We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover Roma is a find!”
Review of Discover Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Discover Roma
Ranked #1,036 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 May 2006

Brilliant experience in Discover Roma. Very near Termini Station and other main sites. Not in a dangerous area at all. Lots of very nice restaurants surrounding it. Lovely staff-who are very helpful and welcoming. Very reasonable.Very clean and spacious rooms. Could not find fault with this hotel. Would highly recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Discover Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2006

I had high expectations of this hotel based on previous reviews and was pleasantly surprised with the comfortable size of the room and bath. The decor is nice: long, flowing drapes; large, easy to open window with shutters; terra cotta tile and modern bath w/large shower. The small fridge was perfect and the "mini-bar" items (incl. water, juice, beer) were extremely well-priced. We bought our own at the local supermarket a few blocks away. BTW, it is a huge store w/ good produce, wine, snack departments.

The staff is extremely welcoming and speak perfect English. (Some of my attempts at Italian made them ask ME to repeat myself in English. LOL)

Now for the bad part: We were forewarned about the credit card issue, thanks to this site, and sure enough the sign was posted stating that the machine was out of order! We came prepared though with Traveler's Checks (in Euro) that we specifically put aside for this purpose. We asked about the machine the first day and were told that "maybe it would be fixed by the time we checked out." You could tell from her tone that this was a subject of contention. The morning before our day of departure we presented them with the traveler's checks. The girl called her "boss" to see if she could accept them and was given the go-ahead. We returned to the hotel that night at around 10pm to be told that the checks were not acceptable after all. I explained that we needed to be on our way to the airport at 7 the next AM, that our bank (B of A) charges $5 in addition to what the European bancomats charge to withdraw cash, and that on top of it all, we had signed the checks over to them! In a largely unprofessional move, she made us get on the phone and speak to "The Boss," who told us it would cost her $27 euro to cash the $250 in checks. Ridiculous. I then spent an hour on the phone calling the Traveler's Check company to report that the checks had been signed over and then refused, making sure that we could get our money back for them. I was told that the banks in Italy charge a 1.5 % fee to cash the checks, but this is no different from what a merchant pays when accepting a credit card.

In the end, they ran the credit card. We did not pay an extra fee. The machine worked. This hotel plays games with their guests because they are operating below the law. I'm sure a local cambio or Tabacchi shop DID want to charge them a lot to cash the checks! The bottom line is our awesome stay was tainted by the experience at the end. We witnessed other guests running to the ATM when they probably needed to be headed to the airport or train too. I'm glad I stood my ground and refused to play their COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY GAMES, but next time I will take out plenty of cash in the first place and hand it over when I arrive.

The hotel is an affordable, clean, safe and very comfortable accommodation for the price point. What they save in paying taxes and god -knows- what kind of hotel fees, they do pass on to you! At 90 euro a night, we would stay again and have the cash ready!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank splitting.head.ache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2005

We were very pleased with the spacious room and bathroom, friendly staff and decent location. Our only complaint was a note saying that the credit card machine was broken so we had to take out several hundred euros in cash to pay - I would suggest that the owners simply state that it is a cash-only hotel to save everyone the frustration of expecting one thing and getting another. The value of this hotel far outweighs the small hassle of finding an ATM to pay the bill at the end of your stay, however. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2005

DH, DS (age 11) and I had an enjoyable 4 nt stay here. The previous reviews given here were pretty accurate. Location is convenient, large supermarket nearby, small fridge in the room. Rooms are very clean, large, w/ large bath. Breakfast is nice - coffee and toast, cookies. Altho website says credit cards accepted, staff discourage it and will charge extra if you insist. On the other hand, the staff were extremely helpful, will go out of their way for you. For example, they were willing to assist us w/ taxi to Fiumincino airport at 4:30AM on day of our departure. Value was excellent overall. I'd stay there again in future.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssbbcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2005

We stayed at Discover Roma for 6 nights in May 2005. We have mixed feelings about this hotel. Positives included reasonable room price, close proximity to train station and two supermarkets; large room and bathroom; overall cleanliness; friendly helpful staff (provided us with breakfast the night before when we had early starts, gave us directions and suggestions for sightseeing and rang tour company for us to confirm bookings) and fantasic restaurants outside hotel. Negatives for us included no internet (website said there was) hot room (I think you had to pay for Air conditioning), cigarette smell (coming from outside?), hairs on the bed sheets, grubby shower with very hard water pressure/ poor drainage which caused water to fill up to ankles, towels that had no absorption, unpleasant breakfast, and close proximity to dubious area around train station. We were also disappointed that after a six night stay the hotel owner would not let us leave our luggage in the room for a short period after the checkout time. They also were not keen to accept credit cards even though we were given the impression before we ariived that credit card would be fine- there was a sign suggesting that they did not have the facilities yet, however the credit card machine was clearly in view, they then proceeded to try and talk us out of using our credit card, and then when we did we were charged extra. If we were in Rome for a short stay and needed to be close to the train station we would probably stay there again otherwise we would look elsewhere.

Andrew and Bronwyn
Christchurch
New Zealand

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrewspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#377 of 1,267 in Rome
422 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,136 of 3,712 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discover Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Roma

Address: Via Castelfidardo 50, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,036 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discover Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discover Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discover Roma Rome
Discover Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing