We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The owner thinks of everything you might need!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lakefront from the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
lakefront from the bedroom
lakview from the livingroom
bedroom
Kitchen area and livingroom
lakefront livingroom with tv sat and fireplace
Kitchen area livingroom
Kingsize convertible bed for 2 people
Kingsize convertible bed for 2 people
garage entrance in the historic center
parking by the residence
Bakery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Cathy F
Concord, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The owner thinks of everything you might need!”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We heard about Casa Maddalena from a friend and found it by google. Marilena, the owner, told us that Maddalena was booked but that she had another property , Camilla House in the neighboring town. We were renting a car so it worked for us. What really made it work great is that the Camila house had it's own on site parking spot PLUS Marilena provided another private single car garage right in the town center of Varenna which we could use anytime. That made Camilla House's location just outside of the city a non-problem. Other special perks Marilena provided were an Italian cellphone loaded with her number so we could call for advice and could also use to call to reserve tours and make other arrangements all over Italy. W'OW! As if that were not enough, Marilena provided a cute little washing machine and drying racks in the Condo! So appreciated as we were on a 2 week tour of Italy. The bed and the apartment were comfortable and there were 2 sofa beds in the living room so it would be perfect for a family although we had no use for them. Her kitchen is very well equipped and she truly tried to think of everything we might need right down to a couple of umbrellas in an umbrella stand We rent a beach condo at Edisto Beach and we really have tried to be the same kind of owner but she has us beat! I have never rented travel accommodations from anyone who tried so hard to be helpful. Oh, and I forgot to mention, it's on a hillside looking right down on Lake Como. What a beautiful view. Be sure and look Marilena Anghileri up. She'll fix you up with a great place.
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes.
Less

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thanks for enjoying so much Camilla house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStulga1
Waterford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment has everything you could need. The views are stunning from the living room and bedroom windows, like you can reach out and touch the Lake. The apartment is located directly across from Napoleon's hat. The owner is very accommodating and provides an excellent overview of the area and how to get to all points of interest, even offering to pick you up and return you to the apartment if you tire yourself out walking around, just call her on the cell phone that she provides. Also provides rides to/from train station on day of arrival and day of departure. The Ristorante Crotto di Pino is a short walk from the apartment and has excellent food at reasonable prices, which is perfect after hiking up to and back from Castello di Vezio during the day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
thanks hop to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia T
1 review
“Varennastay”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Nice place. Owner helpful. Very hard uncomfortable pillows. Distances to everything longer than stated. Views fabulous! Loved area. Parking spots tiny so better if you have a small car or come by train.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Distances are really describes to the beach and to the centre, i cannot write was not real is. In the apartment there are more soft and more thick pillows as clients prefer .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail B
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful uninterrupted views of beautiful Lake Como”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The views of Lake Como were stunning. Very quite neighbourhood. The house had every amenity and utensil you could every need (and more)! There was a fabulous restaurant 10 minutes walk up the hill - best food, best prices, best views and great host - we returned every night! Marilena was a very acommodating hostess in every way - communication, assistance with transport (which was required due to distance from town) and even supplied mobile (cell) phone for our stay - so that she was always only a phone call away. Even though it was a fair walk into town it was a very picturesque experience

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriannb...
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
“Camilla House was ideal!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Thank you Marilena for our lovely stay in Varenna. The apartment was perfect in every way. We enjoyed our walks each day and appreciated the rides to and from the train station and back from the restaurant after a delicious Easter meal. We'll definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing