We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like An Unwanted Houseguest”
Review of Hotel Villa Flori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Flori
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Westport CT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Treated Like An Unwanted Houseguest”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Yes, they renovated but they failed to change their dismissive, disdainful attitude. Just came back from three nights
in their 398 E/night junior suite which had no robes, slippers, turndown service, and when you called the front desk you got attitude. 25 E/per day for parking, 8 E per day/wifi, and the most pretentious restaurant staff ever. Interestingly, the entire hotel staff seemed to be quite unified in this "inhospitality."

This stay was at the end of a three-week tour of Italy. We stayed at B and B's, a Relais hotel and an airport hotel. Villa Flori was the only one that made us feel unwelcomed and glad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regal328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    167
    64
    32
    17
See reviews for
61
244
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My family and I stayed at Villa Flori during a 2 and a half week vacation in Italy for 4 nights in September. All of the complaints listed in other reviews are exactly right. I have never been treated so poorly at what is supposed to be a "luxurious" hotel in my life. First off, when we arrived, we were told absolutely nothing about the hotel, it's facilities or anything for that matter. Throughout out stay it was as if we were being rude and ultra demanding. I say this because every request we made was met with attitude and bewilderment by the hotel staff. We called down one night for a corkscrew to open some wine. We were told that it would be up in 2 minutes by the staff. 2 hours later and no corkscrew. I called again and was told that it wasn't possible. So I then walked to the bar and borrowed the bartenders corkscrew, took it to my room and took it back to the bar. Not a huge deal, but a little irritating. We had dinner at the hotels restaurant one night. It was way overpriced and the food was not very good. That try so hard to make the restaurant so "high-end", but fail so miserably! Service was terrible and the head waiter was yelling a a busboy right in front of us for little mistakes. I felt terrible for him and it was very awkward. Overall, we just never felt welcome at this hotel. It has a very cold and detached feeling. I would never stay here again, even if it was free if charge. They need to get their act together and fix whatever is going in there because it truly is a beautiful property that is just broken.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imacubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September. The property was very well taken care of, the
remodel was done very tastefully and brought the rooms and facilities very much up to date.
Our room was modern, and in excellent condition with an exceptional view of Lake Como.
Two negatives:
1. The location, while on the lake required an automobile and parking was 25/e day
2. In addition to paying for the room, they charge 8/e an hour for wi-fi!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andiamo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011


This is the first time I have written a review on Trip Advisor. I use the website as a rough guide on what a hotel will be like. I've found that more often than not that most reviews are accurate, and do realise that some people can be very picky, which I like to think I am not.

Let me start by saying this was hands down the WORST service I have ever encountered in a hotel after many years off travelling.

Firstly upon arrival was given no information on the hotel or things to do around the Lake, which didn't bother me to much. On our second night after coming home after a great day exploring the lake, I asked a different lady at the front desk (even more unhelpful than the first) if they had room service. To which I was greated with a bewildered look followed by a no. No help to what other alternatives as to anything nearby. I then asked if I could get a corckscrew for a bottle wine I had bought in the town. I was asked to "go and ask the barman".

On the final day at checkout, I was greeted by a third ever unhelpful lady. Not even asked how my stay was, just for my credit card. I said goodbye after payment, to which she could not have even been bothered to reply to.

Was the room nice. Yes. Was it worth €500 for two nights. No. The staff here tried and succeeded in making me feel as unwelcome and unwanted as possible.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claymation77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel really is in a way, tragic. Located on a beautiful spot overseeing lake como, Don't let it's location fool you. From the average rooms to the worst service I've encountered, this hotel is a fools paradise.

Upon checkin, the lady working behind the desk was slow and rude. If your not speaking italian expect attitude. No room service cause the restaurant closes early. So I tried to improvise a dinner. Upon asking for a candle ( we booked the best room with balcony after all) for a quick romantic dinner, their faces covered in shock that I would dare such a request. On top, it just rained and they left the Patio covers on the furniture so we couldn't even sit down. Next, bottle of wine was a no go as well. We got referred to the room bar.

To sum it up: this is a tourist hideout and not some 4 star hotel. Staff is rude and rooms are average. If your looking for a romantic getaway at como try villa d'este instead. If u only care about the view, then sure go for it. Otherwise, it's a bust....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saschd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
1.9 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
848 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
4.3 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
1.9 km away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
2.0 km away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Flori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Flori

Property: Hotel Villa Flori
Address: Via Cernobbio 12, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price range (per night): $243 - $1,082
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Flori 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Flori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flori Hotel Como
Hotel Villa Flori Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing