We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #536 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Hamilton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel City. A small hotel situated on the first floor of the building. Our room was small & a little dated but clean. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was continental with a reasonable choice. The only down side was that our room was at the front of the hotel over a very busy street. It got quite noisy at times. The hotel does not switch on the air conditioning until May. The weather was particularly warm so we tried to leave the window open to keep the room cooler but it was far too noisy to sleep. There are rooms away from the busy street to the rear of the hotel which I am sure would be much better. The mattress was very firm & took a bit of getting used to. We would definately stay here again but would stay in a room away from the street. The price was very reasonable for the location.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookinWiGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    103
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
50
98
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the City Hotel for three nights at the beginning of march. Hotel was lovely, the rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated, very italian looking just as you see on the website. There were plenty of hangers for clothes and the hotel came with all the little toiletries and a hair dryer. The only thing we didnt like was that there wasnt a safety deposit box to rent, you could pay 5 euros at the front desk, but it is only an envolope being put in a drawer. so i would recommend getting a travel money card before you go or taking a little lock and key for your suitcase just for peace of mind.Having said that the hotel is very safe and secure anyway and the staff are lovely.
the location was perfect, a 2 min walk to the spanish steps, and 5 min walk to the trevi fountain, and theres a metro station at both so its really easy to get about.
theres a lovely little restaurant we ate at twice which is opposite the american express bank near the spanish steps in the little square, the food there was the best we have ever tasted.
When you get to the airport and you are at train station to take you to termini station there is a ticket station just as you walk in, we asked for train tickets there and he said for 15 euros each he will drive us to our hotel which worked out very well as its the same price as the train, and termini station is absolutely huge when we was returning we got the train and it was as if we were at a airport.
Also make sure you have breakfast at the hotel, we found it very hard to find any restaurants that did breakfast, but the hotel has a nice selection of cakes and cereal.
I am a travel agent myself and i will be recommending this hotel to all my customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Burnett6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is small, friendly, clean and set in a great location. our room was small and basic, very clean with a recently fitted new bathroom. The room was one of the higher floor rooms and subsequently let a good deal of daylight into the room, at street level the area remains mainly in the shade due to tall buildings and narrow streets, so a room on a higher level was a bonus. (The hotel is situated 2 floors above street level anyway). Breakfast again was basic continental style but totally satisfactory with everything being fresh and tasty. Location is brilliant, 5 mins Spanish Steps, 5 mins Trevi Fountain, 5 mins Hop on Hop off buses. Several companies to choose from. Most of the major sites are within walking distance if you are reasonably mobile. Excellent choice of Restaurants all within short distance of hotel. We felt we made a good choice for a short city break to Rome.

Room Tip: We found that because our room was on a higher level, we were slightly above surrounding buildings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nearingretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I chose this hotel for the location and it did not disappoint. Great, very great location, friendly staff, right price and good breakfast. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nice stay. I definitely recommend it. Rome is a wonderful dream. This hotel served its purpose as a clean place to sleep with in a great location. I have never been to Rome before and I was able to navigate the city fine from this location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here in mid February. My husband and teenage son in one room my elderly disabled mother and I in another. The lift referred to in other reviews was no problem for us and very quaint. Rooms are spotlessly clean. It's a bit " shabby chic " in places but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is basic but good quality. Croissants , little cakes , brioche and yoghurts and cereals ... Coffee served in little jugs was delicious and a nice way to start the day. Spanish steps is a two minute walk in one direction. Trevi fountain 5 mins the other way. Designer shops abound.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgnorthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#422 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Colonna
Erdarelli
Erdarelli
#703 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#615 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#319 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Pincio
#503 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#520 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): $139 - $314
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine. Near by the most famous Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing