We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
USD 192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monte Codeno(Varenna)(Great Value!)
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Il Bolentino(Varenna)(Great Value!)
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fio & Gio(Varenna)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
268
122
39
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
122
39
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnon guestsgardens are beautifulview of the lakewedding receptionfairytale weddingchurch bellsa special placeamazing viewsenjoy the viewlago di comohotel restaurantceiling fanan easy walkhotel du lacdavidebellagioterrace
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Historical Villa/Hotel in quiet part of Verenna, away from the busy tourist areas. Beautiful gardens & lake views, spacious but basic accommodation, breakfast more than satisfactory and staff very helpful. Easy walking distance to main town square, shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel could be superb because its grounds are beautiful and its location excellent. It has a lovely terrace to sit and view the lake; and is just next door to fantastic gardens. And service friendly.

However, it has some drawbacks:

1. No air conditioning.

2. Mosquitos. We were eaten alive. Even with the windows closed. I killed many but they just kept coming. Drove us crazy. If there was air conditioning, this would have helped.

3. Breakfast is pretty bad. Very light on, and the only thing worth eating - the croissants - were stale on both days.

4. Bathrooms very outdated.

Admittedly, the price was fairly reasonable. If the above issues were addressed it would probably bump up the cost.

Still, the mosquitos were a deal breaker for me.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Europa_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Gardens are beautiful. Enjoyed walking around and getting lost along all the various pathways. Beautiful views, breathtaking!

We had a standard room. It was the only room left. Very basic and pretty disappointing, really needs a facelift. Like staying in a convent. No iron, tea making facilities etc. Didn't compare to the previous place we stayed in Vareena.

It has so much potential. What a shame!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laminator2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now and this is such a lovely hotel with big, beautiful gardens that are perfect for a wedding!!! The location on Lake Como is perfect. It's away from the crowds but still just a 10 minute boat ride from beautiful Bellagio.

The rooms are very plain and simple. (I might even say that they could be updated!) Please don't get me wrong because they're still beautiful! The real attraction here is the view of the lake and the gorgeous gardens!

There are electrical plugs in the bathroom but no iron or ironing board. This is common in Italy and I now travel with my own small travel iron. Also, the ceiling fan is wonderful, since the air conditioning is not on in May/early June.

The breakfast is simple but adequate. It's served in an beautiful old room with pretty ceilings or you can eat outside. The restaurant also does not disappoint. We'll continue to stay at this little gem!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We chose the Villa for our wedding which took place on 3rd July 2017. All of the planning and organisation of the staff was first class and really helped make it a great day.

The food itself on the day was brilliant and authentic, considering they were catering for 70, and everything was extremely smooth from start to finish. The drinks were also fantastic and generously served throughout the day.

The hotel is rustic with a lot of character. Whilst unashamedly modest, the extensive gardens and general setting on the lake certainly makes it special.

The hotel is set in the heart of Varenna which is a beautiful, quaint location in itself, and a great base to explore the rest of the mid-lake area.

Room Tip: Well worth requesting a lake-view room - unbelievable views!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank White_Lightening1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews