We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Cieli di Roma”
Review of I Cieli di Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
I Cieli di Roma
Ranked #982 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I believe I am the only non-Italian member, and have been since 2008, spending one week per year there for the first five, then two, April and October. It is run by a family on a modest scale. The journey by public transport to the centre of Rome takes about an hour in total, and the commute gives a feeling of going local. The quiet and fresh air of the suburb after the congestion of the City is always welcome, and you are surrounded by a local community, people walking their dogs and push chairs, which gets you away from being surrounded by fellow tourists. I have one of the large apartments (trilocale), which is spacious. I much prefer the framed posters on the walls to the meretricious "art" in other timeshares I've used. The balcony has a view extending to the Alban hills on the horizon, and to improvise a meal and spend an evening to the background sound of crickets can make a relaxing end to a day of sightseeing. The beds are comfortable but the furnishings are generally basic, but you don't go to Rome to sit in a flat and it's perfectly adequate mainly for sleeping. It has never been other than spotlessly clean on arrival and we try to leave it fairly presentable when we leave. The local supermarket is a great asset, good fruit and veg, cheese counter, bakery, good fish counter, etc. The location has the considerable advantage of being mid-way between the city and the sea: you can be at the excavations at Ostia Antica or the sea at the Lido in about 45 mins by public transport. It's also useful being on the right side of the city for the two international airports. So overall I am more favourable than some of the reviews already posted, but I guess it depends what you're looking for.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2015

This is not a 'resort'. There are no facilities. The accomodation is very poor quality. The fixtures and fittings are inadequate and not cleaned properly. Staff are not helpful. No proper welcome or information for guests. We were allocated 'studio' 19a. As another reviewer explains it is comparable to very cheap and nasty hostel accomodation. We have submitted a serious complaint to our booking contact together with an album of photographs of all the issues.
We checked out and found a proper hotel in Frascati - the Villa Mercede - Fantastic!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrednGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We have just returned from a holiday in Europe during October 2012, spending a week in Rome at the Cieli de Roma. What a difference of opinion of the same venue. While not in the centre of Rome, we found being on the outskirts in an apartment (timeshare) wonderful. I would much rather be gazing at the green fields and holiday chalets (across the road from our timeshare) and breathing fresh air than at concrete building and having the constant fuel smell from all the traffic which you find in centre city.

We visited Italy to get the feel of the Italian way of life which is exactly what you experience travelling the bus, train, tube, metro to and fro. Already on the first day we were helped at the bus stop by one of the local ladies on how and what to do with regard to the bus and train service. We then started each morning off with a wild bus ride to the station (debate on road rules in Italy still out). There is a train every 10-15 minutes with one change to the metro, all in all about 35 min from the station into Rome. If you have a car plenty of parking available and then not more than 20 min from town.

There is a super chain store called Al Mercato about a two minutes walk from the resort with a variety of food and drink that you will be hard pressed for choice. There is a pizza place and three local trattoria's within about 3-4 minutes walk. The one we frequented (Antichi Sapori, a family run trattori) was especially friendly and went out of their way to treat us with real Italian cuisine and local wine. Best Italian food we had while in Italy.

The timeshare itself was spacious, clean, well kept and I must admit after reading the reviews on Cieli de Roma, I was expecting a real dump but could not find a thing wrong. There is a computer available to use in the foyer at the office 24/7 and a coffee machine, minerals, chips and sweet dispenser there as well. The staff were friendly and we communicated in a mixture of broken Italian and English, but we all understood each other so what's the problem, we are after all in Italy. Simone who is in charge was very accommodating and helpful.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cieli di Roma and would definitely make use of it again if the opportunity arises to visit the beautiful city of Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We recently returned from a one-week exchange at RCI’s I Ciele di Roma, which is advertised as Rome, Italy’s only timeshare. While that technically might be correct, we don’t consider being more than 15 miles outside central Rome as “in Rome.” To reach central Rome from I Ceili di Roma is over a one-hour bus, commuter train and metro ride. Or you can opt for a 60 € (about $75.00) taxi ride. The place is in the suburbs not far from the airport. The view from our balcony was a field of grazing sheep! There is much to be said about I Ceili di Roma, and none of it is good. In fact, after only two days, we were cynically referring to it as I Dumpa di Roma. The place is comparable to a 1960s East Berlin youth hostel. Here is what you should know about I Ceili di Roma.
• Staff attitudes toward guests are a real problem. The “manager,” was somewhat genial and did try to answer questions, although a lot the information he gave was inaccurate. The “receptionist,” was another matter. She was unfriendly and unwilling to help. In our 7 days, she never once cracked a smile nor offered a simple greeting. Her vocabulary consists of: “I don’t know. I don’t understand. We don’t do that.” Once we requested additional toilet paper when running low. She informed us that the cleaning person who could provide it would be there the next morning. It then took two more requests before we got any! She's not exactly a goodwill ambassador.
• The “resort” (using the term very loosely) has a mandatory, non-fundable “Club Card” that costs 90€. It allegedly covers utility usage, use of a pool, the Internet, and some other nonsense and nonexistent guest benefits. In fact, we never were given any sort of “card” and never would have needed it. That’s what in America we call extortion. We are convinced they simply pocket at least 70 € out each mandatory Club Card. What a racket!
• The “taxi transfers” they arrange are a complete rip-off. We booked an early morning ride to the Vatican to ensure we would be there for an exclusive tour. When we showed up in the lobby we were met by the general manager, who drove us in his personal car. The fee for this “taxi’, maybe a 20-minute ride was 65€! What a deal! Of course, when we booked another taxi transfer, this time to the Fumicino airport, we got a 15-minute, 6-mile ride for the bargain rate of only 45€.
• There isn't any sort of "welcome Package" or information sheet with details about the resort. In fact, even though we "bought" the "club Card," we never did learn where the pool was.
• The Reception/Lobby is closed daily from 1:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. The hours posted are from 8:30 a.m. To 8:00 p.m. The staff, however, locked up and left on several nights by 6:00 p.m. Also, the place is not open at all on Sunday. Great when you check in after 5 p.m. on Saturday and might find that the cleaning service didn’t leave towels or toilet paper. The facility did not provide any emergency contact numbers or information for guests. The people at I Ceili di Roma are in desperate need of training in basic hotel and tourism operations.
• Appliances — old and barely functional. We couldn’t make ice cubes even after the tray was in the freezer compartment for 24 hours. And no stores sell any type of bagged ice.
• Charges and more charges — If you want clean sheets or towels mid-week, there’s a 30 € charge.
• Trash – It is the responsibility of the guests. You have to carry trash bags (NOT furnished by the “resort”) down to and across the street, through a parking lot and deposit in a municipal dumpster.
• Cleanliness of the condo – Filthy floors and an uncleaned toilet; old, threadbare bed linens and old stained towels.
• Furnishings – Rusting and dirty old table and chairs without cushions on the balcony offered no comfort. Interior furniture can best be described as 1940s mountain cabin style. NO lounge chairs of any sort. There was only one TV in the “living room” and out of 86 available channels, not one English language station.
• The bathroom shower – in a word, WOW! The shower head was literally coming out of the wall. One of us got hit in the face from a falling piece of plaster when trying to adjust the spray angle. That’s simply unsafe and dangerous.
• The $100 Refundable Damage Deposit – Cash was demanded since the place does not accept credit cards. Everything had to be cash up front with them. Talk about absurd! It’s 2012 not 700 BC. Unbelievable!!
• On checkout day, or in our case the night before since we were leaving before Reception opened, we were ordered by the receptionist to takeout all trash, wash and put away all dishes and pile all towels in the bathroom. When we asked why the housekeepers wouldn’t do that when they prepared for the next guests, the response was,“They don’t do that.”
The bottom line on I Ceili di Roma . . . AVOID IT!!! Spend a few bucks for a hotel near the center of Rome and don't waste your vacation time "commuting."

Room Tip: There is no restaurant. Three local trattorias are about 1/2 mile walk. Their quality is average at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This will NOT be a location where you would like to stay if you are wanting to really be SOMEWHERE close to the center of town. The night life is far away and all the shopping/small store close early. It does take the Metro, train and a bus to get to this location. As you get close to it, no one really knows how to get there. It is a farily new location and the locals are not aware of it. If you rent a car, it will be very, very difficult to drive in town, let alone find parking. The condo its self is very nice and clean with a very small tv.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Southercal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,029 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#469 of 1,273 in Rome
301 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,273 in Rome
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#229 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#73 of 1,273 in Rome
1,456 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Cieli di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Cieli di Roma

Address: Via Francesca Bertini 8, 00125 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Hotel Class:3 star — I Cieli di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Cieli di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Cieli Di Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing