We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
851
18
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maria luisa ancient appian way roman history stocked fridge bedroom apartment minute bus ride centre of rome home away from home full kitchen trip to rome well equipped kitchen perfect hosts washing machine recommended restaurants restaurant reservations felt like home lovely apartment
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Stayed for 1 night May 10, 2018. Traveled from Venice and had to catch a flight back to USA the next morning. Arrived late afternoon and was met by Julia. She showed me around the property and my room. Gave me insight into how to easily walk to the historic Appian Way - which was an easy 10 minute walk thru a field. I had a few hours of daylight remaining so I dashed off to see this famous area. I was so pleased that I got to spend time visiting this historic landmark. Back to the property itself - superb accommodations. Well stocked fridge with complimentary bottled water, juice, milk, cheese, yogurt, meats, and various other breakfast items (coffee, cereal, pastries, etc.). My accommodations included a nicely appointed kitchen with bedroom and separate room that had a fireplace and 2nd TV (large flat screen with international TV channels). There also are several highly rated restaurants within a short walking distance. I met the owner of the property who was walking his dog (Maurizio). Had a nice conversation with him - very nice guy and I could tell he loved his job and his customers. I highly recommend this property and hope to be able to visit this property again when I travel to Rome to visit southern Italy!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Kurt C,

Thank you so much for this beautiful review.

It was a pity that you could only stay for one night and we hope you'll be able to come for a longer stay next time you're in Rome. We're all glad that you could still have a nice walk on the Appian Way and discover a little of this beautiful place even tough you only stayed for a short stay with us.

Thank you for your words regarding our establishment and the apartment. We're all truly very happy that you found them both to your liking. My wife Maria Luisa is an interior designer and she decorated and furnished the apartments herself. Our idea was to create a relaxing place from which to start your exploration of Rome and the Appian Way: we want our guests to have not only a hotel room but a place to call a home away from home. We really hope it was like this for you. We hope you'll have the chance to visit us again and try a little more of what Rome and our neighbourhood has to offer in terms of beautiful places to explore (there's so much to see on the Appian Way, starting from the Villa dei Quintili and the Catacombs) and the amazing restaurants that you mentioned! Ours being a non-touristic neighbourhood, nearby we have all necessities and excellent restaurants that can guarantee a great food experience!

It was great meeting you and chatting with you (Scarlet, my dog, also enjoyed meeting you! :D), please, come back so we can have some other time together getting to know one another! We'll be waiting for you but in the meantime we thank you again for this amazing review!

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent a wonderful 6 days at the Appia Antica Resort while visiting Rome and it was the highlight of our trip. All the staff especially Mauritzio and Gjulia were amazing to us and treated us like family. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable providing help and information along the way. Our room at the resort was cleaned everyday with kitchen stocked with food and drinks and a living room with movies provided for our viewing. With television in both the bedroom and living room we could choose where we wanted to watch them. The Resort is outside of Rome so it is very peaceful and quiet which we loved. There are restaurants and supermarkets nearby and a bus stop across the street. The staff will also call a taxi to bring you to the subway at your convenience if you wish. We were able to see most of what we wanted to in Rome and were glad the Appia was so close to the Appian Way as walking the Appian Way was one of our favorite parts of the trip. We are so happy we chose this place to stay and would highly recommend the Appia to anyone interested in visiting Rome.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dpauline787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear dpauline787,

Your words really leave us speechless! Thank you so much!

What a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay so much! It's really an honour to know that you found our information helpful. We know that travelling to a new place is amazing but is also very stressing because there is so much to see and one has limited time. Knowing our city well, we want to help our guests sort out what they want to do during their trip so they can do everything they want without any worry or problem. This way, they can enjoy their holiday and make the most of their time in Rome.
We're glad you liked the apartment and our establishment: we want our guests to find not only a hotel room but a home away from home where to relax and from which to start their exploration of the city.
You say that the Resort is outside of Rome...we understand why you would think so, though that is not exactly true: we are inside the Archaeological Park of the Appian Way, so it's the Roman countryside that infiltrates the city, giving the impression of being out of Rome, whereas we are very much inside the city. Our neighbourhood, Quarto Miglio (Fourth Mile), is at only about 6 km from the Colosseum. This is a non-touristic area with amazing restaurants and all the necessities without the crowds of the historical centre. We're happy to know you liked it.

Thank you so much for your words and your recommendation, we hope you'll have the chance to come back to pay us another visit, so you can experience more of Rome! We'll be waiting! :)

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Easy to locate.
Place is quite and city Centric.
Reasonable price.
Nice ambiance with hygienic surrounding environment.
Easy to reach other destinations from here.
Good management.
Friendly Supporting staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank bhanujab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear bhanuja b,
you have never stayed at our establishment.
We don’t understand why you bothered to leave a review…. However, out of consideration toward other readers, we must inform you that this review, though excellent, is, sadly, fake.
The sentences are banal and unimaginative, typical of reviews written serially by professionals.
Unfortunately, this phenomenon hits many establishments, whose owners keep the positive mark, though not true. We have decided to change, making a stand and denouncing the problem.
Therefore, from now on, our policy will be to point out this type of review, even though we go, apparently, against our own interests. We hope that other establishments will follow us on this path as well.
Why don’t you come and stay with us for real, next time?
Ave atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We had a short but great stay with our kids. Ver complete apartment with even lots of food and drinks in the fridge. Great welcome, very friendly owner, close to the city centre and nice area around hotel. 100% recommandable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Guido,

Thank you for taking time in leaving a review for us!

Short... but intense!

We wait for you to come back, whenever you want.

Ave atque Vale - Maurizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We recently spent 3 nights at Appia Antica hotel and I can't believe how good this place is, and unbelievable value for money. Though located a little out of town, it is perfectly located for the Appia Antica (which is easily one of the highlights of Rome) and a local bus stops at the front door, which takes you directly to all the main sights in Rome in less than 30 minutes. This botique hotel is charming, quiet and could not be better for families. We stayed with our 3 year old daughter and she loved running around in the beautiful gardens. Although the hotel itself could not be faulted, the staff are what makes this place truly great and worthy of it's standing on trip advisor. They could not be more helpful, friendly and forthcoming with information to help craft a perfect stay in rome. They gave us food recommendations for the city of Rome that were outstanding (there was not one "miss." And that is not to mention, the local recommendations, which were unbelievably good. The local restaurants are obviously not "tourist haunts" because the food is real Italian quality and the prices are cheaper than almost anywhere else we stayed in Italy. I could not recommend this hotel more strongly. In my opinion, you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Ben,

Thank you for this amazing review.
We are touched by your words.
We like the idea of being forthcoming with our information and picks...
You said it right: we always want our guests to find out things they would like to, without "wasting time", which is very precious on Holiday!

It was nice to have you and your beautiful daughter here with us.

AAR will wait for you to come back again!

Ave atque Vale - Maurizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews