We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MDM Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
USD 357*
USD 332*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 439*
USD 407*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
USD 356*
USD 303*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 249*
USD 185*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 227*
USD 193*
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 245*
USD 202*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
USD 205*
USD 167*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)
USD 227*
USD 178*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 399*
USD 271*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 968*
USD 485*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
122
95
39
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
95
39
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitejacuzzi bathvatican citymini barevery morningcroissantsknock on the doorrooms are small but cleanminute walk to stold fashioned liftpantheon and trevi fountainpeter's squarebeautiful citystandard roomclose proximityguest houseresidential building
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

MDM Luxury Rooms are in the perfect location. Less than 2 mins walk from the Ottaviano Metro and 5-10 mins walk to the Vatican. The old fashioned lift is brilliant and adds to the character of the place. Both staff we met, a gentleman and a lady, were both very nice and on hand to help with anything we needed. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite, the jacuzzi bath was huge and a massive god send after the endless miles we walked each day, the bed was also huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and the cheekiness of the shower being on full display facing the bed was very amusing. The room was a great size, not small at all, although it had a hanging rail for your clothes, a chest of drawers would of been handy as we had to keep a lot of our stuff in our case. This wasn’t a massive issue though. Although located on a busy road, it was very quiet at night and even in the morning when the market stall opened, it never woke us up, the outside shutters on the windows blocked out the early morning sunlight which was great. The building was very easy to find, a plaque on wall was very easy to see, we used google maps from the metro and it was spot on. Breakfast was a very simple choice, which you filled in on a card each evening and left in reception, but it arrived to our room at the exact time we selected it for, the chocolate Croissants were lovely. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We didn’t really see any of the other rooms but the Honeymoon Suite was lovely. Rome was amazing and a beautiful city, we felt like we couldn’t of picked a more perfect place to stay. The best bar we found with great staff was the Ris Bar, this was located along the Main Street at the end of the road just before you cross the main road towards the Vatican City. We also had a fantastic meal at Dal Toscano, this was located on the next street from the guest house on the right heading towards the Vatican City. We could easily walk to the pantheon and Trevi Fountain within half hour from the guest house. We even stumbled across the Colosseum by accident on our first day just from walking around. I would suggest buying a omnia and Roman pass...this saved us a lot of money on visiting the sites and fast tracked us in the colosseum and Vatican etc, also included 72hrs on all public transport and the hop on and hop off bus, we made good use of this when we headed out of main Rome to the catacombs of callixtus...definitely worth a visit! Every where is walkable from Mdm luxury rooms, including all the main things to see in Rome. Overall we can honestly say this was our best city break ever! Thank you MDM Luxury Rooms for making our stay perfect in the gorgeous Honeymoon Suite!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annissa_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela2806, Direttore at MDM Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Simply thank you! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in September 2017. We were visiting Rome for three nights, one of which was my Birthday!

On the first night I believe the hotel was full so was upgraded for the first night to the master suite, we then moved to the other room we booked (the standard i believe) so we experienced both room types.

The superior room really was amazing. Its big and luxurious. We also noticed that you get to enjoy the minibar for free on the first night - we didn't as we weren't sure it was included in the upgrade. But you could if you book it! The bathroom was enormous with a his and hers sink. Only problem was no safe (that i could see which may have been hiding elsewhere).

The standard room was just as nice, only smaller and no free minibar (of course). The room was of the same quality but a different style. The superior was marble and gold taps, whereas the standard was contemporary black and white tiles with a jacuzzi bath shower. For my taste i preferred the contemporary standard room but the superior was opulent and regal.

The hotel is quirky, its basically split in two halves with rooms on each side, and a small reception which is formed in what seems like a high class residential block - but don't let that scare you. Its basically a hotel as you don't see any of the other rooms in any hotel right?

The only downside is that its not manned after 10pm so if you're arriving late you will have trouble getting in. I believe you can email and organise this for a fee?

This for us wasn't a problem as you get a key which gets you into the building, and a phone number for emergencies and usually i don't need anyone for anything in a hotel after 10 anyway! I know this is a sore spot for some people but for us it was fine.

My only issue with the hotel is the breakfasts. The hotel doesn't have a room for eating as its basically a series of rooms in a residential building, so the night before you select what you want from a menu and the time you want it. This then gets delivered in the morning - so far okay. I enjoyed having it delivered and actually preferred it to going to a breakfast room. My only issue is the selection. We stayed for three nights and the only options were cornflakes, a donut, a yoghurt, and a few types of croissants. This doesn't seem like an issue but i found myself wanting maybe a different cereal or sole fruit.

I tried asking for it one day and they ignored it so I ended up with just a yoghurt! My fault for being cheeky I guess. That was my only issue - the staff are excellent and friendly, the hotel is in a fantastic location (5 minutes from the Vatican - literally straight down one road), and its a really nice place!

Positives:

+ Good location
+ Plenty of places to eat nearby
+ High quality and comfortable rooms
+Friendly Staff
+ Minibar, TV, there was a safe in the standard room!
+ Nice breakfast service idea
+ Fantastic price for Rome (almost half the price of similar quality hotels in the area)

Negatives:

- Small choice at breakfast is my only issue!

Overall a lovely hotel in a great location. Id definitely stay again and suggest to friends!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela2806, Manager at MDM Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for you review!

We've aprreciated you enjoyned your stay in Rome

I hope we'll welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel clean rooms and bedding staff very polite and very welcoming would definitely stay here again. Right in the centre of Rome near the Vatican a beautiful city with so much too explore. Husband surprised me for my 40th birthday best present ever

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnelRoma, Manager at MDM Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review from all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The stay at mdm was great we arrived and had a warm welcome additionally we had a issue with the room and we were allowed to move without any hesitation. All staff were helpful with directions and breakfast was simple and nice. The only thing I would suggest to management is to get mini milk cartons for the room as the fresh milk was not nice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Reena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Absolutely gorgeous hotel! Easy to find with the Vatican at the end of the street. Friendly hotel staff, nothing is a problem for them! Breakfast is beautiful too, on one night we forgot to fill out the breakfast sheet before 10pm - when reception closes, so we slipped it under the door on the off chance they'd be able to do it for us the next morning and they did! Hotel room was absolutely beautiful, so clean and tidy. The shower was excellent, some of the water went on the floor when you showered but it wasn't a problem. The wardrobe door didn't close fully and was very squeaky but again it wasn't s problem, it closed enough to not be in the way. Definitely satisfied with our stay and if we go back to Rome we will definitely be staying here again!!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews