost of drinks etc at the bar, yes it is expensive but so is every other hotel. There is a comprehensive bar pricelist in your room so if you can read, there are no shocks. Anyway, buy your alcohol and other drinks at the local supermarket (Billa) in via Torino

All the staff were great , from the cleaners and porters, to the receptionists (by the way, happy 50th birthday, Eugene). They were polite, very friendly, and very efficient but without being condescending or fawning. There was a good command of English throughout.

I lost my credit cards etc and Eugene, who was on reception when we returned to the hotel, was straight onto the computer getting me the telephone numbers I needed.

The public areas of the hotel were all well decorated with some lovely prints on the walls and some great antique pieces of furniture.

It is ideally situated for a stay in Milan (I'll provide a few tips at the end) and deserves Five Stars. On a return to Milan, we would not stay anywhere else.

Tips

Ignore all street sellers. DON'T even speak to or acknowledge them.

Get your ATM cards (abbonamenti) from the tabacchi just over the road in via Torino.

Get your shopping in 'Billa' supermarket, a little further up on the right in via Torino (walking towards P. Duomo). The main part of the store is down the stairs at the back.

Use the first tram stop in via Torino (again, walking towards P. Duomo), all three trams that stop here take you to P.Duomo.

A few steps to the right going from via Medici to via Torino is a nice restaurant/bar, the Pane Vino. Great snax, not too pricey.

In P. Duomo, try the Coppola bar/gelateria (looking at Il Duomo, it's on the right). Coffee and food good with a great selection of ice-creams.

If you want cheap beer, go to the 'Football English Pub'. Run by Italians, there's a lot of English football memorabilia inside. Walking towards P. Duomo, it's in a small side street on the left off via Torino. There is a sign at the kerbside in via Torino pointing to it. If you miss the sign, it's about halfway between Carrobio and P.Duomo.

I've said enough, but have to say again, the Carrobbio is a great place!

Pete Chandler

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Accipitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#175 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#350 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Navigli
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#162 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Pierre Milano
Hotel Pierre Milano
#187 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#333 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#163 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carrobbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carrobbio

Property: Hotel Carrobbio
Address: Via Medici 3, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): $129 - $231
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carrobbio 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carrobbio is a classy 4 star hotel in Milan that pays great attention to all details. Set in the heart of Milan, just 5 minutes walking from Dome Square, in a quite side street of Via Torino, which is a charming corner of the Old Milan, once full of carriages, from which it takes its name "Carrobbio". Our Hotel is located just 10 minutes walking from the Expo Gate, the headquarter of the Universal Exposition that will start in Milan on May 1st 2015. Our city centre Hotel is very well connected being very close to the main subway stations of the city like Duomo, Sant'Ambrogio and Missori. The Hotel has 56 rooms, some rooms with large terraces and two with a private garden. Connecting rooms upon request, perfect for families and friends. The buffet brekfast, rich of homemade products is not included in the rates on the website, it costs € 13,00 per day, per person. Our Private automated Garage, has to be booked in advance, it costs € 30,00 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Carrobbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrobbio Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing