We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday's Best”

La Cucina del Museo
Ranked #111 of 844 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This discreet Modena restaurant provides an Emilia Romagna quality of produce and service. And it opens on Sundays.

The old saying is that 'the best goods often come in small packages' and La Cucina del Museo is proof of that aphorism.

Successful experimentation with ingredients is a staple of the house, but here, this is not for the sake of meddling with a lab experiment. The tastes are a delight.

Trust the maitre'd to guide you, she was brilliant with her suggestions, offerings and selections.

The local wine choice, a blend of Barbera and Bonarda was great, and the Gutturnio we drank was, we think, the first wine to attain the DOC official approval back in 1967.

You don't need to know your foods or wines to eat here, as this sensible and quality restaurant restaurant has done all the work.

In modern language - ENJOY. However, this deserves a more adequate use of language.

This is a delightful restaurant, with an attractive, unhurried, but very attentive approach to true style Italian 'Modenese' dining.
BUON APPETITO.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank talktwojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2018

My husband and I have dined at this restaurant in May 2018. This was the best restaurant we have gone to in the region of Emilia Romagna. The owner Alberto is very nice and a wine connaisseur. The wine list is impressive. The food is fresh and excellent. The ambiance is cosy and pleasant. A must go while in Modena.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Just had the most amazing 4 hour 6 course meal at this beautiful traditional fine dining Modenese restaurant on our honeymoon. It sat max 14 people which was such a nice cosy atmosphere be in.

Our food was accompanied by a bottle of amazing local wine and finished with pickled onions made by his mother in law, 2014 parmigiano and salumi he made himself for under AUD$200.

Amazing owner who explained each course to us and just left us to enjoy but was always around if we needed him.

We're both full but not sick, drunk and very very happy. So lucky to stumble by this restaurant and highly recommend if you're ever in Modena!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Katina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Modena's restaurant scene is relatively quiet despite the existence of one of the top restaurants of the world. La cucina del Museo is perhaps exception because it is very ambitious. The restaurant offers food using local ingredients, good selection of wine without being over the top. For those who want to try something interesting there are 'creative' dishes which at times requires an open mind. The service is attentive in this small restaurant and it was full on a Saturday evening. I would say it is slightly pricey for what you get, but reasonable. Perhaps it will improve if it stays ambitious to do something different from other restaurants.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank weekdaysweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

When I was in the Emilia-Romagna region, I heard I had to come to Modena to try the food. Unfortunately it was a bad time for my friend and I to go to a restaurant because most wouldn't open for another hour or two. We stopped in to La Cucina del Museo and they were so nice and opened the place just for us! The food was so tasty and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone coming to Modena looking for an authentic, affordable and really great meal!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina del Museo also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to La Cucina del Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing