We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome.”

Trattoria Nerodiseppia
Ranked #4 of 931 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Like many reviewers, we too got the last free lunch table - only twenty minutes after they opened, on a very low-key Thursday lunch. I can assure readers that this is not a ploy - during our lunch, there must have been twenty disappointed couples turned away. I stress this point to advise booking, if you intend making Nerodiseppia your destination for lunch or dinner - and boy, you really should.

The restaurant looks innocuous from the outside but the interior is cozy and charmingly eclectic. I must add that while the temperature outside was over thirty degrees centigrade, inside was an air-conditioned oasis. Worth a visit for that alone.

The menu is concise and primarily fish focused. I started with an astonishingly good trio of anchovies, which were as far removed from what you believe anchovies taste like, as you could get. The most surprising rendition was a twist on the Venetian classic “sarde in saor” but this time, done with anchovies - utterly delicious. As I babbled on about how wonderful my starter was, my wife sat with a look of awe on her face and she said, “Never mind those, taste these aubergine "fries”. How the chef had prepared these aubergine “fries”, was miraculous. As a keen amateur chef I can assure you that I could not have duplicated the sweetness of the aubergine and above all, the absolute lack of excess oil. Dry, crisp, sweet and utterly delicious, which actually overshadowed the focus of her starter - tuna carpaccio - also first class.

We both had a pasta course, with my wife's linguine with vongole, courgette and tomato beating my spaghetti dressed with tuna bottarga. You have to like fish a lot to choose this, as the flavour of bottarga is quite strong - but still delicious.

Desserts were of the same high standard. The Italian food guide that recommend Nerodiseppia noted that the chef’s speciality was “millefoglie” and as soon as my wife heard this, (and spotted it on an adjacent table), she ordered it. Complete with Chantilly cream and fresh “fruits of the forest”. I had an equally delicious whisky semifreddo with nuts.

Coffee was as good as you would expect from the home of coffee and the meal was accompanied by an excellent Friuliano from Livio Felluga. Service was exemplary. The entire meal cost €95 which was, (in my humble opinion at least), an absolute bargain. This is the kind of place my wife and I love. Not a place where the food has been made (shudder) “Instagram-able” but where ingredients and craft are the focus. I couldn't give it more than five but if I could - I would. If you're in Trieste and you miss this place, it would be a huge mistake.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JandApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerodiseppiatrieste, Proprietario at Trattoria Nerodiseppia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear JandApe!
We are answering so late at your wonderful review as we really wanted to have a lot of time to answer you in the best way!
Your feedback is so nice that we read many times what you wrote as it has been so exciting for all of us!
First of all we want to thank you as you dedicated us such a detailed review!!! Thank you for using your time: we really appreciate that! We are so happy that you enjoyed all you and your nice wife ordered in our trattoria!
Since the 18th Augsut (date of your review), we sometimes read again all your nice words and that, we assure you, give us every time a lot of positive energy !
We always work hoping that all our efforts to do the best we can is appreciated and a feedback like yours is a huge gift for us!
We really hope that you and your wife will have the opportunity to visit us again!
We thank you warmly and send our very best regards from Trieste,
Giulio & Valentina with all our team: Alice, Fiorenza, Sara, Roberto, Simone, Aslihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We have just had a lovely meal at Trattoria Nerodiseppia. Valentina, her husband and their team run a very friendly, high quality restaurant. We hadn't reserved a table and managed to get the last one on a Saturday night - we were very lucky! Valentina was able to give menus in many languages (German, Spanish, French) and spoke excellent English (luckily better than our Italian!).

After a long day travelling we had been recommended this restaurant but told unlikely to get in without reservation. We stumbled across it and luckily there was a table for us. We were very impressed with the home cooked food and Valentina's local wine recommendations to complement the food. The dessert was delicious!

We tried to book again for Monday but they are closed Sunday and Monday, so make sure you plan ahead and make reservations! We will definitely be back if we return to Trieste.

Molto bueno!! Grazia!

Thank EdwardsOfMordonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerodiseppiatrieste, Proprietario at Trattoria Nerodiseppia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear EdwardsOfMordonia!
thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very happy we had the opportunity to meet you and your wife yesterday evening and that we could make you happy with our food and our service! We try our best make all our Guests happy !
We are sorry we could not accept your request for Monday but we hope you will enjoy your stay in Trieste!
Thank you for your warm words and we really hope to welcoming you again soon!
Ciao!
Valentina & Guilio and our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We had heard from several people how wonderful this restaurant was. It was not our experience. Service awkward and food mediocre. There are many other wonderful restaurants to go to

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerodiseppiatrieste, Proprietario at Trattoria Nerodiseppia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Paul B!
We thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion but a feedback like that could not help anybody to improve and to understand why your experience was disappointing! We have more than 1000 reviews that confirm that the service is excellent and the same about our food! What was wrong? What did you order? We have seen that you appreciated a lot a chinese restaurant..maybe our italian food is not exactly what you were looking for...
However we do hope to have the opportunity to meet you again and let you try other dishes!
Ciao from Giulio, Valentina and all our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

A delightful popular restaurant with lovely welcoming and attentive staff. Delicious food (I had a gorgeous fish and feta salad) and Pinot Grigio. Definitely would recommend on a visit to Trieste!

Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerodiseppiatrieste, Proprietario at Trattoria Nerodiseppia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Monica W,
thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. It makes us really proud to read that your stay at the Nerodiseppia was amazing and you were happy with our staff and food. We really hope to see you again and wish all the best from Trieste,
Giulio & Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

This is a busy restaurant, popular with locals and tourists- and rightly so. It’s compact, and friendly service guides you through a great menu. We tried the selection of raw fish, which was sensational. Pasta is very good, and we had one of our best Frito Mistos. There’s a good selection of wine, focussed on local producers- and staff are knowledgeable guiding you. Here is a place where the whole team seem to care that you have an enjoyable meal. Not surprisingly, booking is essential.

Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerodiseppiatrieste, Proprietario at Trattoria Nerodiseppia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Nick F,

THANK YOU so much for your wonderful feedback and your kind words! It makes us very happy to read that you had a lovely evening at our restaurant and that you enjoyed the atmosphere so much. We all do every day our best to make our guests happy, thank you again for your recommendation!
We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Giulio & Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Nerodiseppia also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Trattoria Nerodiseppia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing