We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
1,136
336
76
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,136
336
76
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity jacuzzi lake view comfort room main building half board great pool superb hotel sun deck five minute walk quiet location breakfast and dinner fishing village lounge chairs bottle of prosecco terrace restaurant restaurant staff junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,186 - 1,191 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

There is no doubt that the views from this hotel seem to be some of the best in the Lake Como region but the poor service of the hotel and their desire to nickel and dime you constantly will cause me to find another option on my next trip to the area.

$4 per day for two towels at the pool seems like something you would expect on a budget airline, not a 3+ star hotel in a resort town like Bellagio. And no free internet???? How can hotels get away with that these days!

Those criticisms aside, my main problem with this "luxury" hotel is the lack of care and interest shown by the reception/concierge staff. Upon arrival in Bellagio, my wife and I were surprised to learn that the hotel would be asking us to drag our luggage up a rather steep 1/2 mile long hill (in the 80 degree weather) as there is no luggage assistance to and from the ferry dock.

When we asked to change a pre-existing reservation at a restaurant, we were given enough resistance that we chose to stick with our plans simply to extract ourselves from the impatient staff. Some of this can be attributed to the language barrier but we've stayed in enough hotels of similar caliber all over Italy to know that it can be overcome with ease if there is an interest in doing so.

Rooms are clean and most have great views but service alone is the reason to find something else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Belvedere is a three star hotel -- well go there as soon as possible before it gets elevated to it's true star status to at least 4 and the prices go up !!
What a position !! ie elevated above Bellagio and away from the crowds and noise -- short walk up or down the hill -- but the view from the rear of the hotel is in my opinion the best in Como [ if not on a par with the Villa d'Este]. If you just want to hear the noises of birds and insects then this is your destination.
The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly -- the hotel has been in the same family since the late 1800s.
The pool and gardens are a delight and the hotel is spotless.
Our room was in the gardens facing Lake Lecco [the southeast leg of Como] and the view was amazing as well as being the newer part of the hotel.
When we return to Como which we will unboubtedly do we will return to the Belvedere. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and inItaly and the Belvedere suited all of our needs.
In addition in our opinion Bellagio is the best town in the whole of Como. Hire a car as we did and you can travel the whole primeter in a few days and enjoy all the small towns like Dongo [the name is true!].

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Located in a hilly position between the fishing villiage of Pescallo and Bellagio town center the Belvedere is a family run hotel with fabulous views over the lake at the front and looking over a reasonably quiet road at the back.
The pool area and infinity jacuzzi giving a vista of lake Como are very good and the dining room offers good wholesome un - fancy food.
Service is readily given and the staff are all friendly and helpful as one might expectfrom an italian family rum hotel...of particular delight is thesupervision ofmeal timesby the grandmother whose discreet obeservance ensures that all runs smoothly.
The bedrooms are reasonable but would benefit from better lighting, paticularly rooms on the road side which are dark,; the roadside rooms also get little direct sunlight.
Awordof caution......the pricesgiven onthe hotel website are excessive,better prices can be obtained throughtour operators.
Overlall,good value, but beware the bar bills which can creep up!
An excellent position away from the hussle and bussle ofBellagio center and withineasy access of the port, shops and restaurants.
Nice comfy beds and good bathrooms with bidet and nice toiletries.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juridique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at the Belvedere for 2 nights in May with the most dismal weather you could imagine, heavy rain and dense cloud. You could not believe how wonderful and truly professional the staff were while we were there. They almost made us forget the weather. Although we did get a dry 4 hours on the lake to sight see it was mostly miserable. So if I say that Bellagio was a highlight of our trip you can put it down to this hotel with its wonderful accommodation, comfortable atmosphere, excellant restaurant, majestic scenery and welcoming professional staff. We will certainly be going back in the future but I hope with some sunshine next time

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinhenry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We loved our view and breakfasts but the room was small for 220 euros in the off season. Granted you don't go to a stunning place like Bellagio to sit in the room but we barely had places for our suitcases. Still I would stay again but just want to make sure other travelers aren't expecting a posh room after reading the other comments.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews