We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We found Hotel Stella quite by accident driving around Rapello trying to find a nice, reasonable, safe place close to train station. We loved it, staff suggested a resturant the locals frequent and had the most wonderful pasta with walnut sauce! Great view from the top floor patio of the harbor. Good Breakfast, loved the dog in the reception area. Would stay again if in the area!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacksheep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    65
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Nice hotel, very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Bit expensive though! Breakfast adequate. 5 mins walk into Rapallo - lovely town. Fireworks were amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We had the whole top floor and terrace to ourselves. The room was clean, linens and towels were fresh each morning. Great location for a short walk to the waterfront or to the city for lunch, dinner or anything else. Helpful staff helped us with any questions we had. Great hotel and we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for 503! Great views and your own terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenceair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

We recently stayed in Hotel Stella and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The hotel is in a great location, only a very short walk away from the seafront/harbour (and for less cost). We found the staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating. The hotel is extremely clean, our room was cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels. The aircon was also very good. We had the benefit of Room 50 which is amazing! Try and get this room if you decide to stay here, it is on the top floor and has the benefit of the terrace with amazing views of Rapallo! The breakfast, included in the room price we found was very good. It is basic and consists of croissants, breads, cereal with jams etc but there is plenty of it with fresh coffee and tea.

Overall I highly recommend Hotel Stella as a place to stay if visiting beautiful Rapallo. It is not 5 star luxury but then you are not paying the price for 5 star but I do think it is very good value for the location and the area!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

I never had such a bad experience in any hotel!

I booked a double room in Hotel Stella Rapallo for the 1st of May, an unusually busy period, so there was not much choice. I confirmed my booking twice and sent the staff my credit card details. When I arrived, the very aggressive and rude old Italian lady ignored my reservation saying she had no rooms and that there was a mistake on my side. She was also pretending to be the hotel manager while later I learned it was not true. However, as I printed everything, the manager had to admit the mistake was made by them. However, he said all other hotels within the area were booked for that night and after calling them for about 30 minutes and letting us wait, they concluded we should stay at the house of the receptionist. As we had no choice, we had to accept this. Despite long arguing with the manager and the rude old lady, no financial compensation was offered to us.

Although the staff was arguing that this is the first time such a mistake happened, it really did not seem to be such a rare situatiuon as the same problem happened to a Japanese lady when we were still waiting at the reception!! So it seems that the hotel is just ignoring all reservations and works on a first come, first served basis and eventually charges all parties as I read in a previous review.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.7 km away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#14 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Via Aurelia, 6, 16135, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Price range (per night): $118 - $221
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stella is a building of the beginning of the 20th century, a typical example of "Genovese" style. It is situated in the center of the town, near the beach, the Touristic harbour and the promenade. Terrace with a wonderful panoramic view. Meeting room for 20 people. Private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing