We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again!!!”
Review of Montecarlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montecarlo Hotel
Ranked #204 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I would stay again!!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at Montecarlo in March 2011 at a 3bed room that we found in offer at a great price. The room was big an comfortable an de the bathroom was very clean. Stuff was very friendly and very willing to help in everything we asked especially Franco and the ladies at the breakfast room. Breakfast was great with great variety and amount though the breakfast room needs to be renewed. On the negatives is definately the elevator.. The location is quiet, with the metro station and a bus stop about 10-15 minutes away. In general all three of us were very satisfied about staying there and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Ki1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    564
    135
    33
    22
See reviews for
256
453
46
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in February. On arrival, we were very well greeted by Franco and another colleague. Our bags were taken to our room straight away. They also warned me about the hotel lift and that my baby's pushchair will not fit into the lift... And it very nearly did not. It is the tiniest lift ever.. The chair and me fitted but only just.
The room was clean but small especially for a triple room. Bathroom was ok. There is a fridge so I could buy milk for my daughter. On the first night I asked for milk at the hotel as the supermarkets were already shut and they charged me €3 for a small jug. Not complaining as glad I managed to get milk but was glad to find a supermarket the next day as 1 litre bottle of milk cost only around €1.50. No kettle though. We edit not try the breakfast as heard it was all cold food and I don't like cold breakfast. Also I got a password for the wifi which is fast and I had connection in the room perfectly fine even though we were on the 5th floor.
If you need a cot for babies, they charge a shocking €15 per night.
Location is pretty good. From termini station, it takes around 10mins walk though there is a metro station about 5mins away from the hotel.
Rome is a fantastic city and is best seen on foot. Metro tickets cost €1 per trip or €4 for the day.
I would definitely go back to Rome and possibly to hotel montecarlo if the price is right next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennlkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very nice hotel, near Termini (train) station.
We traveled Rome at 22/12/10 and stayed there for 5 nights. The hotel was very clean. I want to say "thanks" to all from reception desk, especialy Michael. They are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The rooms are big enough and clean.
If you want a very nice and clean hotel, with helpful front desk, near center, with low price, then Montecarlo is your choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinos_from_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauritius
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

It is a nice hotel, quiet, have the basics. The shower is a bit small but hey, we're on vacation. Rooms are large, we were there for 3 days. Hotel is 15 mins walk away from the train/bus station. Once there you can catch a bus or metro to all attractions which is very easy - dont forget to buy your ticket beforehand. At night we went for a walk in another direction which was really very nice - enjoy the city at night with the lights and many water fountains. The computer at the hotel is good for a museum but still operational, was very handy for quick emails and chat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Hotel is nice and quiet. Rooms are a bit dark but it is a part of general interior design so it actually looks even interesting and creates the "old mansion" atmosphere.
First thing that surprised me was the size of the elevator. People suffering from claustropfobia - deffinitely ask for a room on lower floors so that you wouldn't need to use the elevator!!! It's aprox 70cm wide and 1m deep. So the first time we used it i was really feeling uncomfortable, but later after walking for 10 hours i felt quite okay riding that "glass coffin" to the 5th floor so you'll get used to it.
Personnel is really nice and polite.
TV has no English channels so be sure to have a laptop with you if you wish to wach a movie in the evening. WiFi is free, just ask administrator for a password, connection is also very good and stable.
In January in the evening it get's rather cold even in Italy but it's no problem as air conditioning keeps the air in the room as warm as you like.
Breakfast is very light, no warm dishes but it is totally sufficient for a day start and the coffee is really good (same as pastries).
If you need to open a bottle of wine go downstairs to the bar( in case if bartender is away just ask administrator to help).
The only thing that i could complain about is the low level of soundproofing - i could hear what is happening in the corridor and they could hear what was happening in our room. But it is Italy, so feel free to be noisy and be ready to hear people talking emotionally and all the time :)
In case of night check-out they offer a transfer to Fiumicino for 55euros, but you can also use the night Cotral bus.

Room Tip: Lower floor, facing to the street (for more light)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#198 of 1,259 in Rome
839 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#134 of 1,259 in Rome
829 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,259 in Rome
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#266 of 1,259 in Rome
927 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#206 of 1,259 in Rome
946 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#243 of 1,259 in Rome
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo Hotel

Property: Montecarlo Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 17A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
#218 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $100 - $228
Hotel Class:3 star — Montecarlo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montecarlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing