We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveller rating
348
686
225
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
686
225
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal direct access cruise ship nice hotel hotel is located old town junior suite busy road room was spacious stayed for one night top floor port area harbour taxi city euros garage
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Typical American Clean hotel with all the normal amenities.
Located on the docks,miles from the historical part of town. Don't use your car anywhere in Genoa you simply cannot park. No exaggeration it took us over an hour to find a space
You need to use the train from the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the city,,,,
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lvbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Genoa is certainly a big city, but our hotel is just 20-25 minutes walking far from the old town, only 10 minutes by metro. Our staff is always ready to give guests city maps showing how to move quickly in this city and suggesting to park in our garage and to use public transport. We grant this makes your stay in Genova more relaxing.
Looking forward to seeing you soon again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Holiday Inn has 2 wings, one is the Hotel, and adjoining is the Business Residence (Service Apartments), with facilities exactly same I was here in Holiday inn for around 20-25 days.

I had stayed in the Business Residence for around 25 days, and it was an apt stay.

Its just a full-fledged hotel room/apartment, with a drawing room, and well-furnished kitchen.

Services are pretty much similar to the hotel, as both are just joined buildings with common entrance and common facilities.

Location is really nice, one way towards Aquario de genoa, and just in the fron is Terminal Traghetti & Port Antico.

Great place to stay in.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the side facing the road.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitanshu_khatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your review on our new area for long stays.
It is a really new and effective way to provide accommodation to guests relocated abroad for work- related reasons. This new service target is represented by people having to stay for a long time far from home. We give them all the standards of Holiday Inn rooms without giving up the feeling of living in modern, large and comfortable flat.
Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days when my friend was getting married locally. Nice place and service, location isn't good - a 20 minute walk to the centre. Doesn't bother me massively and it's 5 minutes from the nearest metro station. No free wireless Internet was disappointing as was the price to get it. From memory around €5/day. Breakfast at €14 (again from memory) was also a bit steep.

P

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your detailed feedback and for sharing it on this website.
We are glad you enjoyed our quiet rooms and we are glad to inform you as well as other visitors of this website, that wi-fi service has been lately improved and it is possible to save up a considerable amount of money if you choose breakfast including rates when reserving.
Thank you for your helpful tips and we wish you to have a new chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed there for a few nights recently and found the hotel quite nice.
In a bustling Italian city, it is not easy finding a place to stay that has quiet rooms, but this hotel did deliver - although I must say that I had my doubts on arrival as this establishment sits directly at not one, but two!! major thoroughfares, an ambulance depot, a large supermarket and a ferry port.
The secret is in their really good soundproof windows, which render the roar into a quiet hum once closed.
Outside the room, thick carpet sucks up step noises so that inside, a good night's sleep can come around without hindrance.
Also, cleanliness was not issue, both room and bathroom were spotless as far as I could see.
Why no modern hotel manages to build a shower stall that does not flood the entire bathroom is quite another thing, and this one is no exception.
The very modern interior design may not be everyone's cup of tea, I didn't mind much except for the vertical black-and-white stripes theme of the wall surrounding he TV. Hence watching TV gave me a strange visual effect once I looked away. Other issues were minor.
The breakfast isn't much, although for Italy it is okay. Don't expect too much and don't pay extra for breakfast if it isn't included in the room rate. Remember that Panini and Tramezzini (Rolls and Sandwiches) are available at every Café-Bar in Italy and there are several bars right beside the hotel so there is no reason to go for overpriced stale toast and generic cheese and ham. WiFi is available but as usual in four or five star hotels breathtakingly priced.
The hotel is situated a twenty minute walk away from the old town, but a metro station is only a hundred metres away and a ride costs a paltry EUR 1.50 . So it still is a good starting point from which to explore Genoa. I would, and probably will, stay there again, particularly because of the quiet and clean rooms.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your detailed feedback and for sharing it on this website.
As for our location, as other reviewers have also mentioned, it is a compromise between our business travelers’ needs and our tourists expectations, as it allows to reach in a short time both the city centre and the main business areas. We always suggest our guests to use public transport to move throughout Genova busy streets; metro and bus stops are very close to our hotel. We are also glad to inform you as well as other visitors of this website, that wi-fi service has been lately improved and it is possible to save up a considerable amount of money if you choose breakfast including rates when reserving.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel was nice, rooms very clean; but we weren't too happy with the area. Lots of graffiti and didn't feel safe until we were inside the hotel. Staff was very friendly!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amicabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay and your review. We are sorry to note that the area around our structure has a negative impact on your experience at the hotel, but unfortunately we are in a slightly secluded area than that of the center, where there are restaurants and bars. While the day is very busy in the evening is almost deserted and ourselves suggest our guests to move quietly until dinner time by public transport and taxi back after dinner, and in a few minutes at a moderate price.
however we hope to be able to have as our guest again and best regards.
Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews