We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aenea Superior Inn
Ranked #111 of 3,741 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

While I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again, it was an interesting experience. There is only a small sign out front so be sure to have a good map. Upon arrival, you must buzz reception to be let inside. If no one answers, as was the case with us since we arrived earlier than expected, you can call the phone number they provide in your confirmation email. Not sure what you would do if you didn't have a cell phone handy. The hotel shares a common hall and stairs with other apartments in the building. This area is a bit rundown but I guess that is out of their control.

They were very helpful checking us in...spent time marking all the important sites on the map and answered any questions we had. We had requested a room with a view and were happy to find that the room we were given had a private patio with a little table and chairs. After we unpacked we walked to the Colosseum and returned a few hours later. When we got back we were told that there had been a mix-up and they had put us in the wrong room. While we were out they had moved all of our belongings to a much smaller room - no patio or view. They had even opened the safe and removed everything we had "locked up" and transferred it to the other room. We were then asked to get out our credit card again since for some reason they charge more for this room even though it was much smaller, didn't have any sort of view or balcony, and had the smallest shower I had ever seen. We were not pleased to say the least.

The good points about this place are that the rooms are clean and the location is quite good. We walked there from the train station and could walk to all the major sites (Colosseum - 7 minutes, Forum - about 12 minutes, Trevi Fountain - 30+ minutes).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AENEAINN, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Aenea Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for taking time to review our place.

The receptionist made a mistake between two different reservations: we excused for that confusion and I excuse again now,.
you booked a double standard for 4 nights not a double room with terrace for 3 nights.
the double room with terrace was not available because already booked by other clients.
Secondly, you did not pay more: you paid exactly what was agreed.
At the beginning you paid just for 3 nights, but when we saw the mistake we asked for the integration.
You know exactly the amount you should pay from the beginning, so I really do not understand your words.

I have to underline we have been totally correct in this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

It was so nice to stay at The Aenea in Rome. The experience of having a room that has windows opening up to a garden near a church court yard, hearing birds singing and feeling the fresh air while eating our morning breakfast delivery, and drinking espresso from our in room espresso maker was so enriching. I loved our room it was big. The bathroom was nice. The hotel staff were very helpful, and gave us a good tour map. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who I know who wants to stay at a great place near the Colosseum!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AENEAINN, Guest Relations Manager at Aenea Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to review our place and for your nice words. We do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We booked this property as we'd read good reviews on the internet. They were friendly, efficient and happy to help. The Inn was ocated centrally, around 15-20 mins from the Colesseum. We had a fabulous time and enjoyed the facilties they offered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AENEAINN, Guest Relations Manager at Aenea Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your nice words. We are very glad you appreciated our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

What a nice experience1 We hadn't heard about the Arena, we choose it for convenience, near to the train station where we had to be early in the morning. But once we got there, wow! Everything was perfect, fro the welcoming, to the amenities, the breakfast with expresso, miam!, and the internet, the location near a grocery store where to buy amazing food and wine, etc.

A place to recommend to anyone!

Will go back anytime!

Room Tip: Not sure, did not visit other rooms, our room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AENEAINN, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Aenea Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,
we are really glad for your comment.
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

When we read the reviews we thought al the hype was just that hype. But to our great pleasure the Inn was, as it name says, Superior. Location was perfect. Hotel room was clean and air conditioning worked well. The people who work there were unbelievably helpful. We had a problem getting our reservation for airport pick up. He took the time to make calls and went well above the call of duty. We was our first time abroad travels so phone system was a mystery. He also laid out the map for sightseeing and he was spot on, only one problem, I am directionally challenged so we traveled on foot alot more than we needed to. Fresh pastry were nice every morning. The morning we left, we were leaving before they got there and he went out and got us some cakes so we had something to eat before we left. The people there will go out of the way to help which is nice when you are a first time international traveler. The only true negative, if u can call it that, was lack of English speaking channels. After walking around rome all day and some nights, would of been nice to sit and relax a bit before bed watching tv. Only got 2 news channels and 2 mtv channels, not sure which was worse. Overall wonderful place to stay and would stay and redommend to all friend to stay there.

Room Tip: Have The Staff lay out route for sightseeing...Wonderfully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_and_Lorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AENEAINN, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Aenea Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,
we are really glad for your comment.
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#138 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,541 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#203 of 1,271 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
986 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,741 in Rome
765 reviews
Trevi
Daphne Trevi
Daphne Trevi
#87 of 3,741 in Rome
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aenea Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aenea Superior Inn

Address: Via Urbana 156, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 3,741 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aenea Superior Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazingly located in the historical city centre, only 5 minutes walk from the Colosseum, Aenea Superior Inn is near to everything you want to see in Rome. The strategic location permits you to reach Rome's main attractions within just a few minutes walk (Forum, Colosseum, Pantheon, Via del Corso etc..). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aenea Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aenea Superior Hotel Rome
Aenea Superior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing