We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hub Hotel
Ranked #136 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here on Sat 12th last. Travelled for Bike show at the convention centre. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel to events taking place at the centre. The hotel is in an industrial area and doesn't have much outdoor green areas - I wouldn't recommend it for kids. Reception staff were very helpful, spoke good English and were able to recommend a lovely restaurant in town. Rooms were average sized, unusually shaped with a fresh modern feel. Breakfast wasn't great but then most Continental European breakfasts are similar. Room rates were excellent and more than compensated for the location. Overall I would be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

Your suggestions and indications will help us to correct and improbe Guest Experience at The Hub Hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel!

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    474
    222
    83
    47
See reviews for
129
415
48
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The staff are very helpful with speedy service from booking in to arranging the shuttle bus. Excellent hotel for poeple who are not afraid to use public transport.
10 minutes by train to main shopping area in Milan or 15mins train and metro to the centre outside the Doumo (Cathedral).40 mins by train from Lake Como.
Hotel food good option if staying in one evening.
Would go back again and again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackcabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are all proud to read and share between all good comments about the service we provide as a Team!

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel!

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hi, we stayed here for a long weekend (Fri-Mon) and had a lovely time. Milan is beautiful and Lake como is only 1 hour away and is BREATHTAKING! Hotel is very clean, hotel tax drivers were so lovely, most of the reception girls were very nice. We did however have 1 big issue with the room as it was way too warm and we found ourselves constantly calling reception to turn on our air con. Some of the staff would try to brush us off by asking us to wait 1 hour until it kicks in. Some would ask us to try a different room (which we did) but there was a problem with the whole hotel so changing rooms did not make a difference. We would not have minded if they had of just informed us that it was not working and they had to wait for an engineer 9these things happen) but we only found out on Sunday that they actually disable the building's AC in October. Also our room cleaner had been smoking in the room while cleaning which was not very nice due to the fact you can not open a window!! Hense no way of cooling. but apart from the temp, it is a lovely place and i would actually recommend it. And the local pizzeria they recommend.

Room Tip: One with AC if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Review!

We finally fixed the issue related to AC (that we where not aware of during your stay) and know we know better how to drive AC system of the property.

Looking forward to welcome you back in order to verify together our improvements!

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Although perfect for the business traveler that needs to be at the expo (Fiera), it is really off center in a hideous neighborhood, where public streets turn into truck stops at night and old run-down buildings still surround The Hub Hotel. It seems as if this area will be developed over the next years into a business district, but today (November 2011), it is probably the most depressing hotel location I have ever been to. If you like to come to Milan for a city visit, I would not recommend this hotel, unless you're prepared to rent a car and use the hotel only to sleep in.

Having that said, I must admit that the hotel itself is very good for the business executive. Free wi-fi, good food in the restaurant, professional staff that is there to assist, great breakfast: in essence, everything is good enough in this hotel. The check-in was fast and everything was handled correctly. Parking can be either the somewhat over-expensive hotel garage (15 Euro/day) or in the street. Lounge is spacious, but lacks warmth and is in a trendy boutique style.

Room is mid-sized with a somewhat flimsy bed. Flatscreen TV with Italian, English, German and French tv stations. Safe, airco, mini-bar, desk. No curtain, but an electric roll-up screen. Window can't be opened. It is all a bit clinical, but practical. Bathroom has a walk-in shower and space enough to move comfortably. Rooms are quiet: no noise coming from the autostrada. There's no proper information about the amenities in the room.

The Mirror restaurant serves a good dish in typical Italian anti-pasti, primi and secondi choices. Well cooked and tasteful, albeit expensive to have a full dinner. Service is excellent. Beer comes in a wine glass. Breakfast has lots of choice and is included in the price. Very good quality.

On the top floor one will find the mid-sized swimming pool with a very nice view on Milan and a small sized fitness room. All very simple, but a welcome extra when coming back from a day at the Fiera.

All in all: a very good hotel in a very bad area. Price vs. quality is good. Staff service is also good.

For business, I would stay here again. For a city trip with family, I would go somewhere else (despite the excellent service provided to me when the family joined me for the weekend).

Things to mind:

Getting to the hotel by car requires a GPS system, but you also need to react fast on the silly Italian street layout with bad roads.

The in-room airco may be pre-set at the reception desk so it doesn't allow you to get the temperature you actually want. Also: the ventilation system may be too noisy for your taste.

Check your bill to see if the hotel calculates the right price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your review!

The description of The Hub Hotel you provide is very insteresting and will help us to improve where we are minus and continue with the good!

Location is changing in progress as mean of transportation for the area. Expo 2015 will be exactly in front of The Hub Hotel!

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We found the hotel to be very nice, the staff very helpful and the room was fine. Unfortunately as it is not in the city centre you do have to use the shuttle service to and from the station - this service was very good - and then it takes a little while (2 train changes) to get into the centre. Breakfast was very good with a nice variety of choices. however to eat at the hotel we found it to be expensive and eat in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad it hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Hub Hotel!

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 km away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
0.5 km away
Barcelo Milan
Barcelo Milan
#117 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
10.1 km away
Grand Visconti Palace
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
8.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Milano
Ramada Plaza Milano
#55 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
8.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hub Hotel

Property: The Hub Hotel
Address: Via Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price range (per night): $99 - $255
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hub Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing