We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
43
155
121
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
155
121
45
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We very much enjoyed our few nights stay at Antico Residence - one of the annexes of this hotel. But it could have been awful if we had ended up in a different room or in a different part. They seem to have bought most of the old houses opposite the train station and put together a hotel and several annexes. They all front onto the mini motorway that runs between them and the station and it is a very dubious neighbourhood.
Antico was lovely because it was reached through a small alleyway - through to a private courtyard. In theory this should have been quiet but was obviously being rented out to people to park their motorbikes and cars. We were given a room in this courtyard which was nicely done up but it had no windows and the air conditioning was not working. We were told that it was too early for air conditioning. So we were moved to the other side of the courtyard to a lovely room with two working windows opening onto the little courtyard at ground level.
Any room with windows onto the street in front of the station would be a nightmare as the traffic is heavy and constant. Our little courtyard would have been delightful if there had been no bikes or cars.
Our beds were comfortable, it was clean the bathroom was wonderful, the breakfast was wonderful (eaten along the road at the main hotel). Our only small complaint was that the wi-fi was slightly dodgy. They use the hotspot method whereby you get a little ticket every 24 hours with a new number issued by some machine. My android tablet said the connection was unsecured but it worked OK. My husbands PC netbook also said the connection was unsecured and he had great difficulty getting the internet to work despite being given his own number.
It is not too far to walk into the old medieval part of town , no-where is very far away, it is a small place. The beautiful lake is just behind the station but to access it you have to walk quite a long way beside the horrible mini motorway. There are no eating places near the hotel but we found supermarkets - a Carrefour on the walk into town and another brand just behind the old round church in the centre
The staff did their best to help us including giving us a new safe to replace a faulty one. When we left we were presented with a lovely gift of the local biscuit delicacy.

Room tip: Insist that your room does not overlook the main road - ask for a quiet room Insist that your room either has working air conditioning or working windows
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Fredimbur,

thank you for your review.
It's important you enjoyed staying with us. Antico Residence is part of our multi structure, which is seprated. Every building has been restored from an ancient palace.
The Hotel is in front of the train station but it's secured, guarded and in the rooms is easy to sleep.
The street in front of us is one of the main street, just in 15 minutes walking you will reach the city centre.
Near the building there are some places to eat (bars, a typical-food reastaurant, a pizzeria and a pub) and a couple of supermarkets.
The wi-fi connection is secure and it's been upgraded: any problems with the devices must be checked in the personal impostantions of their systems unfortunately.

Best reagards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I booked by Internet a triple room for two nights at the B&B "Antico Residence" (our choice was guided both by its good value and by its proximity to the railway station), but the accomodation was anyway managed by the hotel.
The rooms are located in an annex overlooking the same courtyard of the hotel: an ancient and elegant house very well restored. The courtyard was very quiet, as was the room (it was overlooking the Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, that nevertheless is a road with little traffic).The room itself had nice finish and was spotless. On the ground floor of the B&B a PC was available free of charge for guests, the breakfast (at the hotel) was fine.
Why yet I don't give the highest marks? For two reasons, the first minor, the second a little more important.
- The PC on the ground floor is in a room with timed lamps. It's an excellent initiative to save electricity, but the time should be longer, otherwise during the work you remain several times in the dark.
- The heating control is centralized, and on our arrival we were offered to establish the temperature of our room. We asked for a maximum of 20 degrees (it was certainly higher), but the command has not been executed or it doesn't work well: during the night we suffered from the heat.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Dear Brun066,

thanks for your review.
We are happy you enojoyed your staying with us.
Regarding the PC, you can easily find the button to turn on the light again on the wall.
For the heating control, you could have asked the Reception, even at night, to check the AC, again the windows of the room must be closed.

Best regards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

ABC is a very old hotel, with old rooms and rudimentary furniture, located direct in the other street side of the railway station with limited parking location.
The room was clear enough to sleep but quiet and the bathroom acceptable.
Excellent was the full english breakfast which is not characteristic in Italian hotels.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Dear Andreas A,

thank you for your review.
The Hotel has been recently renowed, even though we would like to mantain the tradition with the ancient palace.
Our breakfast aims to satisfy all our customers.

Best regards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

First of all, my reservation had the name of the hotel as "Casa dei Gonzaga" so we drove around in circles for an hour, not realizing we passed it by several times. The sign on the outside says "ABC Hotel." Also, it is across the street from the train station, so there are a lot of people coming and going all hours of the night, some looking rather dicy. The staff is very rude and not helpful at all. The room was fair, nothing special at all. The only positive thing I can say is the breakfast was pretty nice with a very friendly lady serving coffee. Once you go into the town squares, there is a lot of nice buildings and churches to see. Make sure you take a daytime look at the lake, as it is beautiful.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlessedHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abcMantova, Receptionist at Hotel ABC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Dear BlessedHi,

thank you for your review.
When you book, it's clearly written that the check in must be at Hotel ABC.
The area of the train station is secure and calm, both day and night.
We are sorry that the Staff didn't meet your expectations, as one of our policy is to make the guests feel like at home.

Best regards,
Carlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for a few days. There are some nice places to see in Mantova, the lake behind the station opposite the hotel is gorgeous, we enjoyed an afternoon stroll along the lake. We also took in some architectural buildings which led us to shopping, great shops there, clothes food, books, shoes etc.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ham_whose_sane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews