We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed - Not the expected standart of Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We were disappointed - Not the expected standart of Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed 7 nights in the hotel, so we had the ability for deep analyzing of the hotel.
Location is good, near a shopping center.
Car is a must.
2 hours from Firenze and Pisa, 10 minutes from Bologna.
The air condition did not work well and the room was very hot including the corridors. Only the lobby was with good air condition.
Breakfast - the same food was every day (was ok).
In one of the days a large group that stayed in the hotel finished the whole food and we had nothing to eat…
The lazy waiter did not do his job and only after few clients claimed, he brought some food but not everything. Even the tables stayed in a real mess.
The next day there was another big group but this time was a nice waitress (with short hair cut) who was excellent and hard working - She was diligent & perfect - Bravo!
No free Wifi at all – very disappointing.
No self service laundry (with tokens) - very disappointing.
No electric kettle in the room - very disappointing.

This hotel is good for maximum 3 nights stay no more.
A little disappointing if you compare it to other holiday inn hotels around the world.

Room Tip: In summer, ask for a room with good and strong air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomersNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    489
    227
    62
    32
See reviews for
286
204
53
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is clean and very good positioned if you visit the Bologna Fair.
The big minus is the confort that this hotel offered for the price that you pay. No minibar / refrigerator in the room! And you really need because of the weather.
The breakfast is poor and the waiters are not very polite!
I will never return at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your comments. Because of the rules / policy of the Chain, all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the world cannot have in-room minibar. I would like to remind you that vending machines are available 24h in each floor.
I will investigate on breakfast buffet and waiters behaviour, instead. I would like to welcome again at the Holiday Inn Express hoping you can change your opinion regarding the breakfast!
Thanking for your support, I remain

Best regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

This hotel keeps what you expect from Holiday Inn Express. Small but clean room. a shower which was powerful even in the morning when everybody was showering. The fair is still a good distance away, so trade fair bus or own car are still needed.
There is a huge selection of shopping malls incl. Decathlon and a mega-grocery within eye sight.
5 stars (not my usual four) for the excellent bed, and the fun+friendly staff.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eikoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Dear Eikoor,
thank you for your feedback. I will inform my staff immediately about your comment.
This is the best way to motivate everybody to do their job beyond all expectations.
Hoping to welcome again at the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera, I remain

Best regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
309 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Last summer this property was outstanding. Everything worked. It might be working again, but our stay was unlike last year's. First, the ice machine was broken. We were given two small plastic cups of ice, and told the hotel couldn't spare any more. For a property that is accustomed to North Americans, providing ice should be important.

Second, there was a huge tour group at the hotel. This property is used to tour groups, and it is a convention hotel. The breakfast was very busy with the tour group taking up nearly every table. When they left, it would be time for replenishment, but the staff set about cleaning up from the group. At dinner, the server told one of our group, a vegetarian, that the requested plate --a favorite-- had meat. It did not.

Our biggest concern is the apathy towards Priority Club members. There are parking spaces designated for members, but the water on the dresser was to be purchased at 1.20/bottle. They could offer the water, or free internet, or some other token to acknowledge Club membership.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenients that occurred during your last stay at the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera. We will try to improve immediately our service in order to satisfy our guests.
For your information we already ordered a new ice machine for guest's use but it will be delivered only after Sept. 03rd, because summer holidays. I will try to investigate about breakfast and dinner in order to solve waiter's behaviour, instead.
At your disposal for any further information you might require, we remain

Best regards
Alessandro Barlesi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I stayed in this holiday inn express this june 2010. As usual holiday inn express have a standard, which is kept. After reading some reviews I was a bit uncertain on what to find.
What I can say is that it is out of bologna but it has a shopping area just across the road. For me who usually hire a car, these are the best hotels where parking usually is free and you do not have to worry driving in the city. Bologna city is not an easy place to park.
Breakfast in the hotel was very good. Morning coffee was excellent and coffe is grinded instantly. Pastries were very good and even the fresh buns. The only lacking amenty that is usually available in a holiday inn express is the tea/coffee making facility.
I would definetly suggest this holiday inn express, and I don't know why certain people rated it so low.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind comment. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we try to improve our service every day.

Kind regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 103 in Bologna
1,696 reviews
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#35 of 103 in Bologna
1,075 reviews
Navile
Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
Address: Via del Commercio Associato 3, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Bologna
#34 Business Hotel in Bologna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): $67 - $152
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera is an over-standard three-star hotel complex providing services well above those normally associated with its category. 156 bedrooms with large outdoor car park and a location in the centre of the trade-fair area and only a few minutes from the city centre, the Airport, the ring road or the motorway, and the destinations you want to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera Hotel Bologna
Bologna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing