We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a good Vatican location”
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #900 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 June 2008

I booked this hotel through an agency that uses it a lot. We were two parties, one of two people, one of two adults and a child.

The hotel has no on site parking-which is normal for Rome. I expected to be sent to a garage, but since we arrived on a Sunday, all of the local garages were closed for most of the day. I eventually found a place on the street nearby and spent two days worrying about it. But it turned out to be fine.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and several places to buy tickets are nearby. But none are open on Sunday either.

The triple room was large enough for the three of us with luggage, but the double was pretty tight. The rooms were clean and the plumbing was better than at other hotels I have stayed at in Rome.

Breakfast was subpar for this price, but was not bad. The nearby restaurant was expensive and not very good. But others sitting there seemed to enjoy it so maybe that was just us. We ate there once and went elsewhere after that and enjoyed that far more.

The air conditioning worked great and the rooms were quite. It is a 15 minute walk to the Vatican from here and you can catch a cab from the main street, but no cab in town had ever heard of this hotel so coming back from downtown was a problem every time we tried it. Get an address and mark it on the map before you leave the hotel, or have them drop you off at the Vatican and walk.

The hotel would only accept payment in cash. There is an ATM around the corner, but we had limits on how much we could take out a day and this was a problem. Good thing we brought extra cash for emergencies.

Rome is expensive. I know that and don't have high expectations of any hotel inside the city. For 160 Euros for a triple, we got straight up average rooms and average meals. I have no complaints and would not talk anyone out of going here, but neither would I be quick to send anyone here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 80 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Tulsa, OK
18
Reviewed 2 July 2006

I stayed with a group on a pilgramage to Rome and this hotel was great! Very close to to the Vatican, within walking distance. Close to restaraunts and shopping. ATM machine right around the corner. The service was excellent, I had a medical emergency and they got me to the right place and were very kind and concerned. Each person I encountered working there was very friendly, spoke enough English that we could communicate and went beyond the normal service of a hotel to make sure that our every need was met. Rooms were clean and water pressure was excellent, always enough hot water. Always felt safe, even when walking by myself. I would definitely recommend staying here and say that the service here was far greater than any 5 star hotel that I have ever stayed in. If you are looking for something close to the Vatican this is a great place to stay.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Skogsnissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gigir6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#654 of 1,271 in Rome
173 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#115 of 1,271 in Rome
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gravina San Pietro
#444 of 1,271 in Rome
477 reviews
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#634 of 1,271 in Rome
532 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#127 of 1,271 in Rome
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Cardinal Cassetta 9, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #900 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $80 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing