We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
37
2
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
2
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We stayed for 13 nights in September & not once did we feel anything less than comfortable. Federica is a gracious hostess & helpful in the extreme & we were delighted to meet the matriarch of the family, Carla Volla, who was extremely charming. Mas, the family's golden retriever, also made us feel at home & we enjoyed her company.
With that length of stay we would most certainly have uncovered anything not entirely to our liking but we had the most wonderful time there & will certainly return. Our room was on the third floor with the most amazing view of the lake. Our bathrooom had a powerful shower & complimentary toileteries, gowns, hairdryer etc. Coffee/tea making facilities were also provided. Breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit from the garden, a good choiice of cereals & yoghurts, the lightest bread & home made jams & preserves with croissants to die for! We were also offered eggs.
Approximately 30 minutes drive from Malpensa Airport the 200+ year old villa with stunning gardens & orchards is off the beaten track. Accessed via a windy narrow road which we mastered by the second day, such roads are certainly not extraordinary by Italian standards. We loved being away from the crowds in Como central where we have stayed before but were close enough to pop into the town centre which we did on a couple of occasions. Federica recommended a number of local restaurants which we thoroughly enjoyed & they appeared to enjoy great support from the locals (always a good sign!) Fish was excellent as was the veal &, of course, the gelato! The B & B is highly recommended. Grazie mille Federica & Carla & say "ciao" to Mas from us, TnT, Durban SA.

Room Tip: 3rd floor view was amazing but wi-fi connection is poor. Owners are in process of upgrading connection but you need to understand, the walls are THICK.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TnTdurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from staying 3 nights at the B&B Villa Adelaide. Our room was very large with a wonderful view of Como and the lake. This was a wonderful peaceful villa with a beautiful garden. The host family were very considerate and kind. They really made us feel like friends. If you are visiting Como you must stay at the B&B Villa Adelaide. You won't be sorry. Grazie mille Federica.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Happy19452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We found this lovely villa to be owned by a delightful woman who welcomed us warmly. Our room was beautiful with an incredible view of Lake Como and the community. The owner was extremely helpful. The owner assisted me through email to pay through pay pal, a new experience but easily completed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARGARET E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked a double room for my husband and me with private access to the bathroom for four nights at the end of May (Ascension long weekend).

Had difficulty finding the place (we were lucky with a passerby), there was no location description attached, so ask for one before arrival. Of course you could call, if the roaming costs don’t kill you. The landlady mentioned: "noone can find it without a discription".

Parking is not easy for very large cars but available; you’ll need a car to get anywhere as the villa is out on a hill. Garden is lush and green and somehow noisy from the highway passing right underneath the property. No, it doesn’t get a lot better by night as it’s the main highway connecting Northern Europe with Italy and the South.

Were greeted friendly by Ms. Volla upon arrival who then showed us to the room. It was located on the top, second floor, a corner room with a good size, windows on two sides and old pieces of furniture. As it felt coldish we opened the windows and the full blast of the highway hit.

The view over the lake and the city of Como is really very nice, but you won’t sit by the window for long – the highway view with constant heavy traffic is just as clear and the noise is even stronger than in the garden.

This was a complete and sudden drawback that determined us to cancel the whole stay. Just imagining to have to come back to a cold and noisy room every night for our short (but very much needed) holiday (also they had obviously turned off the heating for the year and Como is still near the mountains), this was all just too much. You can well hear the highway also through closed windows, although they had been renewed. The walls are quite thin. Not being able to relax during the day due to noise, having to use the car for every outing to a chronically overcrowded place like Como and surroundings (scarce parking and traffic-choked roads all day, particularly during the holiday season), can’t walk to a restaurant and enjoy a glass of wine as you have to drive back or take a taxi are just some additional issues that didn’t fit our understanding of a good stay.

The villa is else in normal shape for its age, our bathroom was not the one pictured on the website, and rather makeshift in a workspace next to the room (bathroom had no window, but otherwise probably functional).

The room itself had old creaking floors and you can feel that someone is walking through it when sitting on a chair. We asked for a room facing the garden, the answer was, there wasn’t one that would be different.

We did not visit the common areas as sitting and dining room, we just wanted to leave and felt duped as there was not really a hint of an issue in the description of the house on the very good website. Also the very many Tripadvisor 5star reviews (and hardly anything just slightly negative) came suddenly very strange across. I wonder why.

The landlady did return part of the deposit but kept a one night’s value (130 euro).

The greater task afterwards was to find a place to stay for 4 nights during Ascension weekend near Como. We did in the end, and were able to use for the search the somewhat functioning wifi in the room (if you stand near the door).

Stay overnight, arrive during daytime and think twice before spending a longer time there.

I rate it a three star instead of two as we didn't take advantage of the service (breakfast and other). Also maybe our idea of a nice B&B is rather influenced by other and better previous experiences. I do not recommend it and would not come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank adswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked one night in May as a stopover on our way to Tuscany, because of the positive reviews other people wrote.
We were very disappointed.
The road up the hill is in very poor shape, and ends at the Villa. Parking is fine, in a private courtyard. Into the not well maintained gardens, lots of weeds in the gravel footpath. Up into the room, after a friendly welcome from Federica. The room looked nicely decorated, with a tile floor. The bed was fine. But there were no curtains, so you had to close the outside shutters. We did not do that, since it was already dark, and the view was wonderful, in spite of the highway far below us.
However, during the night the wind picked up, our bedroom door banged open because of the draft (I had to put a chair with luggage on it to keep it closed, because of the 1cm gap at the lock), and several outside shutters started banging against the building (the retainers do not match the shutters..). We did not sleep well..
The breakfast inside the house was excellent, served on china and silver ware.
And then we left for Tuscany...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews