We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
61
74
23
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
74
23
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great place to stay croissants walking distance to the colosseum every morning rooms are clean fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Sadly, this place is proof that in Italy people working in tourism are often not qualified or suited for that job.
The main problem we had is that we could not get any sleep because, in the early morning, the owner (who sits at the reception in the hallway) talks very loud or yells outright. The first morning, I came out of my room and told him. The second morning, he did even worse. He put on music, and even started to sing. Then, while talking with other guests (foreign) he showed up that he DID NOT KNOW EVEN A SINGLE ENGLISH WORD. He kept repeating the same phrases in Italian, expecting the guests to somehow understand. He thought that, somehow, yelling would solve this communication issue. When we checked out and complained about his behavior, he simply turned around and walked away.
On top of that, the hygiene of the place is bad. When we arrived, our room smelled of sewage (probably some issue with the hydraulic system). Luckily we were moved to another room, but then we found stains on the towels, and that behind the bathroom door there was an accumulation of dust that started to look like mold.

In conclusion, avoid this place. There are still many people in Italy (and Rome) that know how to work in the tourism business. Conte House does not belong to one of them.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank FCacciatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We have arrived with a little baby rather late. We called in advance and scheduled a meeting with the owner - Armando (he speaks polish). Room was in a reasonable size (big family one) - there was a comfy double bed, baby bed and a couch, bed tables, wardrobe and additional comode for cloths. Room has a small TV, but who has a time for it in Rome? Air conditioning works well. Bathroom with a shower, sink, toilet, bidet, hair drier. It was very clean. Matilda working during the day at the reception is the nicest person I have ever met! Breakfasts are classic italian hostel style - sweet - jam, nutella, tost bread, juice, coffe, joguth etc.
The only issue is the location of the window - our was to the street, and via Merulana can be laud 24/7. But after closing the windows it was ok.

If we will be back in Rome i wouldn't hesitate to stay there once again. I recommend,

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Magdalena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We were told check in had to be before 9pm but we wasn't advised this was because no staff would be at the guest house after this time, our flight was delayed and we arrived at Conti House just after 9.30pm, we rang the bell with no reply, fortunately a resident had come back after a run and let us into the building. The door to the guest house was locked, we tried the emergency number listed on the door but this was engaged, fortunately a guest heard our knocking and let us in, one of the rooms had a key in the lock so we hoped this was ours.
This guest house is located in an apartment block, our room was small but did have air conditioning, a wardrobe (with four hangers) bed side tables, desk, chair, a small TV (with only Italian speaking channels) the beds are cheap and uncomfortable, we had a small en suite shower room with a corner shower, sink and toilet, on arrival there was no toilet paper (I had serviettes) or bath mat, we got both on the first day our room was cleaned which was the second day of our stay, during our five night stay our room was cleaned twice. The 'free' breakfast consists of coffee, juice, croissants, packets of French toast, dairylea type cheese, Nutella and jam, all self serve in the small kitchen area.
The wifi is unobtainable at times and trips in and out frequently, there is a computer in the hallway that guests can use and this may give a better signal.
We met Matilda on our first morning, she was pleased to see we had got into our room, she was lovely and although her English is better than my Italian it isn't great, she gave us a map and drew out directions to all the sight seeing spots and on our last day (which was the next time we saw her) she apologised that our room had not been cleaned but she said she couldn't get in.
Would I stay at the Conti again ? No
Would I recommend? No

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews