We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Like staying at an uncle's home...Ideal stay on a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anfore a Testaccio

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
David H
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like staying at an uncle's home...Ideal stay on a park in a quiet neighborhood.”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Quiet neighborhood. Full apartment feels like an uncle just left us to his place while he is out of town. This uncle is a crafty builder and built character and functionality into this renovated apartment. Lots of homey and "Rome-y" accents highlighted our visit, leaving our large family secure and comfortable amid the hustle and bustle of downtown. We drove two cars, and found cost-free parking outside on the street; but one need not drive, as everything is a walk away - including the metro and buses two blocks distant. Our youngest is seven, and he handled street-hikes to Trevi, Piazza Navona, The Vatican, and The Spanish Steps. We may or may not be the type who would bribe such a child with gelato, and the best shop in Rome is just down one flight of stairs or the nice and clean lift. The Jewish Quarter, Circus Maximus, The Colosseum, Pala tine and Capitoline Hills are all just about on the doorstep. Special historical bonus - there is a placque on the entry wall memorializing tenants of the building who were "deported" by the Nazis in WWII. The owner still owes us a story about many, many more - some say a great majority - who were protected by neighborhood residents. While I agree, it could use a large pot for cooking at "home", but all-in-all, this is a great place for a large family! Grazie per lei buona cassa!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal S
1 review
“Great location for city sightseeing”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The apartment is well located for city trips. Bus stop is stone throw and than about 10-15 minutes ride to most known places. The flat is spacious and also worthily equipped and designed in unusual way. Even for our group of 11 adults - never felt to tight. Sleeping rooms, bathrooms, common space - all in good standard. Daniela was helpful in arranging family celebrations. Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
“Great place for families”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a group of seven which included three young children and a teenager. The house was well set up for our group with a comfy living area and all necessary amenities.
The owners were extremely friendly and had lots of tips to make our holiday better. The apartment overlooks a piazza with a well utilised playground. It is directly over the best gelati shop in Rome and directly opposite the best pizza shop. There is a supermarket and a real market nearby. The location is out of the main tourist area so you can get a nice taste of life as a local but you are still within easy reach of metro trains and buses and can even walk to the Colosseum (30-40 min. ambling with little kids)
The apartment is eclectically decorated and well set up.
Our only negatives were the water pressure which was best described as "adequate" and the fact that only two of the bedrooms were unlocked for us.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would return on our next trip and definitely recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quirky nature of the apartment
Liked least: The water pressure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brendan85...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very odd place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

we were given a room withe two single beds that were set up off the floor on a platform if we had not been quite as fit as we were we would never have got in the the beds. the room was very odd with a shower room and toilet and sink that all looked as though an amature diy man had done all the work. luckly the apartment was empty while we were there as i could not imagine staying there when other people were also renting one of the other rooms. the place was a mis match of rooms all on different levels and with light switches plugs and odd cupboards all over the place.
the area was ok but the apartment is just wrong and for the price we paid we also stayed in a very good 3 star hotel and got breakfast thown in. untill we got there i did not realise it was some families apartment who seemed to have moved out so we could stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
"A very odd review"

Dear guest ,
we have been very surprised and mortified of your bad rewiew .
We are sorry for your waiting of 30 min in the street at your arrival , but we have to underline that the reason of that (in a time out of normal time for check-in) had been not for our fault : you haven't ring the bell on the main door of the street ...so we cannot know that you were out and we had no any phone call or message from you .

In your rewiew there are many uncorrect and false claims .

1) Key pickup/acces to the proprety 2/5? Why this evaluation ? Have you had some problem about keys or lift able for handycap people too? We had no comunication of it from you ;

2) Quality of bedding/mattresses 2/5? Why this evaluation? Have you had some problem on that ? We had no comunication from you about it and the room with the beds is clearly visible in the photos published ;

3) Cleanliness of bathroom 2/5? Why this evaluation ? We had no comunication from you about it during your staying and we check personally the cleaning and their quality ; and we think that if you had some problem with that , immediately you would contacted us and your rewiew would be about it , underlining that , but nothing you have written of it ;

4) Overall contition 2/5 ?Why this evaluation ? All the apartment and the services are in perfect conditions and full equipped ; your personal taste about the style of the apartment is no matter of that ; You can see the photos and decide if you like or no the style of the apartment before the booking;

5) Kitchen/utensils quality 2/5 ?Why this evaluation? Our Kitchen is full and well equipped for maximum 12 people ; there are gas cooker with 6 fires , howen , microhowen, dishmachine ,washmachine, fridge , freezer, duoble sink , toaster, kattle, coffee machine, many cupboard for plates (3 different styles for a total of 108 pieces ) , glasses (3 different style for a total of 42 pieces) , cups (5 different styles os those for a total of 72 pieces) , many pots in steel and ceramic ...and many and many other things ; what is lack? why you hadn't comunicated that to us?

6) Quality of facilities/amenities ? Why this evaluation ? We give to our guests free wi-fi , televisions , Cd reader etc. And also we gave you linen , blanquets , and final cleaning for free . What lacks more? Why you haven't told us? We are h 24 at disposition of our guests ;

7)the big number of plugs and lights and cupboards is no a problem , but is a value for one apartment ...

We are very sorry and mortified for your bad evaluation , because our will is to give a familiar and warm atmosphere to our guests , to give them the feeling that they stay "at home" ; many our guest give many thanks to us for that , so we are very surprise of your hard evaluation without any comunication during your staying.
Our apartment on two levels (very precious in the center of Rome) is the result of a fine architectural design with many ancient and precious furnishings , so we can't understand your comments about ; you had all the possibility to see it in the photos published befor to book ; probabily you had no see those and you have booked thinking an other style of apartment ...so we can understand your disappoint .
Hoping to have you an other time as our guest to have the possibility of clearify the doubts and to stay well in Anfore a Testaccio .
Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Real Italian Experience”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay here. This apartment is in a real Italian neighborhood, with a real community feel. You know, the one where everyone knows each other by name and is current on the latest about their kids/grand kids and family. It's a really nice environment.
Kids are out on the playground-in the middle of the square, across the street from the apartment-people are walking their dogs and visiting with neighbors. The locals were kind and welcoming-and tried to help us with the little Italian we spoke.

Testaccio Cafe-to the right if you're facing the church-has amazing white-chocolate croissants. And thanks to Simon, we found Remo's pizza right across the street on our first night in the neighborhood.

The apartment:
The double room with a bathroom was a good choice for us. It's nice, clean and big, which gave us plenty of room to spread out. The bed was comfortable and the room was tastefully decorated with a desk and dresser.

I loved the shower. It's a super-cool, old-world Italian design made with brick and using a lion's head as the faucet. A hair dryer and adapter was on hand-definitely a plus.

The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed, which made cooking in a few nights easy and convenient. There is a grocery store 1 minute walk away around the corner.

The hosts were kind and gave great advice about the area. They made themselves readily available if we needed help.

From the apartment, it's about a 1 mile walk to the Colusseum and 3.5 miles to the Basilica. You just walk up the street, turn right and follow the river most of the way. Any excuse to work off a few of the carbs!!! The metro station is about 1 mile away.

If the legend surrounding the Fountain of Trevi is right, I will be returning to Rome. When I do, I will definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
Dear Mark , thanks so much for your kind and beautiful rewiew .
We have been very happy to meet you and to have you in our home and when you'll decide to come back again you will be so much welcome in Anfore a Testaccio ...we'll go togheter to Remo to eat a pizza in table on the Piazza. Warm regards . Andrea and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing