We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
77
208
115
70
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
208
115
70
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews numidio quadrato metro station centre of rome croissants comfy bed breakfast included ham breakfast room balcony neighborhood cheese ciampino graffiti channels
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We booked this hotel due to the low price and that it is close to metro station. While service level was great, hotel room was clean. It is slightly bit out of city centre. (10 stops from Termini, one way didn't take too long - about 20-25 minutes only). Hotel located only about 1 street walk from the metro station. There's also a nice cafe (black coffee) on the way to metro which offers good breakfast value.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This place is basic, reflected in the price, but very clean. Breakfast for €5, a croissant, cereals, yoghurt etc., is reasonable. There are two very good patisseries close by if you consider the hotel not to your liking. The restaurant next door is highly recommended, be sure to make a reservation though, it is hugely popular with the locals.

I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. The only suggestions I would make to cgh would be maybe have a small patio table and chairs on the terrace.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

City guest house, as its name tells, its a building in tuscolana region streat viale opita oppio,5 floors, each divided into several rooms. basic furniture, enough for those intending to roam rome , and just searching for a B&B.
away from the centre as you can see in the map ( ill talk about transportation below).
the staff are so friendly and helpful, speak English. mainly there are only a recepionist, a house keeper and a kitchen operator. thats the whole team, but theyre doing the job perfectly.
rooms differ according to floor, i was in room 301, third floor, twin beds, with balcony.
the breakfast is on the fifth floor semi terrace, basic breakfast piece of croissant per person, some mortadella boiled eggs cheese / canned fruits/ jam yogurt chocolate paste/ toast/ on the terrace theres some bread with a toaster, and a coffee machine which i like the best, choice of espresso, american, cappuchino,latte, and some others, and a juice dispenser.

the region mainly consists of residential buildings all around, the people around are of different nationalities, they are so friendly allthough it might seem a little creepy but not at all in fact they are friendly and helpful and kind, and you can easily make friends around esp with the small stores operators around where you can buy your daily needs of water and snacks.

the only setback for me , was the absence of a mini fridge in the room. being in rome during the summer means facing the high rates of temp. and humidity, lots of dehydration, so you have to drink not less than 3-4 liters of water per day, especially if you are roaming all day , seeing attractions on a sunny day.
speaking about transportation, i know that here's what you need to know.
reaching the hotel from FCO airport:
FCO is a big airport,you have to find your way inside to the train terminals beside the airport where you can reach from the airport itself.just ask and follow train signs. you will reach the station, and find many ticket/biglette offices , the main train operating company is leonardo express, and it have offices all over the area, but you can buy any ticket from other stores around if you find a big queue on the main office. the prices are unified for the tickets. you have to ask for a ticket to the TERMINI ( memorise this word, it is the central metro and bus stations for the whole Rome network) so buy a train ticket to the termini it costs 14 euros. note that on your way you will find agents of different companies offering some taxi rides and shuttles etc. i just kept ignoring them all. because i cant trust any of these offices, i trust the local/official transp. means.
so check when is the nearest train to the termini, buy a ticket and ask how to go to the corresponding terminal ( you will find a cabin on the entrance of the terminals, with two operators that you can ask if you have any questions, and you have to validate youl ticket by inserting it to a machine beside the cabin).
around 30 mins by train you arrive to termini, it is the busiest place in rome literally, there are trains, metros, busses,taxis ,shuttles. directly get off and start looking to the signs on the ceilings, you will certainly get lost for a minute, tons of people rushing, tons of ticket vending machines and offices, tons of stores , tons of agents trying to speak to you.
just keep in mind that you want to take the metro to NUMIDIO QUADRATTO which is the closest metro station to city guest house.
find a metro tickets cabinet, tell them you need a ticket to NUMIDIO QUADRATTO, and ask them from which way you go to the corresponding metro point. mainly you can follow the signs , you have to go down on escalators 3 floors.and theres a route map on each deck of the metro stop showing the direction and the different metro stations , so you know on what side you have to wait. ticket costs around 1.5 euro valid for 100 mins.

you reach NUMIDIO QUADRATTO, get up to the streets, you will find yourself on Via tuscolana this is the main street name.depends on which side you popped out, but to reach the hotel you have to cross the street , go right , till you find a bar on a corner, look across to see a small water hydrant alike , with flowing water. its the only one around. find it and youve found the way to city guest house. you pass by it and keep walking straight you find its two blocks away to the left.

i gave you the fastest/ easiest way to reach the hotel. i mean you can always take a taxi from the airport :D but its good to know the above terms and directions because you will be using them on a daily basis, taxis are the least used in rome.

metro consists of two lines in rome, A and B mainly NUMIDIO QUADRATTO is on line A so youll be using this line most likely, get a map from the reception , it has most of the attractions and the metro stations, you can plan upon. metro starts at 5 am and stops 9:30 some days i guess on saturdays it stays till 1. please ask the recepionist because these times are'nt fixed , because they are working on maintaining and renovating the metro ,thus the working hours might be altered.

going out at night, and getting back late , no metro, you have to switch to busses. heres the complicated part. hundred of stops hundred of bus numbers, its a brain-twist. try to search for tuscolana on the bus stop , and see the corresponding bus number. after 12-1 after midnight most of the busses stops working. after that you will be finding night busses with numbers starting with an "n" so if you get lost , make your way to the TERMINI, from there take bus "n8" which passes through tuscolana.

note that there is a tourist ticket that you can buy from any metro station it costs 24 euros valid for 7 days.unlimited access to metros and busses.
busses never asked or checked for a ticket , im not sure why, so nobody used the ticket for a bus.

thanks for reading, hope i was helpfull, check my other reviews of places in rome for more highlights.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank torero961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

A nice hotel located 5 mins walk from the Metro station. The ride to the center takes about 15 mins.
Several restaurants in the neighbourhood.
The breakfast buffet, served on the roof terrass, only lacks fresh non-sweet bread.
A fridge in the room would have been nice.

We stayed 3 nights, but would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HildeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This hotel was farther than we expected from the city centre. The room was a decent size and had a small balcony. The walls are thin so it was a bit noisy. The breakfast was not included, but it was good - pastries, cold cuts, cheese, coffee, tea, cereal. The staff was friendly enough. If I went back to Rome I'd pay a bit extra to be closer.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill_TO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews