We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time simply works differently in Varenna!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

If you are looking for a 5 star Hyatt hotel Varenna and it's hotels are not for you. If you'd like to know how the English lived in Italy100 years ago, Varenna and specifically Villa Cipressi is exactly where you need to be. I stayed here many times over a 12 year period in my life and even now when I go back, though I stay with friends these days, I always spend time relaxing in these gardens, having eaten a light lunch.

Always take a room with the lake view. What is the point of spending money to be on Lake Como and not have the benefit of watching the light change over the mountains and across the water as the day progresses? Even better if you can stretch to a suite or the house in the garden they can be lovely for a special occasion.

I agree the breakfasts are disappointing, but the weekend lunch menus are lovely and I've never been bitten by mozzies so slept well. Until ...after a very hot period, the rain comes and thunder skids and roars for hours across the sky. I've never seen such lightening shows as over the Lake. Don't try to sleep through them, you'll fail, so decamp to your bedroom window and watch the theatre, knowing everything will be fresh and calm by morning.

They'll arrange a private lunch for a party - it's where I had one of my big birthday celebrations and overlooking the calm of the lake was beautiful. They also arrange wedding lunches and the place is small enough to still feel like a private home.

The wisteria is a joy to see and was out when I was there in May this year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are around a square so sometime you hear people at breakfast but rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank agalimbertirennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Historical Villa/Hotel in quiet part of Verenna, away from the busy tourist areas. Beautiful gardens & lake views, spacious but basic accommodation, breakfast more than satisfactory and staff very helpful. Easy walking distance to main town square, shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel could be superb because its grounds are beautiful and its location excellent. It has a lovely terrace to sit and view the lake; and is just next door to fantastic gardens. And service friendly.

However, it has some drawbacks:

1. No air conditioning.

2. Mosquitos. We were eaten alive. Even with the windows closed. I killed many but they just kept coming. Drove us crazy. If there was air conditioning, this would have helped.

3. Breakfast is pretty bad. Very light on, and the only thing worth eating - the croissants - were stale on both days.

4. Bathrooms very outdated.

Admittedly, the price was fairly reasonable. If the above issues were addressed it would probably bump up the cost.

Still, the mosquitos were a deal breaker for me.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Europa_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Gardens are beautiful. Enjoyed walking around and getting lost along all the various pathways. Beautiful views, breathtaking!

We had a standard room. It was the only room left. Very basic and pretty disappointing, really needs a facelift. Like staying in a convent. No iron, tea making facilities etc. Didn't compare to the previous place we stayed in Vareena.

It has so much potential. What a shame!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laminator2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now and this is such a lovely hotel with big, beautiful gardens that are perfect for a wedding!!! The location on Lake Como is perfect. It's away from the crowds but still just a 10 minute boat ride from beautiful Bellagio.

The rooms are very plain and simple. (I might even say that they could be updated!) Please don't get me wrong because they're still beautiful! The real attraction here is the view of the lake and the gorgeous gardens!

There are electrical plugs in the bathroom but no iron or ironing board. This is common in Italy and I now travel with my own small travel iron. Also, the ceiling fan is wonderful, since the air conditioning is not on in May/early June.

The breakfast is simple but adequate. It's served in an beautiful old room with pretty ceilings or you can eat outside. The restaurant also does not disappoint. We'll continue to stay at this little gem!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
538 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.1 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $177 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing