We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wont break the budget.... and its clean!”
Review of Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot
Ranked #555 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It wont break the budget.... and its clean!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel the last time i was passing through Rome. It is an good, economically priced option. The hotel is close to termini so there is easy access to the train and metro system and there are a few eating options in the area. I wandered around the area (alone) at all times of the day and night and while it is not the nicest area in Rome, there are a lot of the usual suspects that hang around large train stations all over the world, i certainly didnt feel threatened or unsafe.
The hotel is located on via Montebello and the numbers arent in running order so it is just on the left as you turn enter via Montebello...there is a small gold plaque on the wall. Reception is on the second floor.
The rooms are a good size, although the bathrooms are pretty smaller...but it is Rome after all! Rooms were clean and had the usual ammenities including free WiFi and breakfast.
Desk staff can provide maps and advice on how to get where you need to go
The hotel itself is nothing fancy but it is clean, so if you are looking for a hotel that has easy access to Termini and wont break the budget this is a good option. Although for longer stays it may be worth looking at other options i.e. apartment rental in an area that is a bit nicer with more atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    79
    39
    9
    0
See reviews for
50
37
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tg. Mures
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

great clean, quiet hotel. We had room nr. 39-1st floor, ..big , nice room, the bathroom also.
good location, great staff, ..everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkcsilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgllgk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at The Ascot for 4 nights in June. We did alot of research to find a reasonably priced property. The Ascot was one of the lowest priced properties we found. The room was spotless, good locaction, and friendly staff. The breakfast was simple but good. The thing that most impressed me about the hotel, was how clean it was. The breakfast room was always extremely clean and organized. The location near Termini was great for transportation to and from the airport as well as the sight seeing busses. We walked to The Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, but in the extreme heat is was a bit far. We would have loved to stay near The Trevi Fountain, but were unwilling to pay more than double of what we payed to stay at The Ascot. I would definatley stay with them again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kgllgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Only stayed one night as i was leaving town the next day but saw three staff members all of whom were accommodating and helpful. I chose it for the good access to Termini, free wifi and 24hr reception (i arrived late at night) and that i could leave my bags there until i was ready to catch the train to the airport later in the evening the next day. The Ascot ticked all those boxes and delivered except that wifi was only available in the lounge on the 2nd floor and my room was on the first floor which at the time was inconvenient. There is a lift from the ground floor so had no problems lugging around my bag. The rooms were reasonable in size, very clean, bed was comfortable (others i have stayed with were very hard) and quiet and i didnt hear any noise from any other guests. Breakfast was good but it wasnt available until 8am and as others have noted that is a bit inconvenient if you want to get out early to do sightseeing. Plenty of restaurants/take aways nearby as well as general shops. Location in terms of sightseeing in Rome is good if you are ok with public transport (the buses are actually very good in Rome), but the Ascot is at the Termini end which means it is a walk across town to the Forum and Colosseum. However this means it is cheaper than being right in the centre of town and i found i got a great deal from an accom website and so it was great value and would consider staying here again for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducati749girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had room 25, a corner room with king size bed. Room is very good size, clean, good storage area and desk with TV, Good size shower with plenty of hot water. Windows do shut out the sound from outside, but as noted in other reviews, if your neighbors are loud you will hear them. There is a market almost every morning in the street as you exit the hotel Except for one gentleman who went out of his way to make a copy for me, the desk staff seemed distant and preoccupied with concerns other than their guests. Maybe it is just Roman reserve but I never saw a smile returned in the four days I was there. Once, when I asked if we could eat 15 min earlier, the clerk pointedly looked at the clock and said nothing. Breakfast is not until 8, which is late when you are trying to get out early to avoid the crowds. Often there were people waiting to eat and some just went in and started early and did without the coffee.

It is convenient to the train station, Metro and buses. However, I think I could have done better for $180 per night

Room Tip: 25 is a good size, 26 has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Amedeo
Hotel Principe Amedeo
#522 of 1,257 in Rome
149 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#592 of 1,257 in Rome
181 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#283 of 1,257 in Rome
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#406 of 1,257 in Rome
759 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#231 of 1,257 in Rome
676 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,257 in Rome
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot

Property: Ascot
Address: Via Montebello 22, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#198 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $92 - $160
Hotel Class:2 star — Ascot 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical centre, Hotel Ascot is perfect for exploring the eternal city, for a romantic weekend or a business trip. We are only five minutes walk from Termini Railway Station (Air Terminal) very well served by metro, bus and tram connections to all the roman sights, convenient for the major beauty spots of Rome like Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Colosseum, Roman Forum and many others. The reception staff will be pleased to help with all your requirements, giving you advice on restaurants, reserving tours, taxis, museums. For 45 years, Hotel Ascot has offered a relaxing atmosphere and cordial hospitality; 21 renovated rooms providing all comforts: individually-controlled air conditioning, free wireless internet access, orthopaedic mattress, Satellite LCD flat screen TV, private bathroom with hairdryer. In our pleasant dining room you may enjoy a generous breakfast (continental buffet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Rome
Ascot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing