We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
43
155
121
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
155
121
45
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2015

The ABC hotel sits at the end of Corso Vittorio Emmanuele, opposite the railway station in Mantua, about a 10-minute walk from the centre of town; just far enough to work up an appetite, and (the first time) to anticipate the jaw-dropping moment when youemerge onto the square and find all of your ideas of a mediaeval Italian city all in one place. Enough already! (No!!)
The hotel has a 4**** option adjoining, but the ABC is just fine, with a nice courtyard for an evening aperitif. Just 50 metres up the street by the way, you'll find Baby Bar, a tiny place which opens in the evenings, sells its own aperitif, as appears to the the den of choice for le tout Mantova (entre 25-55) for an after-work snifter; on cool evenings in October - magic! Throw in some seriously good, reasonably-priced restaurants, and you're good to go for a three-or-four night stay. And it's quiet, by which I mean, not thronged like Verona or Venice, friendly, and chockfull of history. Then move on to Ferrara - see my review!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry141047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dear Gerry1410,

thanks for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your staying with us, we hope to see you again as our guests.

Best regards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

Went for March 2014 was group of like 70 of us. So we took up 90% of the rooms. No hot water. Rooms where messy and broken. We had to note down everything that was broke so we would not get charged for it. Hotel was the worst we had in the Italy. Try to avoid

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Joshua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015
Google Translation

Gentile Joshua O,

grazie per la sua recensione.
Siamo spiacenti che il suo soggiorno sia stato poco gradevole: ospitiamo spesso gruppi, di età varia, e seguiamo una policy precisa che viene preventivamente comunicata al gruppo.
In caso di eccezionale disguido in camera, la Reception è presente 24 ore al giorno per informazioni e segnalazioni degli ospiti.
Prendiamo spunto per effettuare un controllo delle "facilities" della struttura.

Speriamo possa rivisitare Mantova,
Saluti,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This hotel is a good choice if you're looking for a low-cost accommodation in Mantova, expecially if you are travelling by train. Our room was clean, very quiet and comfortable enough.
Our special thanks to the reception girls, very kind and helpful.
Good breakfast. I wouldn't recommend the hotel private parking if you have a van or a very big car, because the entrance is quite narrow and there's little room for maneuver.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Viandant,

thank you for your review.
As you said, the Hotel is just in front of the train station and this is very helpful for tourists that come by train.
We are happy that you enjoyed the time in our Hotel.
The entrance in the garage seems narrow, however even guests holding big cars or van can manage to park: we will exactly tell them how to enter inside.

See you soon again,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We passed through Mantova for a day and night in mid May, sleeping at the Hotel ABC, just across from the main train station. A friend found the hotel on Booking.com, and I would normally probably not choose that location, since it can often be sketchy and sometimes quite...well, raw (just try the Novotel next to Gare du Nord and you'll understand). However, ABC is tucked away and faces into a lovely courtyard with outside tables and chairs, and sweet-smelling jasmine and wisteria vines. The 4-person family room we got was on the top floor, with a skylight open to the street side (not super noisy for us, but windows open on the street side might be if open), and a window in the bathroom open to the hallway and a balcony. Very clean, nice big fluffy towels, good water pressure, quiet floors. Beds were ok, not exceptional, but we all slept pretty well. Elevator from floor 1, private courtyard parking behind security gate, really good European breakfast. There was also a kind of sundries/convenience store/bar selling beer, wine and drinks during the late afternoon and evening - nice to relax there after a some hours walking the ancient city. Well worth 99 Euro for a family!

Room tip: Dogs allowed!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear kmh1,

thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We very much enjoyed our few nights stay at Antico Residence - one of the annexes of this hotel. But it could have been awful if we had ended up in a different room or in a different part. They seem to have bought most of the old houses opposite the train station and put together a hotel and several annexes. They all front onto the mini motorway that runs between them and the station and it is a very dubious neighbourhood.
Antico was lovely because it was reached through a small alleyway - through to a private courtyard. In theory this should have been quiet but was obviously being rented out to people to park their motorbikes and cars. We were given a room in this courtyard which was nicely done up but it had no windows and the air conditioning was not working. We were told that it was too early for air conditioning. So we were moved to the other side of the courtyard to a lovely room with two working windows opening onto the little courtyard at ground level.
Any room with windows onto the street in front of the station would be a nightmare as the traffic is heavy and constant. Our little courtyard would have been delightful if there had been no bikes or cars.
Our beds were comfortable, it was clean the bathroom was wonderful, the breakfast was wonderful (eaten along the road at the main hotel). Our only small complaint was that the wi-fi was slightly dodgy. They use the hotspot method whereby you get a little ticket every 24 hours with a new number issued by some machine. My android tablet said the connection was unsecured but it worked OK. My husbands PC netbook also said the connection was unsecured and he had great difficulty getting the internet to work despite being given his own number.
It is not too far to walk into the old medieval part of town , no-where is very far away, it is a small place. The beautiful lake is just behind the station but to access it you have to walk quite a long way beside the horrible mini motorway. There are no eating places near the hotel but we found supermarkets - a Carrefour on the walk into town and another brand just behind the old round church in the centre
The staff did their best to help us including giving us a new safe to replace a faulty one. When we left we were presented with a lovely gift of the local biscuit delicacy.

Room tip: Insist that your room does not overlook the main road - ask for a quiet room Insist that your room either has working air conditioning or working windows
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Fredimbur,

thank you for your review.
It's important you enjoyed staying with us. Antico Residence is part of our multi structure, which is seprated. Every building has been restored from an ancient palace.
The Hotel is in front of the train station but it's secured, guarded and in the rooms is easy to sleep.
The street in front of us is one of the main street, just in 15 minutes walking you will reach the city centre.
Near the building there are some places to eat (bars, a typical-food reastaurant, a pizzeria and a pub) and a couple of supermarkets.
The wi-fi connection is secure and it's been upgraded: any problems with the devices must be checked in the personal impostantions of their systems unfortunately.

Best reagards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews