We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, poor shower.”
Review of Buonarroti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buonarroti Home
Ranked #649 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good room, poor shower.”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at this B&B in May for 1 night before our morning flight. It was close to Termini station, which we liked. There is a small elevator that takes you up to the B&B, or you can take the stairs. The place is small and very very basic -- which is all we needed for 1 night. The room was clean and cozy. The bathroom was fine, but looked like it needed some work. The shower was disgusting. The shower head needed some serious cleaning or to be replaced. The hair dryer that was provided in the bathroom did not work. I would stay here again, but hope that I am given a cleaner bathroom next time. We skipped breakfast in the morning because of our early flight, so I cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofshalott306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    141
    77
    16
    10
See reviews for
62
151
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

If you are one of those couples/friends/families who - when they travel - see the hotel as a place to have a short break, sleep and take a bath, then Buonarroti Home is really a place for you.
Is located near Termini and metro station Vittorio Emmanuel, you can easily walk to the Colosseum and the Via del Corso, so it's a good place to start your sightseeing in Rome.
As for the breakfast, note that in many southern european countries, they don't eat a large meal for breakfast. It's not the full continental with eggs, bacon etc. Breakfast at Buonarroti Home is enough to get you going and what more do you need? You have to have room for that pizza later on anyway.
It's not a fancy hotel, but it's clean (towels are changed daily, bed made, general cleaning of the room), safe and the staff is great. They are really keen on you to have a great stay in Rome, provide you with maps, don't hesitate to answer any of your questions and are more than willing to help you around.
Other guests at the hotel varied from the retired couple spending all the time in the world in Rome, to the family with children and young couples on romantic holiday.
Would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing away from the street and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very friendly staff, room was cleaned, towels changed daily. Good quality room, located central (near Termini train station, close to supermarkets, metro) at low costs. Ideal for young couples! Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed here a couple years ago and was just inspired to write a review. Look, this isn't a luxury hotel. There's no fancy lobby or swanky lounge area. It's just a nice, quiet, safe little home base while you're in Rome. HOWEVER, the staff is amazing. My first night there, I asked the girl behind the desk where i could buy a phone card and she actually went outside with me and walked me a block or so away to a store that sold phone cards. Throughout my stay, the staff was amazingly helpful with maps and suggestions. The free breakfast was more than adequate and there was computers set up for people to use for free, which was a really nice surprise. The hotel is in a sweet residential area near grocery stores and non-touristy restaurants, and very, very close to the metro station (one block if I remember correctly). Also in walking distance from the metro station that brings you to the airport, which was awesome. One less thing to worry about! All in all, I would definitely stay here again. Just remembered one more thing - they have a bookcase full of books for you to borrow! So cute! Really nice, friendly place.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverstatue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Buonarroti Home B&B was the worst hotel I stayed in while in Italy. My room fronted on the street and was very noisy. My air conditioning didn’t work the TV was small and the lift was awful. The wi-fi was not compatible with an Apple iPhone.
I used tripadvisor when picking this hotel; I must say the reviews are not a fair representation of the Hotel. This place is awful

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Buonarroti Guest House
Buonarroti Guest House
#620 of 3,643 in Rome
49 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#176 of 3,643 in Rome
303 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Di Rienzo
Hotel Di Rienzo
#607 of 3,643 in Rome
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#335 of 3,643 in Rome
281 reviews
Esquilino
Dandi Domus Guest House
Dandi Domus Guest House
#1,290 of 3,643 in Rome
66 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Filippo Roma
Hotel Filippo Roma
#1,424 of 3,643 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buonarroti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buonarroti Home

Property: Buonarroti Home
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 43, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #649 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): $78 - $146
Hotel Class:2 star — Buonarroti Home 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buonarroti Home is an elegant guest house placed in a 1885 aristocratic building strategically located in the heart of Rome in the Esquilino Area. Very close to all the main monuments, including the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain and just steps from the beautiful Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Well connected with every kind of public transportation: subway, bus and train (within walking distance of the Termini railway station). Our friendly and familiar staff is willing to welcome you and help you with anything you might need in order to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible. Buonarroti Home has very nice and quiet rooms fully equipped with all the comforts of the modern life such as en-suite bathroom with shower, TV, telephone, mini-bar, safety box, individually controlled air conditioning and heating. Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buonarroti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buonarroti Home Bed And Breakfast
Buonarroti Home Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing