We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks goodness we didn't go for pizza instead”

Delicatessen - L'Alto Adige a tavola
Ranked #406 of 8,813 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: USD 23 - USD 70
Cuisines: Austrian, Central European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Zone 3
Description: New and traditional alpine South Tyrolean dishes, simple yet rich flavors of those of the past, now increasingly rare to find. Elegant and fine as the products chosen for the dishes prepared with great passion and accuracy.
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Our last night in Milan, we were going to have pizza over the road but then spotted The Delicatessen and decided to investigate. Thank goodness we did and what a difference between the two venues. We were promptly greeted and seated in the "conservatory" section of the restaurant which is beautiful with lovely chandeliers and white starched tablecloths. The waiting staff were very attentive (not busy at that time but was later on) and our drinks/meals were served promptly and efficiently. Our food was beautifully presented (can't remember what we had) and cooked. Honestly, there was not one thing to complain about and we are quite fussy. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heatherm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

A totally unpretentious restaurant with beautiful Northern Italian food. We were very pleased with our experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank McHolmxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We went there for an early dinner and did not have a reservation. They accommodated us without a fuss. There were very few patrons at that hour but the place looked ready to welcome its guests. Our server spoke limited english but communicated very well with us and made us quite comfortable. We had the beef tartare and pike perch with some gewurztraminer.... taste and presentation was perfect. The only thing that did not appeal to us was the mixed berries tiramisu... while the presentation was really good, I think we were expecting something more classic... but no complains!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ankushM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Went here as family setting is stunning then you look out of window to everyone's dirty laundry handing from balcony. Difficult to make out what was being said to you as holiday makers little English was spoken. Starters arrived quickly along with one main meal which we were surprised to be given. Steak in best was raw almost and had to be returned to kitchen could chew it so rare was it. Food was ok, not amazing which was disappointing given location reviews and settings.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Rocksteadycrew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Chose to eat at this restaurant by chance as we were walking by and were truly rewarded with an excellent meal. The outside of the restaurant is quite plain but this is deceiving as the interior is very pleasant and quite spacious with generous space between tables which ,akes for a very enjoyable dining experience.

It appears that the chef focuses on using seasonal produce as the menu had many options using both asparagus and seasonal berries such as raspberries which are currently i nm season.

We enjoyed a delicious meal with both of us tempted to try the starter of 'warm strudel filled with green and white asparagus' (delicious). Main course was the saddle of lamb and tagliatelle with asparagus, prosciutto and rocket. Both meals were as good as they sound.

Dessert for both of us was the warm raspberries with vanilla gelato.

A really good and surprisingly affordable meal.

Service was welcoming and attentive without being overbearing.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Delicatessen - L'Alto Adige a tavola also viewed

 

Been to Delicatessen - L'Alto Adige a tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.