We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find!”
Review of Hotel La Spiaggia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Spiaggia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The location was incredible. We were not sure of our plans and stumbled off the train and into Monterosso al Mare. We luckily found rooms at La Spiaggia. It was more about the location and the owner than the actual hotel. He is a gem! Despite the floods and landslides in October, the hotel was clean and the owner was incredibly welcoming. Not many restaurants were open as a result of the floods and the owner made phone calls to track down one two towns away. He even made a quick trip to the train station to make sure of the train schedule (the satellite and internet have been down since Oct.). Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had two rooms. One with a great window view (123) of the Mediterranean and the other (121) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a5inspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 409 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

Thank God we stayed at Hotel La Spiaggia on our first trip to Cinque Terre! Andrea and his outstanding support pointed us in all the right directions. You need a restaurant? Tell them he sent you. You need a taxi? You'll have one in a jiffy! If you want to experience true Italian, family-style hospitality, look no further than this hotel. The rooms are lovely and the location is primo. The train went on strike while we were there, and we had to cancel our reservations for Venice. Ela, so kindly and efficiently, helped us manage our travel plans - and in Italian for us! Cinque Terre is the most beautiful place I've ever been to. We can't wait to return, and when we do, we'll be staying at Hotel La Spiaggia!

Room Tip: You won't be spending much time in your room when you're in Cinque Terre! It's not abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galavante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Our first visit to the Cinque Terre region could not have been more enjoyable and this was largely due to the owner / manager and staff of Hotel La Spiaggia. The hotel is located right opposite the beach just a few minutes (flat) walk from the train station. Our room was on the third floor with a lovely little balcony that overlooked the Mediterranean sea. The room was pleasantly furnished, quite large and a small, but functional ensuite. Breakfast was a substantial feast, albeit European style and kept us going for the walks and outings that were suggested by the personable and knowledgeable Andrea. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are located at the front and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miss_SadieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I am so glad we took the advice of a friend and stayed at the Hotel La Spiaggia. Andrea is definitely the 'face' of the hotel. However, Maria, Ela and Isabella also all work hard to make the guests welcome. We were given suggestions for restaurants and even had a reservation made for us at a restaurant down the street. The hotel is wonderfully located right across from the Mediterranean and a short walk from the train station and the old town. The room was large with a well appointed bathroom. Our room had a balcony that faced the sea, so we enjoyed fabulous views. Breakfast was more than sufficient with eggs, ham, fruit, cheese, pastries, yogurt and coffee and tea. Our stay at the La Spiaggia was wonderful and we highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatmanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

From the moment we stepped off the train at Monterosso al Mare, we knew we had arrived in paradise! Just a short walk brought us to our hotel..the Hotel La Spiaggia, located beachfront, with breathtaking views of the Mediterranean. We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper, Andrea and his assistant (I think his daughter) Maria. They had us sit at their little bar, poured us a glass of their homemade wine, and provided us with snacks, maps, and advice on traveling the five towns of the Cinque Terre. Andrea gave us great recommendations for lunch and dinner reservations for the towns we would be in each day. For our visit to Vernazza, they called and made a reservation for us as we were leaving, and when we arrived at Ristorante Gianni Franzi, we found we had a front-and-center table...harborside! The description of the room we had reserved was described as "partial sea view". When we opened our third floor window...wow! We had a glorious view of the aqua blue water and the beach. Breakfasts were amazing...prosciutto, cheeses, chocolate croissants, great coffee and cappuccino, yogurt, and assorted juices. Best of all, Andrea was usually available to give directions and advice...always making sure we were well taken care of and having a great time in his beautiful part of the world, the Cinque Terre. Thank you to Andrea and Maria!

Room Tip: Request an air conditioned room with a view on a high floor (there is an elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLauraLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.6 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
612 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
414 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
449 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Spiaggia

Address: Via Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $209 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Spiaggia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Spiaggia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing