We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis close to Rome's heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #77 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Situated in Rome's most peaceful, verdant neighborhood, Villa San Pio offers a tranquil retreat from the city's noise and bustle. The setting inside and out is peaceful and romantic. Rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. Ours overlooked a lush interior courtyard. The staff is friendly and helpful. And the location is ideal. What feels like a remote retreat is actually walking distance to the centro storico and tourist sights, and right next to the less touristy, lively Via Marmorata and the characteristic neighborhood of Testaccio, where you can soak up some true local flavor, and shop and eat as the Romans do. Via Marmorata, Viale Aventino and Via Ostiense are major thoroughfares, with range of public transit options to take you all around the city and beyond. Though we arrived last March during a transit strike and were able to walk wherever we needed to go, even Trastevere, without problem. There is also free parking on site. This is a particularly good location if you have a car, as it's easy to get out of town without going through the traffic of the Centro. It took less than half an hour to drive to Fiumicino on the morning of our flight home. If you are traveling to Rome off season, winter or early spring, the hotel also has some generous offers, making what feels like a luxurious splurge surprisingly affordable. We hope to make Villa San Pio our base whenever we travel to our favorite city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnndeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel is tucked away in a charming residential neighborhood (be prepared to walk uphill if you take the bus). We had a bit of trouble finding it at first, and some confusion from being changed from Aventino to Villa San Pio due to renovations. Once we got our bearings, though, we loved staying off the main street. There is a beautiful garden and even some friendly cats passing through. The hotel is a quick walk to restaurants (5-10 min) and sights like the Collosseum and Forum (15-20 min). The metro stop is also a ~10 minute walk.

Our room was clean and comfortable, although the shower was small. The staff were courteous and helpful. Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Villa S. Pio is the perfect Hotel! We get there since thirty years and we appreciate it very single time.The environment is romantic, quite and elegant.The staff is extremely kind. Rooms are big and clean, flawless. The breakfast is served in the garden: a myth. The neiborough, the Aventino, is one of the most Rome renowned, aside the circo Massimo and the Campidoglio. Down in Testaccio, a two minute walk, its plenty of buses, cabs and services.
Not expensive, too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet area, within walking distance of metro, the Forum and more busy areas. The rooms are in three villas in a beautiful garden. They have an old-fashioned atmosphere and tend to be spacious. The bathrooms are somewhat unpredictable - I have been to this hotel quite often and have had big and regular sized bathrooms but also undersized ones - or actually an undersized shower, in which you barely can move around. Next time I'll be here I'll make sure to have a look first before I accept the room!
Having said this, apart from the unexpectedly small shower everything else was in order and actually quite special. The atmosphere is really that of three villas in a Roman garden, which is not something you will easily find in any big city, let alone in overcrowded Rome.

Sleeping is a wonder here, as there is hardly any traffic in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a regular size shower or bath - some rooms have tiny showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This charming hotel is tucked away in the quiet Aventine Hills neighborhood, which is about 20 minutes walk to major sights like the Forum and Colosseum. It's 5 minutes walk to a major bus station, which can take you to just about anywhere in Rome. The rooms are clean, simple, old world decor, shuttered windows, and birds chirping in the morning. No wifi in rooms, but free wifi in the lobby. We asked for a room with a balcony and got a room with a large terrace, overlooking the neighborhood. Very nice for morning stretches and meditation. The breakfast is plentiful with generous options like fruit, cold cuts, pastries, and yogurt. The coffee and cappuccino are wonderful! You can eat in the "glass room" and watch the resident cat strolling in the sun. The staff are friendly, though not always with a smile. They give tips on which bus routes to take. A cozy respite after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marian27x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#67 of 1,270 in Rome
980 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,270 in Rome
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,270 in Rome
2,544 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,270 in Rome
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $94 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing