We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfection...... romantic..... spectacular!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Lavender

Here you can see Casa Lavender in Spring looking over the lake and Isola Bella
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Here you can see Casa Lavender in Spring looking over the lake and Isola Bella
The breathtaking view from the top of the garden showing all three islands Lunch in the spring sun on the patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Here you can see Casa Lavender in Spring looking over the lake and Isola Bella
The breathtaking view from the top of the garden showing all three islands
Lunch in the spring sun on the patio
The view from the garden showing the house and lake
Looking up at the house from the lane that runs below Casa Lavender
The morning view from the master bedroom
The lounge/dining area overlooking the lake
The kitchen
The kitchen
The lounge/dining area bathed in morning light
The view of Isola Madre from the covered patio
Our favourite beach on Lago Orta. Notice the monastery on the island
The view from the master bedroom in winter
This photo shows the house, hammock, berceau/pergola and view over the lake including an island
Here you can see the berceau/pergola looking out over the yachts on the lake
This is the second bedroom. The two single beds can also be used to make a double bed
In this photo you can see the location of Casa Lavender just above Stresa
At the bottom of the photo you can see the barbecue area
This is the master bedroom with wonderful views over all three islands
This is the shady pergola overlooking the lake
Here you can see a lounger on a sunny terrace overlooking the house and trampoline
The house and part of the garden overlooking Isola Bella. Two of the three floors are visibile.
Lunch outdoors in the garden
The view over the lake from the shady pergola
the bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Adam A
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfection...... romantic..... spectacular!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spectacular views, charming small villa ideal for a couple or even a small group/family. It just says antique, rustic, but with all the facilities needed to be away from it all and just enjoy. Keep it simple, you will need a very small car but we didn't have one at all. Taxi transfer (Tamassucci link on the visitstresa website) from Milan Malpensa to the old church (Chiesa Antica) in Someraro then walk 100 mts to the number 8 Casa Lavender ( pronounced locally as La... VEN..da ). Everyday was a simple walk (30-40mins) straight down the hill to either Baveno or to the ferries at Stresa or the Lido Carciano.... and if its hot take your swimming gear and sit on the little lake side beaches dotted around. Lunch lakeside or on the Isole (Bella or Superioire/Pescectore).... but most importantly evenings spent in the superb restaurant Il Cardini just 120 mts from the villa in Someraro.... just to the right of the old church. The restaurant has stunning views from its terrace and the food is all home made but with a delicacy and sophistication you will ever find. The owner couple are wonderful too. Stresa is a delight, and do go into the shoes shop (David Calzature) for some amazing hand made italian/local shoes. Hotel La Regina Palace for incredible sophistication, Bar GiGi on the front for splendid euro cafe life, and cocktails at the Skye Bar at La Palma hotel nearby.
Most importantly Simon the owner (make sure you swap emails and mobile numbers) even though himself on holiday still replied to every request we had immediately whilst we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Lavender. I should also add that I am in great admiration of your walking prowess, especially in view of the high temperature this summer. I hope we can meet in person next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveUmbri...
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled to the property with another couple and all four of us were disapointed upon our arrival. Althought we did not show this to Simon as he showed us the property. The best part of the rental is the view. It is stunning, but then the charm of the view leaves very quickly. The property sleeps five but we found a mismatch of beach towels sitting on a shelf in a room off from the bathroom. The property does have a washing maching but it really would only hold one or two items at one time. No coffee pot. A kettle for heating water. The bar b q pit was full of a burned mixture of what have been wet wood and maybe coals. The terraced yard appeared to not have been mowed or weed eated all summer. Grass and tall weeds layed over the walkways. The sun tarrace could barely hold one chair. Simon told us if we saw a fig on the fig tree we cold help ourselves if we could make our way through the grass and weeds up the steep hill. We were given very fast instructions on how, what, where and when to seperate each trash item we had. Upon arrival it had been raining and the grass was very slippery. We had to carry ourheavy suitcases up a long, and very steep grassy path (and because of the rain, very slippery) from our car parked on the street. Then up another steep 20 plus steps! It was exhausting to say the least! We had to park a good distance from the property in a spot shared with others and were told that there should always be a place open for us. That was not the case and we had to part even farther down the hill once. Again it was raining the day we arrived and so we were instructed on where the fuse boxes were located because storms knock the electricity off sometimes, and to be very carefull to not turn another major appliance on if someone was using a hair dryer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The View
Liked least: No proper aminities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
We are really sorry that you didn’t enjoy your holiday in our house. We make great efforts to make it a lovely place to stay in; over the past three years our guests have always told us that they really enjoyed their time here.
We would like to think that your negative impression might have been influenced somewhat by the dismal September weather that week.
Anyway we want to thank you for your comments. We have taken them on board.
There is no denying that we took our eye off the ball by allowing the garden to get on top of us. The lawns near the house had recently been cut but we sincerely apologise for the overgrown flower beds and untidy paths in the top part of the garden. Also for the wet charcoal left in the barbecue.
We really appreciate it if guests do tell us directly if anything is missing from or needed in the house because, living locally, we can easily go to the shops and provide whatever is required the same day. We provide a kettle for tea and an Italian style coffee pot but are happy to buy any other appliances requested.
Thank you too for bringing the question of towels to our attention. All guests receive a set of two towels (a hand towel and a bathroom towel). Guests can help themselves to beach towels if needed but in future we will ensure that every guest is provided with a beach towel in addition to the other two.
One comment with which I would really disagree is your description of the grassy path from the road to the house as being long and steep. In fact it is exactly 40 metres long and has a very slight incline. From the house gate on the path there are then 18 steps up to the house. This winter we plan to start paving the path with paving stones.
Lastly, thank you very much for pointing out the power supply situation. The standard setting in Italian houses is 3 kilowatts supply; this is apparently government policy to encourage people to save energy as Italy is an energy-poor country. This means that the trip-switch blows if several energy-hungry appliances are on at the same time. We have now replaced our previous 3 kw supply with 4.5 kw to eliminate the risk of our guests being left in the dark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Should have stayed longer”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very friendly owner who provided some good advice about local attractions and restaurants. Peacefull little village with a friendly atmosphere and a fantastic view.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darceyday
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a far too short 4 nights and absolutely loved the place. Ideally placed just a short drive up the hill from Stresa, the road is pretty steep and narrow, but then that's Italy for you! This whole area is quite mountainous. Our 3 yo daughter negotiated the stairs OK though younger children or the elderly would struggle and be aware there are no soft carpets anywhere! So as long as you don't mind quite a few stairs and being up a hill, I can assure you the views make it all worthwhile!

The house very well set up with everything you could need. The garden really private and lots of different spots to hang out. Fairly sunny aspect, especially the morning, and I'd imagine in high summer the shady spots come into their own. Simon and Donatella met up with us in Stresa to show us the way to the house as we got there in the evening, and were very helpful with local hints, and best of all Simon manhandled my wife's luggage up the stairs for me! Don't miss the local restaurant either, great friendly service, walkable which after a bottle of wine is a good thing, and a nice change from the more tourist fare in Stresa itself.

Highlights: Lake Orta (bit quieter than Maggiore) esp Orta village itself; gardens with animals just East of Stresa (my daughter loved it, but nice stroll for adults too) ; the L1 hiking track passes right past your door on the way to top of the Mount (fantastic for an early morning run); endless gelato (except when 3yo gets sugar high at 10pm!); Isola Bella (though try to avoid the weekends)....and those views every morning when you pull the curtains!!

Thanks to Simon and Donatella, I'm sure we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Wifi not working
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gitti0713
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House with a wonderful view on the lake”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed one week in Casa Alice and had a great time. The view from almost any room in the house, the veranda and the garden was stunning. The house itself has a lot of charm and the kitchen is very well equipped (everything from Alessi). Booking was uncomplicated and Simon and his wife were very friendly and gave us numerous hints what to visit and where to go which was very helpful. Overall a very beautiful place that we can only recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
thanks very much for your lovely words. You and your husband were wonderful guests and it was a pleasure meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing