We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
62
36
16
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
36
16
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the st lawrence river your choice filet mignon lamb montage auberge property french quebec
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We found this place when searching for a stop on our trip from Ontario to Nova Scotia. It is an older building but well maintained. Our dinner and breakfast were both delicious and included in our stay. It was great value. Staff were very friendly and helpful to us. Definitely would love to come back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I had the chance to stay 5 days at this property last year and it was amazing. It is a bit on the expensive side, but the amazing food and the rejuvenating spa treatments are well worth it. Do I have any complaints about my stay? Very little.....there is no elevator and the toilet paper was a bit on the thin side. That's it! Besides that our week was flawless. Having breakfast in your bath robe in the morning along with all the other guests in the dining room is quite an experience in itself. You have no choice but to relax when you stay at this resort, whether it's from their amazing massages or from watching the St-Lawrence river from the hot tub....all day long! As for the guests, there were very few families and children staying at this property during our stay. The clientele was mostly comprised of golden-agers and couples looking for a quiet spot to read or try a complimentary Tai-Chi lesson.

As for the dining options, a few choices are offered at every meal, but they tend to run out of certain options when you show up later for dinner, so show up early to be able to try the dish of your choice. The food quality is franky amazing. I learned a lot of new "culinary" words as well during the week, as they try to use local meats, vegetables and spices.

They have a kayak guests can borrow depending on the water conditions.

I greatly recommend this Auberge to anyone looking to relax, eat well and be pampered by seasoned professionals. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

A breathtakingly beautiful hotel. The rooms, spa and the restaurant were all amazing with a relaxing décor and a staff that was really sweet :)

And the sunset and weather were simply healing to the soul............

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The Auberge du Portage is an Inn style property with a great location just west of Riviere du loup. The site is small but, the decor is very nicely done. The dining room is very well appointed with a perfect location viewing the St. Lawrence

I had dinner there and stayed along the road at L'Auberge sur Mer. The dinner at Auberge du Portage was average at best for a property of this classification. In trying to be a high end dining room, the menu is daily, specialized with only 5 entries. On this night 2 items were lamb, another was quail. If someone you are with is looking for something more basic like chicken/a pasta dish you wont find it.The kitchen tries to produce gamy food with a flair to be a cut above but, it misses the mark (sorry chef). The menu was only available in French which is fine for us and the anglophones should understand that it's Quebec. Quality was average, portions small and pricing for 2 at just under $100 (without alcohol/wine!). No Michelin here.

A restaurant or dining room should always try to do what they CAN do best, not try to do something they cant. If you make a great burger keep making them don't try a filet mignon

Room Tip: view of the water is a must
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We rented a 3 bedroom house that had become part of the Auberge rental units. The house is along a twisty coastal road up against a hillside surrounded by lovely vegetation. It was within view of the beautiful historic inn right on the St Lawrence River. Many older folks come here to relax & take spa treatments. We were disappointed in the fact that there were not 2 full bathrooms & as we were 2 older couples, that was important. This is an older house that needs upkeep & renovation. We were sure we heard critters scurrying around in the attic one night. We mentioned these & other facts to management but there was no other room at the inn so we couldn't be moved. Management made no offer to comp us on meals or treatments, so we all left feeling this was our only unsatisfactory accommodation on our two week tour through the Gaspé Peninsula.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank phyllis71344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews