We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
breakfast on the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
breakfast on the balcony
where we are out side the building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
breakfast on the balcony
where we are
out side the building
view from the windows
where we are 2
large terrace
on the front lake
view from the windows 2
living room
bathroom pic 1
bathroom with wind pic 2
bed room pic 1
terrace on the mountain side
view from window pic 4
view from window pic 4
bed room pic 2
living room pic 2
kitchen
view from window pic 5
view from window pic 6
view from window pic 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
oztravell...
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great location close to everything. We stayed 10 days and everything was perfect from the moment we booked. Mary picked us up from the station and Andrea answered any questions we had promptly. The apartment amenities are of very good quality, comfortable beds and pillows, plenty of linen, lovely bathroom and plenty of kitchen utensils even cute placemats and teatowels. Great sofa and comfortable outdoor furniture. The space is very welcoming light and bright. Mary left roses from her garden and a welcome gift too. The terrace/balcony was superb all day with views to the mountains and over the lake. Views also from the dining area that are amazing. Highly recommended, would rate it higher than 10 out of 10 if we could.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment and beautiful views.”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful apartment and beautiful views. Great position. Very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The host was very welcoming and friendly.
She gave us all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“R&R at Lake Como”
Reviewed 8 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We recently returned from a 3 night trip to Varenna staying at Casa Mary + Balcony. An easy trip from Milan on the train we spent 3 great days in this apartment which started with Mary meeting us at the train station for a short transfer to the apartment which is about .5 km from the station and right across from the ferry dock in Varenna. The apartment sleeps four, with 2 people on a hide-a-bed, but is probably more comfortable for two. Kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, cookware and appliances. The bathrooms had all of the needed supplies (paper and starter toiletries) and there were plenty of towels. The apartment was furnished nicely and we were very comfortable. If you are driving there is secured and ample parking provided.

Mary has two units in the building one with and one without the balcony. Take the balcony unit. We spent every afternoon under the awning enjoying the breeze off the mountains as well as the views of the lake, which are outstanding. Varenna has become quite the tourist spot so it can be very busy during the day, but much of the crowd leaves by late afternoon. We were able to walk to dinner easily and Andrea, Mary's son helped us with making advanced reservations prior to our arrival.

A couple of things to note. The apartment is on the top level of the building and is only accessible by 3 double flights of stairs so you need to be able to get your bags up several flights of stairs. Also the unit is not air conditioned but can be easily cooled by having the windows open but allows you to hear some birds, dogs, motorcycles and the occasional garbage man. Again it was not a problem.

We had a very early departure at the end of our stay and we had told Mary that we would walk to the station. It was raining on the morning we left and she showed up to take us to the station so we didn't have to walk in the rain.

This is the perfect location for your base to visit the Lake Como area. My next visit will be planned around the availability of Casa Mary Balcony

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamAde...
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent place to base our Lake Como adventure. Varenna is a delightful village much smaller than nearby Menaggio and Bellagio therefore nice and peaceful once the tourists have gone each day. Locals are very friendly and helpful. The Casa Mary is a perfect place to stay overlooking the lake, 50 metres from the ferry, and has an outdoor patio with views to die for. The apartment is well set up and has all the necessary cookware to enable you to eat in. Our host Mary picked us up from the station and made us feel very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lepi68
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a brilliant place in which to stay and explore Lake Como. It is wonderfully situated around 200m from the tiny ferry terminal in Varenna and has great views across the Lake. The photos on the owner's website really do not do the place justice.....it is so much nicer. The balcony/terrace is huge and provides either shade or full sun during most times of the day. There is a large motorised sun canopy and comfy sun loungers. It is a lovely place to sit or eat a meal, with views across the lake or up to the mountains behind Varenna.

The bedroom was clean, quiet and comfortable. The shower cubicle is small but perfectly functional. Car parking is off road and secure. This is a real asset in a small lakeside town like Varenna where flat land is at a premium. Varenna itself is delightful and, in our view, so much more authentic than places like Bellagio just across the lake.

The owner was always very quick to respond to any queries we had both before and during our two-week stay at this little gem. The stairs up to the apartment could be a problem for someone with restricted mobility but, this aside, we could not recommend Casa Mary more highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing