We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
272
425
199
83
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
425
199
83
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake como enclosed balcony ferry terminal piazza cavour the main square directly across the street corner room excellent view old world charm old style gelato large room wonderful hotel three nights breakfast was excellent single room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Fantastic service. Located to the best. Clean and quite. The pillows are the only negative, to low and hard as a rock. A/C working (which in Italy is not that easy to find). Bathroom fully renovated with a nice size shower. Car service provided to and from Milan airport. A very good good restaurant included.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank maurizi01957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear maurizi01957,
thank you so much for your friendly review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and this give us hope to see you again in the future.
Just remember to ask at the reception softer pillows!
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights . It was an average hotel room a bit dated and quite warm couldn't adjust the AC cooler. Was fairly clean and had quite a decent bathroom and shower and hair dryer. The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were quite good with a lot of variety . What distinguished this hotel was it's view of Lake Como if you were fortunate enough to have a room at the front. Mine was at the back over looking a small road. It is within walking distance of a lot of amenities shops and restaurants. It is quite a nice area .

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Brucie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Brucie5000,
Thank you for your kind review.
We appreciate your description of the area in which our hotel is located. Moreover, our staff would like to thank you for the friendly words.
We hope that you will return to our hotel in the future and we will do as much as we can to give you a room overlooking the lake so that you'll see an unforgettable landscape of our magic lake.
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Como at Hotel Metropole Suisse.
We had asked for a Lakeview room and were not disappointed. Great view of the piazza and lake although it is directly on a main road. The road noise diminished considerably when the room doors were closed. Hint: If possible ask for a third floor room and one with a balcony.
The staff were, in the main, attentive and helpful apart from one male receptionist whose comment 'idiota' to my wife wasn't appreciated.
Other staff such as Martina, made up for his behaviour. Martina was always helpful and cheerful.
Restaurant staff, particularly Isma, were fantastic.
Housekeeping staff were also polite and attentive to any needs, such as extra pillows.
Only 2 very minor complaints. Firstly, there's no coffee and tea making facilities supplied. Secondly, the windows didn't have block out curtains so were woken early with sunrise.
Be prepared for the thin cotton waffle weave bath towels.
We will go back to Metropole Suisse.

Room Tip: Second or third floor Lakeview room with balcony is the best choice.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Stav V,
thank you so much for your kind review!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to host you again in our Hotel.
And I personally want to thank you for your beautiful words: I'm glad to know that I was able to help you during your stay.
We really hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel has an incredible view of lake and transport boats. It is also very easy to travel from and has helpful staff. But it’s in need of a huge facelift.
Our room was filled with furniture old and ugly decor including a closet with peeling paper on shelf.
Bathroom very poorly designed with some sort of vent that you can hear water drop down . Shower sprays all over floor.
I wouldn’t recommend except for view and ease of travel from it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Luckydog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Luckydog17,
thank you for your review!
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the best of your stay. If you ever decide to come back to our hotel, just remember to ask for a renovated room. In our hotel every room is different from the other and we are sure that between them there is the perfect one for your tastes.
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is set on stunning Lake Como, within walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops and transport links. The hotel itself is very clean, although somewhat a little dated and all staff were very pleasant. We stayed in room 9 which had the most stunning view of the lake. The room would benefit from modernisation, but was suitable for a few nights. The shower was the smallest shower in the world and I think most would struggle to get in and out of the tiny door, or move once in the shower. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the location and stunning views.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Towie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Towie15,
thank you so much for your review. we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our room was perfect to give you an unforgettable view of our magic lake.
We hope to see you again in the future, maybe in a room with a bigger shower!!
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews