We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed at this beautiful hotel twice already... once before they completely finished it and once after (extension, new breakfast rooms etc.)

First of all the setting can't be beaten!!!! It is BEAUTIFUL! The building, the terrace gardens with hidden passages and romantic spots with the best views of the lake!!!! The most beautiful setting for us!!! The rooms are just ok, not too charming but clean. Up until two years ago not all the rooms had AC but maybe that has changed...

This place is just romantic and Lago di Como just one of our favorite destinations!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgoosestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

We had our wedding reception here 25th May 09 following a ceremony at Villa Balbianello, and truly had the most beautiful day. I wanted to wait a few months and hopefully I wouldn't sound so gushing but I really cannot heap enough praise on the place.

We visited several times before the wedding which apart from being recommended so you can speak to the manager, Davide, and sort out all arrangements is a great excuse for some extra holidays! Davide arranged a great tasting menu for us which helped so much as they have such a lot of choice for weddings - everything we tasted then and indeed on the wedding itself was 5 star - and I am a confirmed foodie... would definitely recommend the fillets of beef in Barolo, all the guests still talk of the food - 7 courses of stunning quality, and they catered for children, vegetarians, vegans and allergies without hesitation.

Guests arrived a few days beforehand and the hotel staff were so helpful, we had arranged welcome packs with gifts for the rooms and it was no trouble for them to arrange flowers for the rooms, co-ordinate with our (also amazing by the way) wedding planner, and organise absolutely everything.

We planned to have the reception meal inside but were so glad we listened to Davide's advice as we were lucky with the weather... the memories I have of sitting down to dinner on my wedding day with all our loved ones, looking over the lake as the sun set will stay with me forever...I am clearly biased but even looking back several months later there is not a thing I would change. All the guests rooms that I saw were lovely, but they were all lake views so I cannot comment on the ones overlooking the road. If you get the chance (and the walk from the bottom of the garden is not problematic for you) book the Villa Magnolia at the bottom of the garden with a balcony right over the lake...romance itself (I haven't told the husband yet but I am picturing many anniversary trips there!)

My summary would be as follows: professional, wonderfully friendly staff, a beautiful hotel in a fantastic setting with great food. I couldn't have asked for anything more and want to thank Cipressi for making everything so special. We hope to visit you many times in the future.

Fondest wishes

Leah & Graham Richmond

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Very comfortable room. We had 4 people and had a room with a loft for 2. Beautiful views over Lake Como. Beautiful grounds! Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My wife & I had our wedding at Villa Cipressi after reading positive reccomendations online and from wedding planners. We stayed a few days before but most of our party arrived the night before the wedding.

From a hotel perspective we have a lot of good things to say about Villa Cipressi. The room we had was great, although as bride & groom we had a suite. The view was breathtaking from the room over the lake with beautiful shutter doors that could be opened up to allow the lake breeze through. The room also had A/C but the temp was confertable without it.
Breakfast was served eother in an open courtyard or in side in the dining area depending on the weather. Choice was more than ample. We would highly reccomend this hotel and town of Varenna which was beautiful and unspoilt.

We also have some comments to write regarding the Hotel Cipressi as a wedding venue. I've stated above that as a hotel it was great. As a wedding venue it was simple out of this world. The gardens were beautiful and the courtyard where the ceremony and the meal took place outside was better than we could even have imagined. The pictures on the hotels website look good but they really don't do the reality any justice.

The stafff were friendly and helpfull in the wedding build up and on the day as well. No task was too much and the Manager Davide as well as Sandra & Tatiana from the staff went above and beyond on many occasions. We found the hotel to be so helpfull during the build up that we didn't bother with a wedding planner (although we had 43 guests this may not be the best route for everyone).

The meal was 7 courses of perfection. I never sampled the resteraunt food but if it was anything like the food they serve for the wedding then it will be 5 star.

We waitied a few weeks after returning so that after the euphoria we could write a subjective review but one month on I can't find a single fault with the service, location, food or the management.

Go to Varenna and go stay at the Villa Cipressi. We are going back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in the Magnolia Suite next to the lake. We had our own private balcony overlooking the lake and private walkway from the main hotel. Breakfeast was good, but mainly the staff were always friendly and helpful. The resturant was good as well.I would recommend this place to anyone. Very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turfclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
538 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.1 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $178 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing