We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #75 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the world”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed at the delightful Hotel Fortyseven for five nights while in Rome on business and fun and loved everything about it.

Location: it may seem out of the way on a map, but it's perfectly located for the Coliseum, Roman Forum, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Plus, you are steps away from the relatively unexplored Trastevere neighborhood just east of the river.

Ambiance: You will feel cooler just staying here. The hotel is small, but not creepy B&B small. The bright, interesting decor makes the lobby very inviting. Its has desks and chairs, which invites you to sit and talk to the staff -- so much more civilized than the stiff reception bars you see in most hotels. The clientele was a nice mix of business and tourists. The staff was always cheerful and helpful even if they didn't really understand the term "happy hour".

Room: Big and nice with all the amenities you want. The innovative TV/Desk was really useful for using my computer. I like the way the room uses indirect lighting (see my pictures) and has parquet wood floors and American-style showers. There's even an American electrical outlet in the bathroom. Needless to say the king-sized bed was super comfortable.

Breakfast: really nice but not a huge selection. The scrambled eggs were better than usual. Get there early for the best selection of pastries.

The little things: Hotel Fortyseven does them all. Free Internet, free newspaper, great rooftop bar, turn down service, blackout shades. I've been some places in my life, and this hotel can stand with hotels two or three times the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    454
    108
    29
    21
See reviews for
285
999
31
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a wonderful week at Hotel 47! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and not too small compared to others in Europe. Breakfast is included -- a great buffet of hot and cold items, a lovely courtyard setting and newspapers in many languages. The rooftop bar/restaurant has a great view and good food, although it's a bit pricey and the service is not the best...better for a drink than a meal. It's easy to walk anywhere in the city from this hotel...it is located across the street from the Jewish Ghetto, the river and Trastevere, and a short walk to the Collosseum and other sites. The only drawback we found was that it was a 20 minute walk to the nearest subway stop. But since Rome is all about walking, we didn't find this to be a problem.

Room Tip: If the hum of street traffic bothers you, make sure to request a room that does not face onto Via Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Input-from-EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Now this is a nice spot! It's Rome, home of the legendary broom closet bedroom and seriously non-power-shower! Hotel 47 has Great rooms (and real air-con) and great (walk in)showers. Location wonderful too. And the best bit is the rooftop bar and resto. Lovely, friendly service. Yes, it's slow service... it's supposed to be... it's La Dolce Vita. You can walk to a lot of good places to eat and taxis arrive FAST. Go, chill out. And you can go against that old rule about "never eat where you sleep." The food is perfectly adequate, the view, of course, is better.

Room Tip: Front is noisy, but a great view (take earplugs) and close blinds against the sun in afternoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I loved this hotel! I stayed here for 5 days during a whirlwind tour of a few European cities, and chose this one based on what I could find on TripAdvisor. The staff was amazingly helpful, and when i checked in I found my room was not as expected, but the gal at the desk made sure i was moved to a much better room at no additional charge the next day. I had a balcony and tons of windows and light and a beautiful view on the penthouse level.

The fitness center was a nice surprise; it was in the basement and had some decent equipment. A/C did not work well though.

My only beef was the food was not great; I had dinner on the rooftop restaurant on night one, and it was OK but the view was worth it. The next day I ordered a sandwich via room service and it was a goopy mess. However all the great things about this hotel made that not a big deal. Also I thought it was idiotic that when you leave your room and take your key, the electricity goes off in your room (that part is fine, I'm green) but it also shuts off your fridge and any gadgets you are charging! So I never got to have cold drinks or a fully charged iPad.

The reason you want to stay here is (besides it being an upscale hotel) the location is PERFECT for walking out your door and going most anywhere. I loved walking over to Trastevere each day and wandering around the churches and side streets. Amazing stay and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sologirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
263 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Since this was my 5th time to Rome, I had no problem staying off the tourists route and finally getting to venture to the quiet places like Trastrevere and Campo di Fiori areas. The hotel sits on the back side of the forum and Piazza del Campidoglio with the fantastic Capitoline museums which I had never made it too before this trip.
My room was very spacious and the hotel was pretty modern looking inside. dinner was included one night with my stay and was excellent. Breakfast was typical.
With-in walking distance of many of the usual sites like the Colosseo, Pantheon, Pz. Navona and Trevi Fountain, but to venture over the bridge to the Trastrevre area for meals made this a hotel location I will come back too again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#66 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $326 - $731
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing