We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
120
186
52
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
186
52
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car lovely hotel leisurely walk large roof terrace town centre minute walk lake maggiore real credit to the hotel good size close to the train station proper shower room was spotless fresh fruit hotel is ideally located isola bella beautiful promenade course evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for three nights on the at the Hotel Royal. We had a lovely room on the 4th floor with a large balcony and side-ish view of the lake. We were very happy with the room and the very large bathroom. The roof terrace is lovely, but agree with another review, that they need umbrellas on the terrace. Strong afternoon sun makes it very warm, as was our balcony. Night time viewing from the roof terrace was lovely, and rarely used. Our breakfast was lovely in the garden as were cocktails on the small terrace. The lady working the bar was a joy! Sat by the pool twice in the afternoon and was bit by many mosquitoes, should have used repellant. It is a lovely walk into Stresa, but I think its more like 20-25 minutes. We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Royal, but it seems the hotel is a little “tired” in the main rooms, especially lobby area.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Sun4Me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel in September 2018.
It is slightly off the beaten track but only 20 mins walk into Stresa and right by the cable car and the boat stop of Carciano .
Beautiful views of the lake from our room and a lovely pool to cool off after a days sightseeing.
Breakfast was good with fabulous dark strong Italian coffee!!!
The staff are friendly and very helpful .
Due to a delayed flight we did not check in until the following day . We let them know by e mail and they replied immediately and when we checked out they didn’t charge us for the missed night . A very pleasant surprise!!
If you’re looking for a friendly family run hotel I would highly recommend the Royal .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

This is a hotel that tried very hard but just missed it for me. The location is good and our room had a fabulous view of the Lake. Parking can be iffy but the hotel made a special effort to deal with our disability needs. The staff are excellent but breakfast was unimaginative compared to other similar hotels we have stayed at. Dinner which is table d'hote ranged from superb on the first night, good on the second night to average the rest of the time to the extent we are out twice.Little things jarred such as being unable to order a glass of wine (It was a minimum of a half bottle) to their being only one very slow and overworked lift. Overall more pluses than minuses but they are missing a trick.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ESH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We loved the hotel on arrival. Wonderful views, short walk to the waters edge and where the gondola (cable car) goes up the mountain. The walk to the city of Stresa takes 20 or so minutes although we drove into town for dinner with easy parking (two hours, $3.60 euro) one night in a reasonably large parking lot.
Our room is quite basic. A bit of a challenge to find electrical outlets, only on the sides of the bed and not by the table or along the walls. The TV is rather small but adequate.
The main issue for us was the bed. Low, and mattress thin and rather uncomfortable. A minor issue was the small shower that had no small shelf for putting the bar of soap or anything for that matter. Once used, just had to drop to the floor.
The staff was very attentive and helpful. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We had a large, lovely room with a balcony. The view of the lake was magnificent. If possible, get a lake view. The hotel is a short walk to the lake and the funicular. The staff was lovely and helpful. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the town center. Be sure to walk along the promenade. We also enjoyed drinks before dinner there— once again, the staff was always gracious

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Virgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews