We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”

Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #141 of 13,557 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 47 - USD 116
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Description: There is a whole different taste when you dine with us. Long moments to be savored in an elegant and relaxed atmosphere, discovering the simplicity of traditions and indulging in the typical products of Italian cuisine. The flavor and appeal of the freshest and finest ingredients are enhanced by the creative preparations, such as smoked food and homemade pasta by our Chefs, Massimo Gonnella and Adriano Grech. True pleasures to smell, taste and enjoy. Nothing less than a perfect culinary experience, modern but also ancient in its way of sensing every nuance of flavor. To enjoy without needing to hurry, but respecting the times and ways of nature and that of our traditional recipes. A real Italian dining experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Restaurant is on the top floor of the Hotel Artemide. Was a very nice atmosphere, but I was glad that I had told my two teens to ditch their shorts and tees and to wear semi-decent clothes like khaki pants with a collared shirt for my son and skirt for my daughter. The food was decent, not fabulous "oh my gosh the best Italian food in the world" but it was good. Service was decent. Couldn't really see the rooftop bar as it was dark out there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Kate M,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant and Bar with others here on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed the atmosphere at our Restaurant even though it's a pity you didn't get the chance to see the view from the terrace.

As far as personal taste goes, food is always a delicate and subjective matter. This only raises our awareness of how sensitivity our guests' palates are.
Our efforts of always trying to provide the best quality food and service, having our guests remember a lovely dinner, is not always met and we need to take it into account.

Hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Their roof garden/terrace is just lovely. They have herbs etc. growing in there and the view is spectacular. We waited for our drinks for an hour and ended up getting them free of charge

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teppo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Teppo W,

thank you for giving us a try and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

With the good season on the doorsteps, our little garden starts to reveal its beautiful colours and between Chef Max in the kitchen and our bartenders, all of the spices will be contended to prepare their food and cocktails.
We are happy you enjoyed the lovely view from our rooftop terrace as well.

Please accept our apologies for the wait, it is not our usual standards. We hope however that it will not deter you from coming back to enjoy our drinks and food again.

With our best regards.

Arrivederci!

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Went here for a family dinner. Nice location situated on the 7th floor of the hotel.

The menu has a decent variety with typical Italian cuisines. The standout dishes include the truffle pasta as well as the steak which is indeed cooked very well here. The wines are fairly priced. The dessert menu is basic but includes a decent chocolate fondant.

The waiters are friendly but seemed to be busy and as such, the overall service was merely average. I would recommend this restaurant for a decent casual Italian meal.

Thank Aneel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Aneel N,

thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Ambrosia Restaurant.

It is nice to hear that your overall experience was to your liking.
We are glad you have noticed the modest but fair selection of dishes in our menu, as to guarantee a dedicated attention to the quality of our food. The same goes for our wine list, which has also been specifically selected to be paired with the food we offer.
We are happy you enjoyed it.
Finally, we apologize if the service wasn't as quick as you expected it to be, it is not our usual standard.

We would like to thank you again and hope to have you back to try our other delicacies.

Arrivederci!

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Maurizio is the man for making a special drink. The black mojito next to the standard G&T, very effective and delicious.
Been here a few times now and never fails to deliver.
Thanks Maurizio and see you again on the next visit.

1  Thank MercatoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed the hotel for my birthday and it’s a fantastic hotel and the restaurant is lovely.
The staff are friendly and my husband had the best steak he’s ever had there. But to
my disappointment the duck I had was too chewy and I couldn’t eat any of it.

1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosia_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Katie H,

We are so happy you chose to stay with us for your birthday and thank you for reviewing us.

We are glad to hear that your husband enjoyed his steak and that our staff was friendly and polite.
However, as much as we love compliments, our main objective is customer satisfaction and it seems like you were not completely satisfied this time.

We are saddened to learn that you didn’t like our browned duck breast with berry sauce. Differently from other types of meet, in order to enhance its flovours, the duck can only be cooked a certain way.
I’m sure you are familiar with the consistency of duck meet that is indeed different from others. In this case we can only suppose that perhaps it was not cooked to perfection, hence the chewy taste that, to a degree, it is its actual consistency due to its pulpous meet.

We regret not having had the chance to make it up to you, we would have been happy to offer a different plate or cook it just right for you.

Moreover, we hope that this experience did not deter you from coming back to visit us in the future giving us a second chance to make it just right.

Arrivederci!

Roberta Vinci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing