We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly As Described with Pleasant and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Table, Sofa bed, Cupboard, Kitchenette
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Table, Sofa bed, Cupboard, Kitchenette
Entrance: Bookcase Entrance: Bookcase
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Table, Sofa bed, Cupboard, Kitchenette
Entrance: Bookcase
Entrance: Bookcase
Table, Sofa bed, Cupboard, Bookcase
Table, Sofa bed, Cupboard, Kitchenette
View to the bedroom
Table, Cupboard
King size double bed, transformable in 2 single beds
Open container, Nighstands, Bed
Open container, Nighstands, Bed
Open container, Nighstands, Bed
Sink
Sink
Shower
Washing machine, Sink, Bathtub
The area: Flaminio
The area: Flamino
The area: Flaminio
Close to Piazza del Popolo
Close to Via del Corso
Close to Ponte Milvio
Close to Ponte Milvio
Close to Auditorium Parco della Musica
Close to Auditorium Parco della Musica
Close to Auditorium Parco della Musica
Close to Museum of Modern Art
Close to Maxxi, Museum of Contmporary Art
Close to Etruscan Museum
Close to Stadio Flaminio
Cose to Foro Italico stadiums ( soccer, tennis, swimming pool)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J-DaiCa
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exactly As Described with Pleasant and Trustworthy Host”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently stayed here from 12 May, 2014 thru 15 May, 2014 for our a first leg stop during our European trip to Rome, London, and Paris. This was (at least) my 7th time to Italy, 2nd time to Rome, and about the 13th country I have visited. So one can assume that I am somewhat of an informed traveler.

I can attest that the description provided here from the owner is right on. Luigi was a wonderful owner who is taking our stay at his flat seriously. Luigi was at the flat to welcome us and showed us all the essentials needed for our stay. The flat is in great location and safe neighborhood, yet, you are only 15 min walking distance or 5 minutes via Tram # 2 ride to the Piazza del Popolo which is one of the main attractions here in Rome. Piazza del Popolo is sitting across the street from the last stop of tram # 2. Also the last station for Tram # 2 is called "Flaminio" station so you will know it when everyone makes the exit. When heading back to the flat, get on from the same station and just get off at the 2nd stop. I think this tram # 2 is running until 12:30 AM (please double check with Luigi). It runs frequently during working hours so we did not have to wait very long at all. My wait never exceeded 15 minutes. The tram stops a the bus stop in the center of the road so cross the street to the median and wait for it at the bus stop when heading out from the flat.

The flat is spacious with genuine Italian flavor decoration and design. Everything was well placed and flows well throughout the flat. Luigi was kind and thoughtful and welcome us
with a huge dish of fresh fruits and a big bottle of mineral water sitting atop a custom table which he designed and built himself. We really felt like home here as the flat was well equipped and clean. Be sure to ask Luigi about the wash bowl next to the toilet and not to mistake it for a sink.

I was a little skeptical before arriving to this property, but Luigi proved me wrong otherwise. Note that he doesn't charge an arm and leg for cleaning fee (only $41 USD or 29 Euro). Most places I know charge an equivalent of 1 day stay for cleaning fee. Also, Luigi doesn't make guests put down a huge deposit. Well, actually he doesn't even ask for one at all. The place we stayed in London and Paris asked for a deposit of 100 pounds and 300 euro respectively. We especially appreciate Luigi for letting us stow our luggage there on the last day while visiting the Vatican city. St.Peters Basillica was amazing.

LIKES: Clean/quiet/spacious flat, convenient location, dual bathroom, Flat screen TV, Security gate, ground floor, washer machine + detergent, available shampoo and soap, the welcome sign, Wonderful and flexible owner who doesn't nicked and dimed guests.

DISLIKES: Power turned off when keys removed from controlled hole => we can't charge electronic devices if not inside.

WISH LIST: Dryer machine would be a nice addition.

=======================
TIPs FOR FUTURE GUESTS:

From Piazza del Popolo, it is about 10-minute walk to the Spanish Steps(Piazza di Spagna) or 20-minute walk to either the Pantheon or Trevis fountain (Fontana di Trevi).
Tourists usually walk directly from the Trevis fountain to the pantheon and vice versa. The walk is about 15 minutes between the two sites so just follow the tourist crowd (be mindful of your purses and pockets). At Piazza del Popolo, there is a sign on the main strip that shows tourists which direction to go (see pix). The Colosseum (Colosseo) should be the last destination since it is the most furthest away. You will pass by Roman Forum (Foro Romano) and Vittorio Emanuele II monument on your right on the way to the Colosseum. We visited these two sites after the Colosseum.

If you have problem with the Wi-Fi at the flat, just unplug then plug it back in. It worked for me every time.

The wooden shades outside are controlled (up/down) by the rope next to each window.

It cost us about 60 euro for taxi from the airport to the flat. We tried to negotiate it down to a fixed 48 euro as recommended by Luigi, but none would accept it at the airport.

Keep in mind that Italians drink carbonated water. If you want normal water, you must specify "still water". If you just order a bottle water, you will likely get a carbonated water bottle.

Buy your Roma pass at the airport. Roma Pass allows pass holders to ride unlimited tram/bus/metro rides during the valid period and access to the first two sites FREE like the Colosseum. So use it first at your most expensive paid sites like the Colosseum to skip the long ticket line. Don't queue up like everyone else at the Colosseum. Instead, go to front of the line and show them your Rome pass. Your pass only needs to validate once
to activate it and be valid on tram/bus/metro during the valid period. You validate your pass by wiping it against the magnetic surface on the validating machine usually located next to the door (see pix). Without the Rome Pass, you may constantly run around looking for places to buy tram/bus/metro tickets. Not all tram/bus have ticket machine and if they do have one, you will need coins to purchase your tickets. Google "Roma Pass" and read up on it. Note that Travis Fountain, Pantheon, and Spanish Steps are all free sites.

If you buy single tickets, be sure to validate it as soon as to get onboard your tram/bus. Validating your ticket by inserting it in the slot. The machine will suck it up, stamps it, and spits it back out to you. Keep your validated tickets until you get off. Drivers don't care and never check whether you have tickets or not. I heard If you get caught without a ticket or tickets w/o being validated, the fine is heavy.

If you plan to visit St.Peters Basilica and don't want to spend hours waiting in line, book/reserve an official guided tour with the Vatican city here http://biglietteriamusei.vatican.va/musei/tickets/do

We booked the museum and Sistine Chapel tour with the Vatican. The tour ended in the Basilica. Hence, you skip the long waiting line outside. You can stay in the Basilica as long as you 'd like. Be sure to print out your receipt/ticket at home then show up on your appointment day and time, of course, and you will walk right inside skipping the long line that always snake around a few blocks. A word of warning though, after seeing the inside of the Vatican and St.Peter's Basilica, you may find other religious attractions no longer attractive. This includes the Pantheon in Rome and Notre Dame in Paris. So, if it is all possible, save the Vatican and St.Peter's Basilica for last. Note that visiting St. Peter's Basilica is free, and that is what the long line outside is for. Waiting in line does NOT allow you to see any others sites such as Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel, etc. without buying tickets. Our guided tour was almost 3 hours long without break so be sure to use the toilet facilities while waiting for your guided tour in the lobby. Many people carried backpack with foods and drinks. Yes, they are allowed inside.

Foods & Drinks are expensive around tourist areas so your money would go further if you dine around the area of Luigi's flat instead. We often ate at this one family establishment called "Boulangerie Patisserie" before heading out everyday. The owners of this place were very nice and friendly to us despite the language barrier. They spoke little English but it was enough to understand of what we wanted to order. Just point at what you want and state the quantity. It is located on the main road (via Flaminia) where you would catch Tram # 2. As you are walking away from the flat's gate, turn left at the main road (Via Flaminia - going away from the direction you would catch tram # 2 to go to Piazza del Popolo) and it would be about a block away on the other side of the road. If you walk down a little further after eating at "Boulangerie Patisserie", there is a supermarket which we purchased some foods and additional bottled water for our stay.

Be on guard all the times if you ride subway (Metro). Just google "pickpocket in Rome" and you will know what I mean. Read up on RickSteves.com on this subject or you might just come home a sad tourist. Pickpockets and thieves work in team and are usually young male/female. One of their usual tricks is to create obstruction at the subway door then other accomplices swoop in on a selected target. Women, leave your purse and wallet at home. Guys, don't put anything of value in your back pockets, and if you do catch thieves/pickpockets regardless of male or female, please teach them a physical lesson.

Exchange rate in Rome & at the airport is terrible. Plus, there is usually a 20% fee on top of it. The best way is to withdraw your money from ATM at the airport in Rome and use your credit cards for big purchases. In the USA, credit card companies charge a mandatory of 2% - 3% of your purchase, but that is much better than a lousy exchange rate plus 20% fee. Before leaving home, ask your bank which partner it has in Rome and use ATMs of its partners. This will save you a transaction fee every time you withdraw money from its partners in Rome. Bank of America's partner in Rome is BLN which had ATMs all over places in Rome. If you must exchange money, just exchange enough for the ride from the airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 bathroom + Trustworthy Host
Liked least: Pickpockets/Thieves in Rome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMKoppy
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Experience - Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have never stayed in an apartment before and we are certainly glad we did. Luigi was so helpful with information prior, during and after our stay. The apartment was perfectly located and accommodated my adult daughter as well as my husband and myself. We had privacy and especially loved the 2 bathrooms! I highly recommend this apartment to you! Luigi is an absolute pleasure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 Bathrooms
Liked least: Wi-Fi was not able to handle 2 laptops and 3 cell phones - continuous disconnections
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monopoli (BA) Italy
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monopoli
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing