We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
270
423
197
83
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
423
197
83
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake como enclosed balcony ferry terminal piazza cavour directly across the street the main square excellent view corner room old world charm old style large room gelato wonderful hotel three nights breakfast was excellent single room
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

The location is the key winner for this Hotel. Easily walkable from the Station, but get a cab if you have really big suitcases.

Try for a room over looking the Piazza and the Lake, worth the extra whatever the costs. We had a small balcony but big enough for two chairs so we could share a bottle of Prosecco.

Never ate in the Hotel as too many choices outside but breakfast was excellent.

All the staff were really helpful and spoke better English than my Italian.

Bathroom was fine with a functional shower.

If I went back to Como I would stay here no question.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Receptionist at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Steve,
we are very happy you have enjoyed your stay in Como and we can't wait to welcoming you again. Next time you can try our very fine restaurant "Imbarcadero"!
Your positive feedback is really appreciated,
thank you very much

Fausto Tripaldi
Hotel Metropole Suisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

For a short visit to Como, this hotel has a great location. It sits on the Piazza lakeside, across from the tour boat piers. It's a short walk along the lake to the Funicular that takes you to the hilltop town of Brunate. It's worth the view and there are snack bars and restaurants if you'd like to spend a little time.

We booked a standard room and were shown to room #26, which looked across to the lake and the boat ticket office. Fair warning about this room. Despite our experience in many old hotels in Europe, that rooms are often less than spacious with minimal furnishings, this room had some unusual twists. A stall shower was situated directly across from the bed, outside the rest of the toilet facilities. Even more unusual, the top half of the wall separating those facilities was glass. Apparently, while the layout of other standard rooms is similar, this is the only one with an 'observation ' panel. If you're not alone and like a little privacy, you may want to specify that you don't want Room #26.

Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly and sympathetic but the hotel was full so no other room was available. There is a restaurant on the ground floor which is also where our included breakfast was served. We enjoyed dinner there one night and drinks at the outdoor tables.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Loved the location. We had a typical small European room with just a double bed and very hard mattress. (There may be bigger rooms). The bathroom was very modern with very nice shower (no tub). Good TV and internet. Nice dinning room with lake view.

Room Tip: Try for a bigger room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Kris R,
thank you for taking time to write this positive feedback about HMS!
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Next time if you prefer you can ask for a superior (bigger that a standard) room and a little softer mattress and pillows. With pleasure we are always at your disposal for any information or clarification.

Hope to accomodate you in the future again.
See you next time.

Stefania Errico
HMS - info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

...is that we were only here for three nights! This is an architecturally beautiful and charming hotel with an art deco ambience and personal service that harks back to a more leisurely and refined time of travel; before travel became more of a chore than a pleasure, and before corporate hotel chains all but wiped out private and family-owned hotels like this that are still managed with pride and with quiet dignity.
When we saw the age of the place, we assumed that the rooms would have a certain faded charm and would be difficult to maintain or keep clean. How wrong we were: the rooms and public areas are immaculate and lovingly cared for. The hotel is in pole position at the very edge of the lake and right opposite the pier where the ferries depart from. As our room looked out over this and benefited from a little balcony we were slightly concerned about excess noise, but again we were pleased to note that the windows were of thick glass and acoustically efficient, and a further benefit is the electric shutters outside all the windows that also help to cut down any noise.

All the staff here are helpful, friendly and efficient. We only had dinner here on the last night (there's a lovely outdoor dining terrace looking onto the lake and the piazza) and came away wishing we'd had meal here every night - the steak was sublime! Breakfast, too, was a pleasant affair in the lovely indoor dining room, with all the old photos of the hotel on display and with coffee on tap - just what I need in a morning! We took the ferry out to Bellagio and the funicular to the top and then walked to the Voltaic Lighthouse. Thanks to this lovely hotel our first visit to Como was a memorable success and we'll look back on our stay here with many warm feelings.

Lovely spacious Superior room (15) with its own little lounge area and large bathroom with a double sink.The only very slight negatives we have is that the pillows were a bit hard on the neck; and that at times the water could have been a bit hotter; and the bathroom hair drier is very underpowered; - luckily we had our own!

Room Tip: Room 15 is at the front of the hotel and looks out over the lake. Small balcony and seating area that we never really used.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed in a room on the first floor for five days. It was large with double aspect views over the Como Boat Terminal on one side and the main square, Piazza Cavour, on the other. It was great to watch everyone coming and going on the boats and despite being on top of all this activity it was not noisy due to the very effective double glazing.
Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom and additional dressing area. Everything was very clean and extra pillows and coat hangers were swiftly supplied on request.
All of the staff were very friendly and efficient and always greeted us as we passed. The reception staff were particularly pleasant and helpful as was the chief waiter in the restaurant.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was alright with nice croissants and breads. However I would have preferred more cooked options than the scrambled eggs and bacon available and perhaps a greater selection of cooked meats and cheeses e.g. some smoked salmon or pickled herring perhaps?
The decor was a bit dated and old fashioned especially in the landing and corridor areas. However I note that there is a refurbishment programme in place so no doubt these will be redecorated soon.
All in all we had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed our time in Como very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeanjeanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews