We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tranquil oasis close to Rome's heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa San Pio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #96 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis close to Rome's heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Situated in Rome's most peaceful, verdant neighborhood, Villa San Pio offers a tranquil retreat from the city's noise and bustle. The setting inside and out is peaceful and romantic. Rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. Ours overlooked a lush interior courtyard. The staff is friendly and helpful. And the location is ideal. What feels like a remote retreat is actually walking distance to the centro storico and tourist sights, and right next to the less touristy, lively Via Marmorata and the characteristic neighborhood of Testaccio, where you can soak up some true local flavor, and shop and eat as the Romans do. Via Marmorata, Viale Aventino and Via Ostiense are major thoroughfares, with range of public transit options to take you all around the city and beyond. Though we arrived last March during a transit strike and were able to walk wherever we needed to go, even Trastevere, without problem. There is also free parking on site. This is a particularly good location if you have a car, as it's easy to get out of town without going through the traffic of the Centro. It took less than half an hour to drive to Fiumicino on the morning of our flight home. If you are traveling to Rome off season, winter or early spring, the hotel also has some generous offers, making what feels like a luxurious splurge surprisingly affordable. We hope to make Villa San Pio our base whenever we travel to our favorite city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnndeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    430
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
257
541
47
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel is tucked away in a charming residential neighborhood (be prepared to walk uphill if you take the bus). We had a bit of trouble finding it at first, and some confusion from being changed from Aventino to Villa San Pio due to renovations. Once we got our bearings, though, we loved staying off the main street. There is a beautiful garden and even some friendly cats passing through. The hotel is a quick walk to restaurants (5-10 min) and sights like the Collosseum and Forum (15-20 min). The metro stop is also a ~10 minute walk.

Our room was clean and comfortable, although the shower was small. The staff were courteous and helpful. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Villa S. Pio is the perfect Hotel! We get there since thirty years and we appreciate it very single time.The environment is romantic, quite and elegant.The staff is extremely kind. Rooms are big and clean, flawless. The breakfast is served in the garden: a myth. The neiborough, the Aventino, is one of the most Rome renowned, aside the circo Massimo and the Campidoglio. Down in Testaccio, a two minute walk, its plenty of buses, cabs and services.
Not expensive, too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet area, within walking distance of metro, the Forum and more busy areas. The rooms are in three villas in a beautiful garden. They have an old-fashioned atmosphere and tend to be spacious. The bathrooms are somewhat unpredictable - I have been to this hotel quite often and have had big and regular sized bathrooms but also undersized ones - or actually an undersized shower, in which you barely can move around. Next time I'll be here I'll make sure to have a look first before I accept the room!
Having said this, apart from the unexpectedly small shower everything else was in order and actually quite special. The atmosphere is really that of three villas in a Roman garden, which is not something you will easily find in any big city, let alone in overcrowded Rome.

Sleeping is a wonder here, as there is hardly any traffic in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a regular size shower or bath - some rooms have tiny showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This charming hotel is tucked away in the quiet Aventine Hills neighborhood, which is about 20 minutes walk to major sights like the Forum and Colosseum. It's 5 minutes walk to a major bus station, which can take you to just about anywhere in Rome. The rooms are clean, simple, old world decor, shuttered windows, and birds chirping in the morning. No wifi in rooms, but free wifi in the lobby. We asked for a room with a balcony and got a room with a large terrace, overlooking the neighborhood. Very nice for morning stretches and meditation. The breakfast is plentiful with generous options like fruit, cold cuts, pastries, and yogurt. The coffee and cappuccino are wonderful! You can eat in the "glass room" and watch the resident cat strolling in the sun. The staff are friendly, though not always with a smile. They give tips on which bus routes to take. A cozy respite after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marian27x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#90 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#72 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#80 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $103 - $334
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing