We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of FofoSarpi

FofoSarpi
Ranked #2,220 of 9,106 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: USD 6 - USD 23
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We had dinner here last tuesday and didn't have anything to complain about. Staff did their best to speak english and were warm and welcoming.

My wife and I both had pizza, because - unlike in many other restaurants - the pizza dough was fresh. And it was quite good. We took tiramisu and baba au rhum as dessert, although the last one felt more like rhum au baba ;-)

Overall: good experience in a good setting. We would advise this to anyone seeking a restaurant a bit away from tourist crowds.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tom_vdberghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa O, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FofoSarpi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

I had lunch there today, ordered a pasta. I was advised by the waiter that there was a menu that included a second course if you were very hungry. I wasn't. The pasta that came in the dish was hardly half a portion. How can you feed someone half a portion of pasta and ask for 9 euros? It is no nouvelle cuisine. You simply don't.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa O, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FofoSarpi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017


We are really sorry for your review, because our portions are really plentiful: 120 gr of pasta are not in gourmet restaurant. Are you sure you have eaten in our restaurant?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

My favorite restaurant in Milan, hands down. I have been going here regularly for 2 years, so this review is long overdue. Its actually kind of a macro review of a few of my experiences dining here. As someone not originally from Italy, I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves real Italian food and wants a genuine experience. My wife, who is Italian, agrees. The ingredients are always fresh, well selected and cooked to perfection and in a creative yet classic way. The staff is friendly and helpful and treat the customers like family. The ambiance is clean, comfortable and casual. Really, there is a lot to love about this restaurant, which is what keeps me coming back!

Now to get specific about the food: this is one of the only places in Milan with truly fresh Buffalo Mozzarella. If you go on Tuesday or Friday, they will have cheese that was made that morning and brought in from Campania. If you've never experienced a fresh buffalo mozzarella, it is one of the best things Italy has to offer and you must try it.

The pizzas are made in the Neapolitan tradition, by a real Neapolitan, Gennaro, who trained and worked in one of the best places in Naples, and passed on his knowledge to the other guys working there. its pretty much the consensus among locals in this neighborhood that this is the best pizza you can get in Milan, period. They let the yeast rise for something like 36 hours before making the pizza, which really makes a difference in taste, lightness and texture. Not your typical pizza. My friend who recently visited from Sardinia and had a whole wheat pizza agreed and said he "had never had a whole wheat pizza that didn't taste like a brick!" From him, this was the highest type of compliment.

The kitchen is also fantastic, and they make great pastas and meat dishes. These guys are extremely hardworking and really put a lot of attention into the details and preparation of the dishes, so they are perfectly cooked and the sauces and seasonings are always something different and delicious. They start marinating the sauces the day before, so the flavor really comes through. I would highly recommend the moscardini and any of the seafood dishes as my personal favorites. They bring in fresh ingredients and you can really tell the difference in the the vibrance and taste of something that hasn't been frozen. Most importantly, they use ingredients that are in season, which is absolutely key.

All in all, one of the best restaurants I have ever been to taking everything into consideration. Be sure to try the rucolino, an after dinner digestif, that is particular to the island of Ischia off the coast of Naples. For dessert, I recommend trying the baba, a special Neapolitan cake that is soaked in sweet rum. Its like nothing else!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Stumbled across this restaurant as didn't want to venture to far from our hotel after travelling all day. Was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and reasonably priced. Our waiter was great interacting with all his customers and tolerated my poor Italian, on the whole a great experience

Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa O, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FofoSarpi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Matt,
thank you for your review.
We are really pleased to read that his experiences in our local have been positive.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This beautiful restaurant is very well located in a trendy and busy area. Is ideal for an evening dinner. Great food with tasty pasta, good appetizers and great pizza.

Thank Alberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa O, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FofoSarpi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Alberto, muchas gracias por su critíca positiva a nuestro restaurante. Estamos feliz de leer que nuestros platos hayan sido apreciados. Si regresa a Milán, esperamos verla de nuevo.
Un cordial saludo y buen dia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FofoSarpi also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to FofoSarpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing