We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
15
8
3
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
8
3
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed one night. The owner came and met us in the main square, we would never have found it otherwise. Corniglia is an experience! The room we had did have air-con, and the small terrace must be the highest in the town, so great views. The square below and play area, volleyball court, can make it noisy.

As with a previous review, we did not find a great restuarant, some we did not like the look of or owners attitude, others were fully booked. The food we had was ok, nothing great, although for breakfast, lunch or snack the Wine Bar and Garden opposite the dire pizza place (avoid) and scooter parking was refreshingly good and if you go there you will not be disappointed. Local wine with cheese and honey, great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamborock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We booked a room for 3 nights at the end of April using the www.arbaspaa.com agency mentioned in previous reviews and also had no problems. We paid 60 € per night, for the room without a view. It’s very easy to catch the shuttle bus up the hill to Corniglia – you can get a schedule from the train station there, and we never had to climb up or down the 365 steps. (There was enough walking and climbing to be done elsewhere in the Cinque Terre!) However, once you get there, if you are staying at La Torre, there are quite a few more steps to be climbed, as it is at the uppermost part of the town, close to one of the panoramic overlook areas. There is no reception area, so you must ask someone in the town and they will find the owner (or in our case, the housekeeper) to give you the keys and show you your room. We surrendered our passports to the housekeeper, then picked them up before we left and gave her the cash payment to give to the owner (who was out while we were there). Again, we had no problems with this arrangement.

The room itself, though small, was extremely clean (and was cleaned daily), and had everything you needed though in a compact size. Bathroom looked recently remodeled and was spotless. There was some issue with the shower draining very slowly, and there were signs warning guests not to flood the floor or it would cause damage. We just kept turning on and off the shower to avoid a flood over the shower basin. A little strange, but easily workable. Even though there was no direct view, we did see part of the hills from our side window. Still a pleasant room, and we could walk up a couple of flights of stairs to access the communal rooftop terrace with little tables, chairs, lounges, and a panoramic view.

We were so glad we chose Corniglia, as it was the smallest, quietest, and most charming of all the Cinque Terre villages. We also found that the local wine was cheaper here than any of the other villages. We enjoyed the Internet Café/Bar for a light dinner and wine (very inexpensive) and Ristorante Cecio (delicious food, friendly service, and a good value).

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank GreenMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

-weather was hot, you have to go to the beach, or make a trip on the via dell'amore, which is a hiking way between the villages. we've been on a boat trip to monterosso, the beach is the best here. maybe corniglia is more peaceful than the other villages, beacuse the boat which goes between the villages doesn't stop here. the only way is on the road by car. or if you are in a quite good condition, through the via dell'amore.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csokijuccsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed for 7 nights.
The room (green room) as ok and because it was very warm we got after the first night the only ventilator (there is no airco). Very useful.
The owner we only met the second day and although friendly, she was invisible for the rest of our stay. Difficult to communicate.
The place immediately under the room is the meeting place for the local youngsters and they organize some loud community events every evening till midnight. So for early sleepers it is impossible to sleep. Also the street below the room is rather busy with loudly discussing locals also till midnight.
However if you want to experience local Italian life, you might not be disturbed by the noise.
If you want to move around through Cinque Terre and other places keep in mind that it will take some organizing and travel. Don't go there by car. Parking is almost impossible, unless you pay for it (70 euro/week). You can park for free outside the village, but you cannot cross the white lines without being booked. The station on foot is about 20 minutes, but it includes 380 stairs (going down is ok, but going up takes about 10 minutes alpine climbing; 5 minutes for those in very good condition). There is a bus shuttle, but you cannot depend on the timetable, because the driver has his own timetable. Also expensive (1,5 euro one way)
There is only one decent restaurant (Cantina de Mananan); but you must make a reservation the day before.
The two other restaurants Cecio and La Lanterna are bad, rather expensive and to avoid; unfriendly, bad food.
There are some pizzeria's but I didn't eat there.
There is only one small shop.
Bar Matteo is ok for breakfast.
The beach is again a 10 minute climb. Rocks and no sand.
To recommand for adventurous people who like to walk .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Willy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My wife and I try to travel each summer to a major city and include a few days of hiking and food in a remote village. This year we chose Rome and the area north known as Cinque Terre. It was our first visit to northern Italy.
Our priorities in selecting a place to stay included: cleanliness, views of ocean, proximity to train station, and friendliness of owners. This is our first posting to Trip Advisor because the services from La Torre were so wonderful, we wanted to share them on-line!
Prior to arriving, we were a bit concerned because the booking was not made directly through La Torre, but instead went through a service at www.arbaspaa.com - an agency we had not used before - that turned out to be a non-issue. Oh, also remember to pack light - those beautiful cliffs have many steps. It is also useful to bring along picnic basket utensils -- the local markets have terrific cheese, wine, bread, meats, etc to take out.
Corniglia does not have any chain hotels - it is a small village with a number of B and Bs -- if you want a friendly B and B owner, clean rooms with new bathrooms, a wonderful view from their terrace of Cinque Terre, and the feel of a small village on the Italian coast, La Torre is a wonderful choice !! --

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mflicker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews