We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome, a hmely apartment close to the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome, a hmely apartment close to the Vatican”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The owners of Domus Ottavia, Marco and Antonella were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The apartment was spacious, beautifully decorated and felt very homely. It had everything you required for your stay. The location was ideal with attractions such as the Vatican only a short walk away and shops and restaurants at your door step. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Domus Ottavia and would certainly recommend it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
32/5000
Thank you for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellov...
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Canada with two teenagers and two adults for a 10 day stay. Most days we ate supper at the apartment and stayed in for the evening after lots of walking during the day. We did not feel cramped and we were very comfortable. The apartment is tastefully decorated with some antiques in addition to more modern furnishings. Marco and Antonella were very welcoming even arranging the transportation to/from the airport for us (after they emailed us all the alternatives).
The location of the apartment was fantastic. Most days we 'romed' - walking around on our own. But there is a bus to the Colosseum (an hour walk) only a few minutes from the apartment (outside St. Peter's) as well as very convenient access to the Metro. Across the road is a scrumptious bakery (Parenti) and a wonderful gelato place (Lemongrass). On the first day at the apartment Antonella and Marco directed us to the neighbourhood supermarkets. Having a washing machine and drying area meant we were able to travel with only one suitcase each. There are a number of pamphlets and maps on attractions available in the kitchen.
We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
We are very happy with what you wrote! This makes us happy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S P
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, modern decor with some antique furnishings, clean, very well equipped apartment”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a great location and apartment for our family of five (three older teenagers / young twenties). The apartment block more than hundred years old) is approached by a secure set of large wooden doors from the street. The beautifully presented apartment is on second floor, with an internal lift (James Bond's Spectre style; classy!) The air conditioning made the apartment a welcome break from the heat of Rome in July. Everything was well finished with helpful equipment and other items. For example, there was some washing up liquid and liquid soap. This would be really useful for someone staying in Rome for a few days without having to carry / buy whole containers full of each of these items. There was a washing machine and ingenious drying area. These were typical of the thoughtfulness of the owners.
The apartment was clean, attractive and recently decorated. The space well utilised, to provide two shower rooms, with effective showers, two good sized bedrooms. One of our family, who is 6 foot 5 inches, slept on the bed settee, which was well designed. He described it as the best bed he had slept on.
There were shutters to each room, so although located on a high street, with a range of Italian shops, the noise did not carry to the apartment and the rooms were pleasantly cool and dark at night. Leaning out of the windows, it was possible to see the Vatican. St Peter's Square was five minutes' walk away. It was around 30 minutes' walk into the centre of Rome. Alternatively, the Metro station was at the other end of via Ottaviano.
On arrival we were met by the owners, who showed us how the appliances worked and helped us locate the local supermarkets and different areas of Rome.
Altogether this apartment made for a very pleasant stay in Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, air-conditioning, quality of apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
We are happy to read your nice review. We thank you for choosing our house to spend your vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing