We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will never come back to that place - such places should be closed!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overseas Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Overseas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3,312 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will never come back to that place - such places should be closed!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I knew I couldn't expect much. I booked the rooms for my friends and family 7 months before our arrival!!! just to be sure that we will be in the same hostel, in the same building.
one day before our arrival I called the lady to inform that one person would not arrive because of the health problems - as it was written in the agreement I was supposed to be charged one night for the person - not more. The reality appeared to be different. The hostel is in the Chinese quartier with Nigerian shops. Plenty of drug dealers, but not harmfull. If you are not afraid of ghetto places - you can easily sleep there
Well... we arrived in the morning, and the rooms were not ready - which is ok - the hotel day starts at 2pm, unpleasant thing was that they separated our small group and put its members to different apartments in difrent houses - and asked us to change the rooms every two night!!
The rooms were very small but clean, airconditioning very old and dirty so we did not use it, television is fake, old destroyed furniture, nice personnel at the reception desk.
Breakfast - poor - the cheapest cornetto, artificial juice and instant coffee.
After the first night they asked us to pay for all the nights - and charged us extra money for the room changes - sayng that they were better than we ordered!!!
When I said I was not going to pay any extra money for the changes that were not my fault they started to be rude, impolite and agressive. I was there with my family and friends - didn't want to couse any problems - especially that we were going to spend there 4 more nights. If I had been alone or only with my husband - for sure I would have changed the hostel!
I work as a tourguide, travel all around Europe - such situation has never happened to me. I do not know if it is the question of cultural difference or just character. Stay away from Overseas! Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divinacommedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    19
    32
    36
    90
See reviews for
30
53
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Arriving at the hostel
The "hostel" is operated by Chinese people and consists of a set of apartments situated across the quarter besides the Termini train station, which is one of the dirtiest and most uncomfortable parts of Rome. If you arrive at night, the reception (in one of the apartments) is really hard to find. Only a small, easy-to-oversee plate on the wall and the name besides the bell button point at it, and all maps on the homepage show wrong locations. Arriving during the day, just look for a crowd of people looking like just having arrived from Africa.

The beds
We stayed four days at the hostel and had to move to another apartment (a few streets away) after the first two nights. The first room (406) was about 8-9 sqm and without any window. When we complained about this we were pointed at the fact that we had an air condition and a second room (405) with a free upgrade to a private bathroom (where the flush did not work and a pump sounding like a hoover was working from 06:30 in the morning). The second apartment we moved to was a bit better (it also had a kitchen). The two rooms were ok (002, 003). In 003, there was an air condition but no remote control (costs extra - but just have a look for a small hole on the machine). Each of the rooms had two single and one double bed. In 002, the double bed was a mattress on the floor, but ok. In 003, the double bed was really hard and not usable.

The breakfast
Each morning, a chinese service person comes to your apartment and prepares a tray with your "breakfast" (a caffeine-free coffee substitute without milk, artificial fruit nectar and a croissant and cake, both in a plastic packing - the estimated value is below 1€). You can order the breakfast between 08:00 and 10:00 but it has no effect on the actual time when you will get it (it was always around 8:40). NB, the cappuccino around the corner costs 1,50€ and is really good.

The service
Although you will need to give a credit card number when booking, you will have to pay the bill by cash on arrival (!). Since the hostel is distributed over different apartments in different houses the "reception" is always a few minutes walk away. Most of the time there is no english speaking staff at the reception desk, but they will hand you a mobile phone with a english-speaking person on the line. WLAN is only available at the reception and not in the rooms.

Overall, the web page raises wrong expectations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonnemerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

If you wish to stay in a hotel that makes you feel afraid for your life, physical ill and generally disgusted; do stay here, if not; do not even consider staying here. We booked for 2 nights and left after one, it was the worst experience i have ever endured at a "hotel". This place is appauling. We pulled up to a building covered in graffiti, with a gang of of men congregating around the doorway, we felt very intimidated being 2 young female travelers. We entered the building and it looked like a drug den, doors seemed to have been kicked in... The room we were given had a pungent smell, we found that it was a gone off pot of riccotta stored in a bathroom cupboard which seemed to be growing something funky on it. We barely slept because everytime anyone in the building used the tap or toilet a loud rattling noise shock the room. Seriously i wouldn't wish this accomodation on my worst enemy. For your own good, never ever put yourself through the horror of staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeseandpickle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Our stay there was really disappointing. We didn't expect much, but it was worth that anyone can imagine.
The place is VERY dirty, disgusting, and not similar to the pictures in the website.
There was not toilet paper, and no reception to go claim for it in the building.
The are is convenient only because is close to the terminal, but dangerous and not nice.
The staff is a disaster, the don't speak English, only one a little bit and she understands what she wants.
It doesn't worth the money they ask for it.
I WOULD NOT recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

a single member of staff speaks english, chinese lady looking after our booking didn't speak either english or italian - was fun! room booked with tv, minibar, wifi - it's called false advertising as nothing of the sort was available. the room itself was very basic but clean. overall it's incredibly low value for money, however, the neighbourhood is not as bad as some described. it's all immigrants, some bums and winos at the train station, but nothing extraordinary considering how big rome is.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el_hungaro_ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Next Stop Roma Porta Maggiore
#2,851 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Esquilino
Friend House
Friend House
#1,705 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Monti
Laterano Guest House
Laterano Guest House
#2,105 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Residenza Giustiniani
Residenza Giustiniani
#2,749 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Esquilino
Ariana B&B
Ariana B&B
#2,420 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#265 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overseas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overseas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Overseas Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 199, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,312 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): $47 - $103
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Overseas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overseas b&b
Overseas Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing