We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and Hotel”
Review of Hotel Alpi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alpi
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We came to Baveno on a last minute booking and was not dissapointed at all. The reception meeting with the owner, who speaks very good English, he went through all the times of meals and were things where within the hotel, he then appologised our room did not have a balcony :-( but he did say not to unpack as we will be moved the following day :-) We went out the next day for a drive around and returned around 1800 and we were given a different key to our room and when we asked why they said they had moved us to save any hassle to us! now thats a service you wouldnt get in the UK. The evening meal is a classic 5 course meal for E22.50 and worth every penny, starts with a small plate with for eg sliced tomato and mozzerella, then soup or pasta, then a serve yourself salad bar, then the main course, and asked if I wanted more:-) you then have the dessert, it is all fresh cooked and really tasty. We ate in the town twice locally, paid more and got less!! The breakfast is a typical continental fare, 4 or 5 cereals, juices, bread, locally homemade jams, cakes, cheese, cold meats, hot boiled eggs, fruit, coffee and teas. All this for breakfast sets you up for the day and is included in the room price, bonus! The service in the restaurant is 5 star and they speak english too, the waitress that served us speaks 5 different languages yes 5!! while we were at the hotel we heard German and French Canadian languages and only at the last couple of days did we realise that one f the residents who was speaking Italian was actually Australian :-) The rooms are all of a very generous size and of course the balcony giving us a fantastic view over Lake Maggiore and one of the islands. really good shower with plenty of hot water obviously if you get up a little late and there is a bus load of visitors in then you will get less but it was fine for us. There was a wardrobe with two sides, s safe, a shelf unit, desk and chair, you have free WiFi and a good sized TV but the 2 english channels are not very good and only BBC/CNN world news but we never got the chance to watch tv too much to see locally. Yes this hotel could be described as a Saga tour type hotel and some would say stuck in the 70/80s but there is nothing wrong with this as those were the days of good service and not a hotel you could be anywhere in the world as they all look the same. we are talking about going back next year to finish seeing the sights we missed this week. Not sure where to go or to see ask the owner or his sister or the other staff they are very helpful as tourist guides too!!
Thank you Hotel Alpi for an excellent unforgetable first visit to Italy we will return soon, your team of staff are excellent (especially Annya )

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Briar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Bidet im Bad gut, Brause nicht Abnehmbar weder noch einstellbar.
Blick auf den Lago gut , freies WLAN gut, leider keinen Tee oder Wasser auf dem Zimmer.
Ist heut überall Standard hier offenbar nicht. Ein kleiner Balkon mit kleiner Seesicht.

Bidet in the Bath good, the shower can't move and regulate.
Lago view is good, free Wifi is good too, but there is no drinking water nor tea in rooms. Normally it is a standard but not here. A small balcony where you can sit and have a drink with a little sea view.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Niczimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We spent two nights at this hotel, arriving VERY tired on our first evening of our trip. Room (#38) was a generous size with AC, desk, safe, wardrobe with hangers, luggage rack, balcony facing the lake with table and chairs, and very good lighting. The bathroom had 2 sets of towels, 2 small soaps, shampoo, and shower caps, no tissues. The shower tended to be lukewarm. Breakfast included canned fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, hams, cheeses, rolls, croissants, and cakes, etc. There is a small parking lot in the front of the hotel, which faces the main street into Baveno and a small park opposite. The walk into town was quite easy so we left the car at the hotel to visit the lake islands the second day. The hotel is large enough to serve tour groups. We would have had a quiet rest on the first night when we were very tired from a long trip (2 babies crying all the way from the USA on the plane!) except for a very loud, noisy dog barking on the floor below us. When I went to the desk to ask the receptionist if there was anything that could be done, he curtly replied that the owners would be finishing their dinners soon and that it was really too early for me to be trying to sleep!!! Not a good response to a guest. The second night was much better because the dog had left. Basically a 3.5 -4 star hotel and good value for its location and amenities.

Room Tip: We liked being on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renzo R, Proprietario at Hotel Alpi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016
Google Translation

Buon giorno !! Ringrazio i Signori per la recensione, ma volevo puntualizzare l'ora in cui la Signora veniva disturbata dal cagnolino di Clienti del terzo piano: fra le 21:00 e le 21:15.
Mi sembrava doveroso inserire questo contraddittorio, per evidenziare che l'inconveniente è successo ad inizio serata. Cordiali saluti. Renzo Rabaioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Very clean hotel in a great location. We had great view of lake and town. Room was very good value for the money. Staff and owner were very helpful, always smiling, making sure you were happy. Breakfast which was included was excellent. Outside patio was very nice and big. Walking distance to the town. Overall a excellent hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Room facing the lake are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Went out of their way to assist in planning trips. Even gave us a lift to the train station.
Reception and catering staff always cheery.
On our leaving, we were given a small farewell gift to remember our stay.
Staff - 10/10 !
Nice flat screen TV in room, and safe at no extra cost.
Good location - just outside town centre, but only 5 minutes walk. Supermarket nearby.

Room Tip: Best view of lake from right side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baveno hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,400 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
519 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
275 reviews
0.7 km away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
183 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#11 of 15 in Baveno
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpi

Address: Via Sempione 1, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#6 Family Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: $161 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpi 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 50 rooms. Restaurant.Bar. We are within easy reach of the railway station which is about 400 meters from the hotel and about the same distance from the main boat terminal which is the departure point for the visits to the Borromean Islands. Two lifts. Air conditioning. All rooms with private bath or shower, telephone, satellite television lcd, safety deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpi Hotel Baveno
Hotel Alpi Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing