We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do a tour with Icon”
Review of Icon Tours

Icon Tours
Ranked #386 of 958 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: SMALL GROUP & PRIVATE TOURS LED BY LIVELY EXPERTS Our original tours are led by scholars and authorized guides with academic qualifications and permission to skip lines at museums and monuments. A DIFFERENT KIND OF TOUR EXPERIENCE Perfect for travelers who don’t like standard, boring tours. Spending time with an icon guide is like visiting with a friend who is excited to share insider secrets and history. What makes our tours unforgettable We are a network of over 30 carefully selected scholars, professors, researchers, authors and licensed guides specializing in the study of art history, archeology, architecture, literature and other subjects. Many of the scholars who lead our original tours hold MA, or Ph.D. degrees, and are known for their vibrant and enthusiastic presentations, bringing each location into historic and relevant detail with personality. Our guides provide accurate information, dispelling legends and myths recited by countless guides, and answering questions with a depth of knowledge that only comes from scholars with academic qualifications. We are able to customize private tours to met the specific interests of our guests. Today we are recognized by travel writers, travel agents, and online travel sites for having some of the “Best Tour Guides in the World”.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had such an amazing experience with our tour guide Daniella from Icon tours. We did 3 different private tours in Rome and loved all of them. She gave us just the right amount of information and was never overwhelming. We skipped all the crazy line ups as well. I highly recommend this.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Cristina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trip to rome"
in 6 reviews
"peter's basilica"
in 3 reviews
"ancient rome"
in 6 reviews
"vatican tour"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 3 reviews
"daniela"
in 11 reviews
"stories"
in 5 reviews
"knowledge"
in 8 reviews
"guide"
in 18 reviews
"company"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016

We had a 3 hour private tour with Daniela who guided us through the Ghetto and Trastevere in May. She was delightful and knowledgeable, pointing out many aspects of geography, architecture and culture that we could not have appreciated just using a guide book. The tour also helped orientate us in central Rome which was invaluable in planning the rest of our stay, including useful tips for restaurants and coffee bars and so on. The tour was quite expensive but well worth the cost.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Lampedusa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Daniela took my wife and I on two private tours of Rome. One, of the Vatican, Vatican museums and St. Peter's. The other of key sights in ancient Rome, including the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Colliseum and the Roman Forum.

Daniela is so good at what she does. She brought the ancient city and Vatican alive for us. She is very warm and engaging and absolutely full of knowledge about the city. She made our stay in the eternal city a memorable one.

We will ask for her again on future visits to the city.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank cwmulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We took the private Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel/St. Peter's Basilica and Ancient Rome/Colosseum Tours on 2 separate days with Daniella from Icon Tours. We learned so much and had such a good time with her. She is an expert on art, history, artists and Roman culture. She's well spoken and knowledgeable, but keeps things interesting, which is key in a city filled with so much history and art. She's also very talented at weaving through the tourist traffic in the Vatican Museum and Colosseum, making the best use of our time and saving us from claustrophobia. Our trip would not have been the same without Danellia. I highly recommend a private Icon Tour for anyone who goes to Rome. You won't regret spending the money. Our Icon Tours were the best we had on our three week trip.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank KaikouraAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Best tour from our 23 day Europe trip! My wife and I plus our three tween/teen boys were thrilled with the tour. And we can't say enough great things about our guide Dannie! She was fantastic and made the day loads of fun for the entire family. She was well prepared, had great visual aids, and she knew how to keep us on track and moving efficiently through the hoards of tourists. And, of course, she is a great student of Rome and infused the tour with knowledge, passion, and keen insight. I would highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Icon Tours also viewed

 

Been to Icon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing