We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic stay, friendly host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terrazza dei Pelargoni
Ranked #8 of 23 Ventimiglia B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic stay, friendly host”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This B&B is situated in a medevial house full of nice anitquities. We were treated very well by Lucia and Claudio and and will come back as soon as possible to enjoy this very special place which is not overflod by crowds of tourists. Breakfast is served on one of the two lovely terraces....go there you will enjoy it. The beach is five minutes away by foot. Our recomendation: a less sweet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 503HeidiS503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    44
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
80
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I contacted the owner of La Terrazza dei Pelargoni B&B via e-mail to make a reservation for a room that can accommodate 3 people, in his response he confirmed availability of a triple room.
As per his request I paid deposit via PayPal, what was also confirmed by him.
All the communication was in writing.
Upon our arrival we were let in by someone who appeared to be a resident, and presented with a double room. I immediately indicated that I made reservation for a room that can accommodate 3 people, and was told that we would get another room appropriate for the number of quests.
So we proceeded with unloading the luggage and lifting it up to the fourth floor via very steep stairs. Once all was unloaded and brought up, I asked to see the other room, but was told there was no other room!? After arguing that reservation was made for triple room that can accommodate 3 people, I was passed the phone and asked to talk to the owner of B&B Claudio Cappuccio. The owner argued that I made a reservation for a room, and that double room was the only room we were going to get!? After 20 minutes of argument it was clear that the owner of B&B was not willing to provide appropriate accommodation for which I made reservation and paid deposit for, so we had to leave and seek accommodation elsewhere that night.
The owner of B&B refused to refund the deposit.
Beware of any dealings with this person, do not be a victim of his scam and look for accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sasha044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioCappuccio, Proprietario at La Terrazza dei Pelargoni, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
These 'gentlemen' have reserved a triple room, I provided them with a quadruple room! Surely they did not love the house and the neighborhood and have gone, legitimate choice. Less legitimate claim to cancel the reservation with specious claims aimed only to bring back the deposit, real bad guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you want something that is full of character in the beautiful old part of an Italian town, then this is the place for you. We've never had a candlelit breakfast before and the cakefest that greeted us by the light of a massive candelabra was absolutely fabulous. Our bedroom was clean, comfortable and crammed with antiques. Because it was raining we couldn't sit on the little terrace which was a great shame because would have liked to have had a drink from the [very resonably priced minibar in our room] out there. The view from this terrace and the smell from all the plants and flowers was amazing. Yes, there are many many stairs to climb to get to this B&B and the bathroom was a bit ancient [and a bit too pink]. But the whole experience was so much more satisfying than staying in a chain hotel. In response to the previous review [i.e. the guest who arrived to find that there was no one at home], our booking document asked us to ring the owner in advance to tell him the time we planned to arrive pointing out that it is a B&B and not a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We very much enjoyed our two nights here. It is in Ventimiglia Alta and quite an uphill hike from the railway station so if you have heavy luggage, or are not fit, take a taxi from the station. The rooms are also on the third floor and there is no lift, so again, if you have heavy or large luggage this place may not be for you, lovely as it is. Our room was well-furnished and comfortable and the bathroom was large and well-equipped with plenty of hot water. We could not have breakfast on the terrace as it was too cold, but that would be really lovely in summer as our host, Claudio has a great selection of plants out there, and it is very secluded. However the dining room was also fine and the table was beautifully set, the coffee and food was fantastic (thank you, too, Lucia – we enjoyed meeting you so much!). Claudio had breakfast with us and was very helpful about showing us how to find our way about, and where to find a restaurant for our evening meal. We enjoyed the market and the town centre is a bustling and interesting place. Ventimiglia is a good base from which to visit the wonderful Hanbury Botanical Garden further along the coast – a short ride by bus. We hope to stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intonati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The setting for breakfast on the terrace was delightful, with magnificent views. It is in the mediaeval part of town, which is fascinating to wander through, with narrow laneways and beautiful old buildings. The downside is having to carry bags up three flights of stairs. A little disappointing, also, was that staying here was less personal than most B&B type places, as we were not greeted on arrival by the owner, but by an employee, and a different employee was there in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventimiglia hotels
1.9 km away
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
#3 of 11 in Ventimiglia
239 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#5 of 11 in Ventimiglia
138 reviews
1.8 km away
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
#1 of 11 in Ventimiglia
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 11 in Ventimiglia
129 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#4 of 11 in Ventimiglia
126 reviews
1.9 km away
Romantic Casa Lorenzina B&B
Romantic Casa Lorenzina B&B
#16 of 23 in Ventimiglia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrazza dei Pelargoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrazza dei Pelargoni

Property: La Terrazza dei Pelargoni
Address: Via Garibaldi 24, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ventimiglia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ventimiglia
Price range (per night): $123 - $173
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terrazza dei Pelargoni 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Terrazza dei Pelargoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing