We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location is Great but room too small.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Ranked #335 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Location is Great but room too small.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The room is too small. It is suitable for short stay or business only. however it's good for budget traveler. The hotel is located very near to Milan Central station. It's 5 minutes by walk

The area around Milan Central station is not a very good area. The only attraction is the Milan Station itself. It will take you around 15 minutes to Duomo by train.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    188
    210
    95
    108
See reviews for
68
214
44
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Pretty new hotel that is located very near train station. Perfect for a short stay and business trip. Tiny room and bathroom. Breakfast was rather delicious with a variety of pastries and hot food.
May not stay here again as it is not located near the shopping streets. About 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihateveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a few times. It's very close to the station and ideal for someone visiting the city for a short period. The hotel is clean and well presented with polite and helpful staff. The rooms are small but modern and well appointed. The bathroom is nice to look at but poorly designed. There's no shower screen or curtain so the whole bathroom is more like a wet room. Water goes everywhere...which is ok provided your expecting it and haven't left anything on the floor. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap, clean modern room. Hotels in Milan are hit and miss - this one's a hit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I had a horrible experience with this hotel. Water was leaking heavily from ceiling in my room at 5th floor. It is un-explainable as hotel is 6 floors!!
Night shift manager tries to fix till 1:00 am. I got very little sleep and Hotel refuses to refund the night (I had 3 nights stay).
Hotel Manager is very rude and unprofessional. Hotel manager is a realy bad representation of IDEA company .
Also rooms don't have a safety lock or latch on the inside. Breakfast is OK and Cappuccino's are great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked this hotel online, we mostly went by the location as we had to leave for Rome the next day early in the morning and also we stopped over as we were leaving Italy. We were surprised as to how close it was to the station and very easy to find. The room was comfortable and clean, the air-conditioning was centrally controlled so we had to request them to turn it on. The buffet breakfast was very nice for the cost of the stay, with fruit; choice of cheese and cakes apart from the usual. There is also a decent pizzeria next door. On the second stop over, we got a much nicer room on the fifth floor, it was much larger and the shower/bathroom of decent size. When checking out, our flight was in the evening so they stored our luggage free of cost while we did some sightseeing before we headed out to the airport by train from the Milano Centrale train station. Overall value for money and good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apoorva_mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Esco
Hotel Esco
#101 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#178 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Augustus Hotel
Augustus Hotel
#252 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#200 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Milano Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Property: Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Address: Via Napo Torriani 28, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly San Carlo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price range (per night): $97 - $382
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel Milano Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Smart Hotel Milano Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing